We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Church Street Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Church Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Start your review of Church Street Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think it is some type of timeshare or private apartment set up that gets rented out. The reception is very professional, they have a concierge and parking valet. The rooms (at least ours) were like tiny apartments. With that said, the set up is a bit different from your typical hotel. If you're going to be here for any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig33viaje
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Church Street Inn. We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Charleston on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wasn't sure what to expect here, as there is actually not a lot of photos on their website (that's something they could update)...but it had a almost perfect location being at the corner of Market St. and Church St. in the old downtown section of Charleston. The room we got is two stories, living room, kitchen and half bath...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sean_U71
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed, and I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction: we strive to do the best job we can, and letters like yours make it all worthwhile. I’ve shared your comments with...

Albemarle, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

excellent trip - friendly staff - such character in the building and the city. The Inn is close to everything downtown and had a lovely view of the market. Was able to walk to most town attractions and thoroughly enjoyed this location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris S
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. As you mentioned, we are centrally located in the heart of the historic district of Charleston. Being close to all downtown attractions and restaurants is a plus. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we were told they were having a special on room rates in January & were given the lower price !!! Since it was a slow night the first night we were asked what we'd like for breakfast as they normally have a free buffet, but as we were the only ones that night they fixed ours upon what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cbabin1119
asheville, nc
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a family over the New Year weekend. We had a two bedroom two level condo type arrangement. On the plus side, location is great if you want to be near the market and King street. Room was very quiet, and small clean kitchen. Furniture was in decent but not great condition. On the negative side, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samnat
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for recently staying with us at Church Street Inn. We value each and every guest interaction, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while in Charleston on business or pleasure. We are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and your comments assist us in these efforts. I apologize...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The rooms are 2 stories, with a kitchen, TV, and pullout couch on the first floor and a king size bed and bathroom on the second floor. Flat screen TV's downstairs and upstairs. The hotel is quiet and the front desk is helpful. The hotel is slightly out-dated, with a somewhat 80's vibe, but you cannot beat the price or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryrose826
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for the survey. As you mentioned, we are central located in the heart of the historic district making it a prime location. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward in seeing you in the future.

Advance, United States
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Location of this place was the best thing going for it. Service from staff was always friendly and helpful. The room itself needed much work. The kitchen was out dated, cabinet doors did not line up and close properly. Dish washer had a very nasty smell, unknown source. Bathroom toilot down stairs did not work properly, mirror was cracked. Switches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph P
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. I apologize for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services....

Raleigh, NC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The location of the place is fantastic. I can't believe we didn't stay here years ago! We come to Charleston every year and will definitely be back. It is such a cool building, beautifully decorated. The bed is so comfortable. I didn't want to get up in the morning. The bathroom is a bit small, so my 6'5 husband wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candice R
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Church Street Inn. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences to better serve you in the future. Our goal is to exceed your expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, and filled with positive interactions. Again, thank you...

Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We got a great rate on this apartment-style lodging, in the heart of downtown Charleston. For the price of a regular nice hotel room, there were two levels - a (well stocked) kitchen, half-bath and living room with pull-out couch, and upstairs the full bath and king-sized bed. I felt like moving in for a week, but alas we only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betty B
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

Dear Betty, Being downtown Charleston during the holidays is definitely is a great treat. We appreciate that you found our inn to be convenient, well-appointed and that it met your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in...

sc
Reviewed 26 December 2016

What a true gem located in the heart of the city. The location is within a short walking distance of anything you could possibly need. We had our car valet parked at check in and did not see it again until we checked out. From the management to the maintenance man, everyone on the staff was both extremely friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry198154
Steve L, General Manager at Church Street Inn, responded to this review

I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed, and I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction: we strive to do the best job we can, and letters like yours make it all worthwhile. I’ve shared your comments with...

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,652 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Indigo Inn
#15 of 60 in Charleston
895 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €158 - €410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Church Street Inn staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
Utah
over a year ago
Hickory, North Carolina

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We really enjoyed the peace and quiet of the interior/garden rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Craig33viaje, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are quieter than street-side.”
 of 5 bubbles Sean_U71, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a updated room”
 of 5 bubbles pittsjoelee, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms near the elevator/stairs--too loud.”
 of 5 bubbles ticked_off_bride, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't take room 226, right across from laundry and can be quite loud”
 of 5 bubbles DianeB784, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5