We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Elliott House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Expert photos
Elliott House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Elliott House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 706: English reviews
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Located in walking distance to most destinations in the city, they also have bicycles. Staff was nice and helpful. They have a small heated pool. From 5-6 pm there is cheese and wine, very nice to sit in the courtyard and having good wines, cheese and crackers. Early in the morning there were lots of trucks making noise for some... More 

Helpful?
Thank minipixl
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We do have a wonderful staff that can provide a lot of information, about the area. The noise in the morning, is from the City of Charleston trash pick-up and the local restaurants. We have contacted the city on numerous occasions and the restaurants, but they explain that they must... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The inn itself has lots of character. Beautiful courtyard. Very quant and inviting. Perfect location near all highlights of downtown Charleston. Our room was very spacious with its own small kitchen, breakfast nook and closet. We were very pleased with our stay and definitely would stay here again

Helpful?
Thank Megan E
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

The Elliott House Inn was built in 1861, and has a lot of character. The building has survived the Civil War, Earthquake of 1886, Tornados, and countless hurricanes. The building is reminiscent of Charleston’s luxurious past. We are located right in the middle of Charleston’s Historic District. The room that this guests was in, was Room 27. Room 27, is... More 

Waukesha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Easy to walk anywhere. Helpful staff. Loved the wine and cheese in the evenings. The courtyard was lovely. The hot tub was a real luxury after walking around Charleston all day. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan C
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on how well the staff treated you throughout your stay. We are lucky to have such a wonderful staff. The wine and cheese reception is a great way to relax, and to meet others that are staying at the property. The hot tub, is great to soak your feet in after a long day of walking.... More 

windsor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed for three nights .. it was lovely & quaint, great breakfast, enjoyed the wine and cheese hour. The staff , very friendly and helpful .. I would return 100% The location is primo.. parking garage across the street for $20/night . Great restaurants in walking distance .

Helpful?
Thank lionwindsor
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We thoroughly enjoy reading about how much you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad that the staff, was exceptional during your stay. The staff does a wonderful job, in helping our visitors first and return visitors alike, to explore Charleston. The parking across the street, is... More 

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We were very disappointed with our stay here, we can put up with small rooms and noise in the morning but not a dirty bathroom, unhappy cleaning lady and miserable breakfast. "I just want to go home," our cleaner was heard to say by my husband when he popped into the room while she was "servicing" it. I won't say... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sherry590
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. First off, it is regretful that we did not meet your expectations. For future guests, I would like to address some of the issues that the reviewer had with their recent stay. The Elliott House property, was built in 1861. All the rooms are smaller than... More 

Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Second time at the Elliott House, and it was wonderful. The breakfast was wonderful and delivered to my door. At five o'clock the wine and cheese was great in the courtyard. Easy access to anywhere downtown

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thomasgA4585ZS
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Welcome back again! We are so pleased that you came back to visit with us. We are so pleased how much you enjoyed your time. Please come back and visit again! You'll find some great deals during our wintertime months!! More 

New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Although The Elliott House was conveniently located, the rooms were noisy, poorly-lit and not well-maintained. The staff was very friendly. Neal at the reception was so informative. He provided us with a wealth of information on Charleston history and important sites. We enjoyed the evening wine and cheese.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edecarlo
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. For price conscious guests, I'd recommend visiting Charleston during off season times. You can find fantastic deals, especially for the budget traveler. Unfortunately, October is one of the most expensive months of the year to come and join us. More 

Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Elliott House Inn--beautiful setting, perfect location for dining, shopping, and sightseeing, free bikes, breakfast and happy hour. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. We will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 679708sheila
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

So happy you chose Elliott House for your recent trip! Can't wait to have you back again to visit. We'll have a bike ready and waiting for you! More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We were booked in here by our travel agent. Well positioned hotel. Everything in historic Charleston was walkable, which we did. Nice room, if a little small. Bed was very high! No view, but not really a problem. Nice courtyard with a spa pool. Never saw anyone using it! No restaurant facilities but a choice of breakfast supplied from restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

What a special treat to have you stay with us! Cathedra and Neil are fantastic folks that make working at Elliott House Inn so enjoyable. I appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your recent stay with us. Please come back and visit with us again soon, we'd love to have you back again! More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had two nights here in a courtyard room (12) which was a nice room but very dark with no view and the bathroom was slightly outdated. The courtyard area is nice although the small hot tub didn't look very inviting, lots of leaves and bit grubby looking. They provide a free breakfast out here or delivered to your room... More 

Helpful?
Thank 23betty
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Elliott House Inn on your recent trip to Charleston! I appreciate your feedback regarding the additional lighting needed for that room. Plans are already in place to add the additional lights. We appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back anytime. Be prepared to pay for parking anywhere you stay in downtown Charleston. More 

490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,564 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 60 in Charleston
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €150 - €369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elliott House Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
atlanta
over a year ago
8 months ago
Austin, Texas
11 months ago
Austin, Texas
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elliott House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Courtyard is very quiet, can't hear anything from the street which really isn't busy anyway. Staff very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles JaneWNewJersey, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard views were great”
 of 5 bubbles 444garym, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Charleston is a tight city so ask for a room with some kind of view if you want one.”
 of 5 bubbles JWMac64, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Third floor is quietest!”
 of 5 bubbles 779saundrah, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard Queen room was roomy. Elevators were nice”
 of 5 bubbles Cordrey503, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay