We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Andrew Pinckney Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Andrew Pinckney Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,492: English reviews
Start your review of Andrew Pinckney Inn
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Price wasn't bad but I got what I paid for. The room was small -- like NYC room size (which is small and not what I'd expect). The wood floor definitely showed wear and tear. I had an internal view of the building which I found pretty awkward since people can walk right by my window and a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor W
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay. As you saw, our historic property does show its character in both design and its features. Those hardwood floors are very very old and our housekeeping staff does a great job keeping them in good shape. Please come back and stay with us and utilize the terrace again whether for breakfast or relaxing in the...

Wellesley Hills
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cute hotel in a great location near the market stalls with breakfast included on their 4th floor balcony. The front desk was very accommodating in holding our luggage after we checked out so we could spend the day walking around before our afternoon flight.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonr907
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you again for your stay and for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our location and the 4th floor terrace so much. Please do come back whenever you can as we'd love to host you while you explore more of Charleston. Travel safe!

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Inn is located in very convenient location and is walkable to most designations in Charleston. The reception area is nice and offers complementary refreshments for their guests. They also offered a complimentary breakfast in the mornings. Nothing over the top, but did offer small quiches, yogurt, and some fruit. My room was located across the street. The room itself...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank beth m
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and location and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay despite not being completely satisfied with the size of your room. One correction we would offer up is that ALL of our rooms have windows. Only the petite queen rooms such as yours have windows that face the atrium not...

Falls Church
Reviewed 1 week ago

you never think you have to request "windows" when booking a room but i learned my lesson here. No windows to the outside - it was apparently a closet before. The fact that there were no windows to the outside should have been noted when booking. Also, the room was dirty. There was a lot of dirt around the handles...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a unsatisfactory stay. When booking our least expensive room (that does have a window that faces our lovely atrium here on property) through your travel agent, you should have made requests for a larger room to accommodate your needs. As we were full throughout your stay, we only had the room type that...

Alamo, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel building you stay in is not the building shown on the advertisement! The building is across the street! There are no balconies! The best thing about the Inn is the breakfast and the afternoon wine and tea reception! The pimento cheese dip was delicious! The location was perfect for walking the city and seeing all the historic sites.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lee B
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed our location and afternoon receptions, but sorry to hear that you were confused about what we offered. We do not advertise balconies as we are in an historic building that does not have any. And, as you may have not seen, we show on our website and here on TripAdvisor our entire property not just...

Lexington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our destination wedding and we chose the Inn for our wedding night accomendations. When booking I informed the staff and asked what we could do to make it a little more special. They informed me it would be their pleasure to take care of us. We arrived to a very unfriendly check in and a bucket of ice only in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellleh2017
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Let me start by apologizing for your less than satisfactory experience with us. This sounds like there was a miscommunication with our staff on when your added complementary amenities were to be placed in your room. We never just place a bucket of ice in a guest's room (unless that is what they specifically request) so I'm positive there was...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our group had one king and one queen room - both were extremely clean and very nicely designed . The location, wine hour, afternoon cookies, breakfast, valet parking and rooftop seating all made for a wonderful visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aterg1
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay and for taking the time to post your review about your experience. We appreciate your kind words and are really happy to hear that you had such a delightful stay. Come back and see us soon and enjoy some more of our terrace and the afternoon receptions as well. Thank you again!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was so nice, and the staff went out of their way to get us cots, bottle openers, babysit luggage,etc. The location is excellent (right in the heart of the historic district), and I LOVE LOVED the terrace wine and cheese hour and cookies, the whole stay was delicious and delightful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate it Laura and thank you again for your stay. Our staff will be happy to know that you appreciated their efforts as well and that you enjoyed the terrace so much in the afternoons for wine and cheese. Please do come back and see us again soon. Safe travels!

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Andrew Pickney Inn during our girls trip in April 2017. The room was spacious, clean and beautiful. We LOVED the rooftop happy hour and breakfast daily. Not only did you get wonderful service and food, the atmosphere was fabulous! Everyone is very friendly. The location is PERFECT for visiting the water, historical neighborhoods, shopping and so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Elizabeth for choosing our inn and for taking time to write your review. We're all delighted that you had a great experience with us on your girls trip. You're correct, our location can't be beat for those wanting to explore, shop, and dine all over the historic district. Glad y'all enjoyed the terrace as well and we can't...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On a mother-daughter trip, my mom and I booked a room here last minute. It was the BEST decision! Our room was beautiful, had great hot water, a super comfy bed and a view of the carriage rides pulling out of the stables. The location is central to everything in historic Charleston! The staff was welcoming, informative and generous. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carleyf9
AndrewPinckneyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so very much for choosing us for your mother-daughter trip and we're so happy to hear that you had an excellent time with us. Our terrace does offer a good variety as you saw at both wine and cheese as well as breakfast each day so we're glad you liked them so much. Please do come back...

591 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (341)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
King Jacuzzi Suite (49)
Viewed
Queen Historic Value Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
St. Philip's Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,680 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
1,608 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
887 reviews
The Restoration
#7 of 60 in Charleston
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €226 - €446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Andrew Pinckney Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Miami, Florida
Houston, Texas
5 months ago
Texas
Harrisburg
9 months ago
Jonesborough, Tennessee
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Andrew Pinckney Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great value for old Charlestown. Wonderful boutique hotel.”
Tallytravler, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask in advance where the room is located.”
judyazoff, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in two different buildings. Request multiple rooms be together so you aren't split.”
, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid first floor 4th floor great”
jamesonf2017, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a room that was once the Carriage house if you are a light sleeper...too much noise!!”
Y287EXnancyp, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5