We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

734 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 728: English reviews
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Husband in hospital across from Courtyard. Hospital called for a medical discount. When I called to give credit information was told no existing reservation on file. After holding on the girl came back and said they had one. Paid more than quoted. Had to return next night again. This time went through Marriott app on phone. This time got correct...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann W
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Mary Ann, thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your experience. I apologize for the poor service that you received from our front desk team during what must be a difficult time. I have shared your comments with my Front Office Manager to remind our staff a friendly smile and kind hospitality go a...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking at a map, one could get the impression that this was within walking distance of King Street and historic Charleston. Well, that's not really true - it's not that far, but both due to highway configurations and the kinds of neighborhoods in between, this is a drive to downtown. The room was perfectly adequate, with a suitable number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T9-Orca
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. However, I am sorry that that the location of the hotel was not appealing to you. Additionally, we are sorry you felt the price you paid for the room did not support your accommodations. We regularly...

Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overpriced, old, far from Historic district, building works. Spent one night in a family room. Building work is very disruptive (starts at 8) and limited parking due to building trucks. Walls are paper thin and despite being Elite Silver, our "quiet" room was near the lifts and with noisy neighbours and big foot upstairs walking until 3am. One minor compensation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience to our guests; however, we obviously fell short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise issues you experienced from the neighboring room and hallway. We emphasize the importance of quiet time...

Reviewed 30 November 2016

We were here for a family Wedding in August. First, we arrived on a very early flight and they were able to let us check in early, Then we had to change rooms for the following few nights, not their fault just they way we booked our reservation. The hotel staff moved all our luggage and cooler. We were surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carollM1870AC
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront for your stay. We welcome many wedding groups that visit because of Charleston's distinction as a wedding destination. Our goal is to provide our guests with southern hospitality and it sounds like our team was successful in doing this during your stay. Thank you for your kind words. I will share them...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We've stayed a few times when we visited Mingo Point. The service is always attentive, but a special shout out to Ms. U who showed a whole bunch of Southern Hospitality! The hotel is right on the water, has a nice pool, and easy to get to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim c
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

It’s wonderful to read your remarks about your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are glad to know that our efficient Front Desk associates made you feel welcome once again and you enjoyed our beautiful location on the river. Our goal is to provide our guests with southern hospitality, and we are happy you loved the same. We...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Was very disappointed! I am a frequent traveller and an elite platinum....so what does that mean! Well, nothing hear! I phoned twice to ask for an upgraded room! When I arrived I was disappointed to find our room was average! Went down and asked for a better room! Moved to a new room which was better...so why was this not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJB1010
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. I have discussed your concerns with my team so that we can take the proper steps so this does not occur again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope that you will...

Warrington, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Another wonderful stay at a courtyard by Marriott. The hotel was lovely, rooms were very comfortable with patio's that overlooked the pool & marina. Great sunsets. Pool and outdoor seating areas are wonderful places to relax after a day of sightseeing. The property is well maintained and the staff is excellent. The hotel does offer a shuttle service to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fun2bblonde
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront once again and for the amazing remarks! There is no greater compliment than to have a return guest who chooses us over our competitors. I'm happy to see that you have made us your "home away from home" and loved the stunning views of the Ashley River, swimming in the outdoor pool,...

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

While the staff were gracious and accommodating, the facility and location left a lot to be desired! The photos on the internet made it appear like the ideal waterfront location. It's actually an ok place next to a major freeway with challenging entrance and exit out of the facility. There is nothing around it so you must have a car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W6813JEjoseb
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us. I was pleased to hear how well our staff treated you but apologize for any inconveniences our location posed during your stay. I hope our comfortable clean rooms and amenities made up for not being closer to the historic district....

Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful! The staff, especially Mercedes and Eddie went above and beyond our expectations! Gorgeous view and clean well maintained property made this a place we will return to on a future visit. We loved Charleston and can't wait to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ginpet
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us – we appreciate the great review! We are delighted to note that you had a great time with us, and loved our outstanding service and the amazing views. I will definitely share your compliments with Mercedes and Eddie. Thank you again for allowing the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront to be of service, and we...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Our go-to hotel in Charleston. Can't beat the sunset views, the friendly, welcoming and helpful staff and the comfortable well-appointed rooms. This was our 5th stay. I had phoned ahead to request a specific room and was delighted they were able to honor my request. Convenient parking as well. Looking forward to next time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WheretoNextNewYork
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

We appreciate your consistent support of the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. It's always a pleasure to see a familiar face, and we love having you as a regular guest! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the amazing views and your well-appointed room. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your perspective with future guests. Your continued...

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#35 of 60 in Charleston
1,035 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: €138 - €343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
NW Louisiana
over a year ago
Bangor, Maine, United States
6 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles carollM1870AC, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else! Ask for a good room, might take a few times.”
 of 5 bubbles MJB1010, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a waterfront view on one of the upper floors; you can also request a balcony. They do have free internet.”
 of 5 bubbles 13philliph, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a balcony, if you can & top floor to avoid upstairs noise”
 of 5 bubbles scottk813, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All appeared good”
 of 5 bubbles TMindala, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay