We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
NJ
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a few nights while visiting the mansions in Newport. Great location for that, with easy access to the highway. We had a regular room with 2 queen size beds. Rooms were clean and spacious. The layout is a bid odd, though. The bathroom is long and narrow, but adequate. There was an extra room build with a whirlpool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keltik01
Clermont, United States
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Staff was very pleasant & helpful - provided excellent recommendation re: where to get great seafood; room had a strange layout - large but with a very small bathroom. Location was pretty good for trips into Newport. There was a good attempt to vary the breakfast items.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback. Our Middletown/Newport is known for great seafood so I'm happy you were able to enjoy that. Our hotel rooms has a different layout depends on the wing you are in. On your next visit we would be happy to have you look at different rooms so you can have a choice on what works...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

First time to Newport RI for us. Wow if you live there you must learn to sail. Our hotel had lovely staff. Breakfast was fair. Not like other hotels that offer breakfast. Our room was very strange. There was a tiled step down area the length of the room with nothing but the wall air conditioner. No chair to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Jo M
East Hanover
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This Quality Inn is only a few miles from the center of Newport and just minutes away. It is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Located on a busy road, it has most things nearby i.e., shopping center, restaurants. Over night rates are more than fair for the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Hartford, CT
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This is an older hotel that the owners have tried to upgrade. All the public areas are top notch, including an excellent check in experience, very attentive associates and tasty breakfast. I was particularly pleased that the breakfast attendant worked so hard to keep things clean. Good for her! Her efforts (a thin blond lady) were greatly appreciated. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrainardTraveler
maine usa
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We read mixed reviews of this place but felt everything was clean and comfortable in our rooms. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Staff was very pleasant. We've stayed in 3 Quality Inns in US and Canada. This was the most expensive. Walls were pretty thin but we did fine. Bring ear plugs!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csfMaineusa
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I didn't expect much from a Quality inn but I was delighted to find a fresh modern just refurbished hotel.. The lobby is attractive, the room is spacious and modern and the free breakfast had scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage. i assumed it was just going to be cold cereal and toast but it was the full budget hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qwerty103
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful for this positive feedback. We are working very hard to get our property where it needs to be and hope on your next visit we would have completed our bathroom renovations and also building a Porte cochere in the front entrance. I also want to inform you that since you last stayed we've changed some...

Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed here after attending the Cedar Creek Battle reenactment. Very convenient to Battlefield and Middletown. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast included was OK. Our room was clean and nice. The only complaints would be that the mattress was hard and the bathroom, though large, had little counter space and it was a little noisy. It was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbieb549
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your most recent visit. I'm sorry the mattress was not of great comfort, however in our winter season we will be working on our bathroom areas. We look forward to having you again. Sincerely,

Reviewed 16 October 2016

The staff at the hotel is wonderful. They went above and beyond. They had breakfast ready extra early for the runners. Thank you. We had a suite. I would not recommend the sofa bed. Good location. Stay here if you can get a good deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM L
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, This is wonderful to hear that our staff went above and beyond and was also able to get breakfast out earlier for you. So on their behalf I want to say thank you and I will be sharing this review with them. Best regards,

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Block Island, you can tell they recently updated the hotel , but didn't really pay attention to details in the room, bathroom lights in weird places, painted over old wallpaper. But it does have a fridge in room that does not weigh what you put in or take out..plus! The rooms are all winged out from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janene M

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
0.6 km away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.2 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 17 in Middletown
262 reviews
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#12 of 17 in Middletown
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Renovated June 2014. Two-story hotel, 3 miles north of downtown Newport. 1/2 Mile from Naval Academy, Naval Base, NUWC, 3 miles from beach. Hotel amenities include indoor pool, fitness center, business center, free hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi. All rooms have frig/microwave. Deluxe rooms have in-room whirlpools, suites available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport

Address: 936 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6315 (Formerly Newport Inn)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Price Range: €58 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Inn And Whirlpool Hotel Middletown
Newport Hotel And Whirlpool
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room far from the noisy lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles qwerty103, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice quiet room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Dante-Donna, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room on the first floor (177) was very quiet and looked on the back yard. It was high enough so you could keep the window open.”
 of 5 bubbles ellenya, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good A/C & clean room with Jacuzzi tub for relaxation”
  • Seperate Jacuzzi area from the room
  • Beautiful clean room, the window that you see is where Jacuzzi is
  • Clean sheets
 of 5 bubbles alishkaaa335, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Has a nice size heated pool. The hotel staff very friendly”
 of 5 bubbles conniem362, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay