We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,718 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,705: English reviews
North Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fred M
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Toilet ran all night until my husband finally shut off the water under the toilet. Two most important items while staying out of town, bathroom and bed. Robbed of sleep due to running toilet. No apology, only offered to comp the $20 parking fee. Should have offered to reduce cost of room. Disappointed. Won't return. Pricey for area.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robertrV6504TG
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize to you that the plumbing issue detracted from a peaceful environment, and sleep. Creating an atmosphere of tranquility with the cleanest guest room and public areas is a basic fundamental for any hotel, and I am sorry that we did not provide that for you. Please contact me at the information...

Columbus, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The hotel is conveniently located and within walking distance to a lot of activities, My suggestion is that you use the underground parking. I parked in the surface lot and the only negative experience all weekend was that the birds did a serious number on my car by the time I left. I spent about 10 minutes cleaning my windshield...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank robertao451
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you as well for pointing out that our hotel does offer underground parking in two garages with convenient access to the lower level elevator and a quick trip to your guest room floor. I appreciate you taking time out of your day to share your review, and I hope that we have...

Mt. Vernon, Oh
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Decasey
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I have stayed at this hotel when it was under prior ownership. The hotel has been updated and front staff is very pleasant. The rooms are your basic Hampton Inn, Holiday inn,Wyndham kind of hotel. There is a gym, but it is minimal and not well maintained. They should add a stationary bike, better weights, and need to have housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaijk
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It appears that we failed in several areas to deliver an excellent guest experience to you, and for that I apologize to you. I appreciate your comments and will share them with our team so that we can learn from your assessment and utilize it for immediate improvement. Please contact me at the...

ahr1126
Reviewed 9 December 2016

It looks nice and is, but the shower head was covered in pink! That takes a long time of not being cleaned. Also, parking should be included with the stay. For $200 for one night parking should be included. Mini fridges would also be nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahr1126
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments and I apologize to you for the housekeeping deficiency described in your review. I would be happy to discuss this further with you, and address any dissatisfaction you may have experienced during your hotel stay. Please contact me at the information provided below at your convenience. Thank you and...

Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Great location for handling my UPMC appointments. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Shower was walk-in and had a great shower head to provide a relaxing shower. Hotel restraint - Bridges was also very handy. Menu was limited but food ordered was outstanding. Service in all aspects of my visit was tremendous. I'll be returning to this hotel again

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank L7294IOfrankr
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and gracious review of the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to share your review with our entire staff and they will be pleased to have their extraordinary efforts validated through your guest experience. Please let me know if there is ever an opportunity to be of service to you in...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Location of hotel was perfect for visiting University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon. We were visiting for a wedding. Front desk personnel (several of them) told us "no problem" getting Wyndham van to take our party to church and reception. I asked if I could reserve the time and was told on several occasions that it was not necessary. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunsettravels5
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you as well for your comments with respect to the courtesy shuttle which our hotel offers as a service to all of our guests. The courtesy shuttle operates for all of our guests on a request, or on-demand basis. Our front office team does explain this to any guests who inquire about...

Youngstown, Ohio
Reviewed 2 December 2016

After going into a room that had not been serviced (dusty, stuff on the floor, crumbs on the floor, the sheets were also full of crumbs, used pillows, etc). I called the supervisor and she did everything possible to make up for the dirty room. Even though it was inconvenient for us to have to move to another room it...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 344ernestw
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious review of the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center on TripAdvisor. I apologize that the original room assignment was below standard, however I am happy that we did immediately correct the issue. Again, my apology for the inconvenience associated with that situation. Thank you for your business, and please contact me directly if you should ever be...

Reviewed 30 November 2016

This hotel is the most convenient location for visiting Pitt. We found some specials online and got a deal which included parking and breakfast, also very convenient for our stay. The hotel clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gcinptc
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your business and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you once again in the future! Warm regards, Coleman Hughes General Manager chughes@wyndham.com 412. 682. 6235

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Club King Room (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard King Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
1.1 km away
Quality Inn University Center
Quality Inn University Center
#50 of 68 in Pittsburgh
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
1.8 km away
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
3.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an enviable location in the heart of Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood and just steps from Carnegie Mellon and several world-renowned UPMC hospitals, the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center hotel exemplifies the best among Pittsburgh hotels. Travelers looking for a hotel in the center of Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and walking distance to University of Pittsburgh will find this non-smoking hotel ideal, and leisure travelers will delight in the myriad of sporting events, shopping, dining and renowned attractions offered in the Pittsburgh area and within easy reach of this hotel. After a long day of travel, guests can unwind with a relaxing dip in the heated indoor pool. Bridges Restaurant and Lounge offers upscale yet casual dining and affords guests the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner without needing to leave the hotel. A fully equipped fitness center is available for those who like to stay active or enjoy relieving the stress of a long day of conducting business. Guests enjoy the convenience of ample parking, available for a nominal daily fee, or may choose to leave the driving to the hotel by taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle service offered within a three-mile radius of this Pittsburgh University Center hotel. Each of the 251 well-appointed guest rooms includes thoughtful amenities like plush bedding, an ergonomic work station, and free Wi-Fi Internet. Guests upgrading to an Executive Level room enjoy a private, key-access floor, plush bathrobe and access to the private club lounge. This Pittsburgh hotel features seven newly renovated meeting rooms totaling 7,333 square feet of meeting space. The event rooms range from a 400-square foot event room that comfortably seats 25 people to a 3,500 square foot ballroom that accommodates up to 600 people for a reception, 250 people for a banquet, or 30 8X10 feet exhibit booths. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Address: 100 Lytton Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1444
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Price Range: €117 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Columbus, Ohio
Columbus, Ohio
8 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get something on 7”
 of 5 bubbles thewestchestarian, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would always prefer a high floor room (preferably Level 9).”
 of 5 bubbles 67MichaelF, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an end of hall room It is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Kaijk, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You have to pay for parking.”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymous332, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for corner rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles ChristianP110, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay