We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Inn University Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn University Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 302: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Inn University Center
 Click to rate
Lancaster, Ohio
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited Pittsburgh for a concert at the Petersen Center and this hotel is walking distance (about 15 minutes), so the location was perfect. The staff was friendly and check in / out was quick. Our room was clean but the place is obviously dated. There were no frills, but was clean and served our purposes. I like that Panera...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great experience. We arrived early and went in to see if we could at least park our car while we looked around Pittsburgh. They were able to check us into our room three hours early and gave us a shuttle ride to and from the museum. The staff was really nice. Having a Panera in the building...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walktheplank1
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. It's great to hear you enjoyed your trip to town. We're happy to provide a local shuttle service to many local attractions. It is definitely easier than trying to navigate in an unfamiliar area! I apologize for the bathroom tile. I will have our maintenance team inspect all rooms for tile issues so they aren't...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My son had an admissions tour at Carnegie Mellon University in early March and we stayed here the night before his tour. After a long drive from just outside of Washington, DC, it was nice that the hotel wasn't too far from the interstate and very close to the University. The hotel is showing its age, but for a quick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Alligator_Man
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

People in the front desk are usually nice. Service is good. It is close to the UPMC and CMU. It is not top quality, but it is OK. It is an old hotel, with dated interior. There is Panera bread next to the hotel. However, there is no other place if you want to buy/eat anything else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abay2017
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've always found this hotel to be very nice. The staff especially the front desk was great and very helpful. The Panera connected to it make it convenient for breakfast and lunch. Also walking distance to many other places to eat or shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I have stayed three times at the Quality Inn, and every time it just gets to be worst. The reason for staying at Quality Inn because of it's proximity to Pitt, where I travel once a month. The beds are horrible, the noise from the ac/heater is crazy, the walls are paper thin, so God forbid that you have neighbors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MadameMonet
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel since January 2017 trying to get established in the Pittsburgh area. I have complained about someone smoking on the 7th floor and the GM and staff turns a blind eye. I have paid over $2,000 only to become ill and exposed to cancer. I am an asthmatic and didn't expect a known smoking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank De Earla B
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your comments. Although I have previously spoken with you in person, I wanted to respond to you here, as well. I will admit that although all guest rooms are 100% non-smoking inside the rooms, we did allow smoking on the room balconies. Because of the recent problems you encountered (and so all guests can have a...

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We were there do to doctors app at children's hotel was nice and clean very soft beds great parking shuttle service there to all and all hotel was great clean sheets pillows were nice and soft just like we like

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livriv06
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We were in town for New Years Eve and a Steelers game. We usually stay downtown, but prices were through the roof, so we compromised and booked a stay here. It was nice to have free parking. There was an area shuttle, but apparently, they only drive you within Oakland limits. We used Uber most of the time (approximately $10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarmanFamilyOf5
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. I am glad you stayed at our hotel. We are happy to be a short distance from Downtown and the stadium area. We're close to several bus lines that serve Downtown. Our local shuttle can take you to many attractions within the Oakland neighborhood of Pittsburgh. If you're returning to the city, give us...

Courtice, Canada
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the past weekend and it was great. We came in for the Pittsburgh Steelers game. Place was packed but at night was quiet The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The coffee shop in the main level (Panera) was a bonus

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dina A
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Please let us know what we can do to earn a five star rating. We're always looking for ways to improve our hotel and service. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ben Greiner Assistant General Manager

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Room (32)
Viewed
King Room (34)
Viewed
Queen Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Quality Inn® University Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Pittsburgh's cultural, university and medical districts. It is within walking distance from the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) health system, including UPMC Presbyterian, UPMC Montefiore and Magee Women's Hospital of UPMC. Carlow University, Carnegie Mellon University, the University of Pittsburgh and Duquesne University are all within two miles. Nearby attractions include Pittsburgh Playhouse performing arts center, Schenley Park, Phipps Conservatory, Carnegie Museum of Art and the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. Free transportation is provided to these locations, as well as to UPMC Shadyside hospital, Western Pennsylvania (West Penn) Hospital and VA Pittsburgh - University Drive. Still looking for more to do? Check out these additional area attractions: PNC Park, Heinz Field, CONSOL Energy Center, Stage AE, David L. Lawrence Convention Center, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, Carnegie Science Center with Highmark SportsWorks, Andy Warhol Museum, Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, National Aviary, Kennywood amusement park and Sandcastle water park. We are located only 20 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, 12 miles from the Allegheny County Airport, less than two miles from the Greyhound bus terminal, two miles from Megabus and less than three miles from Union Station Amtrak station. All hotel guests will enjoy: Free parking, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free 24-hour coffee service, Free weekday newspaper and free local calls and Fitness center. Panera Bread is located on the hotel premises, and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A variety of restaurants and lounges are within walking distance, and our friendly staff is always happy to make recommendations. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and spacious work desks. All guest rooms at this Pittsburgh, PA hotel include private balconies, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards and cable television including HBO. Select rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn University Center provides friendly customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn University Center

Address: 3401 Boulevard of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Price Range: €92 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Pittsburgh
Quality Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn University Center staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn University Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good hotel with clean rooms”
 of 5 bubbles livriv06, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you're paying more than $85 here, you're paying too much. The ice machine is noisy as hell.”
  • Bad caulk job
  • Small bathroom
  • Ugly table, ugly chair, decent end table, nice lamp, nice wall color
  • Standing view from balcony. No chairs to sit on...but you can't see anything anyway if you sit
  • I bet I could slide under there and visit my neighbor
  • Too-tall wall
  • Bad caulk job
  • Old door
 of 5 bubbles DanielTripper, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you care for a view of Oakland, which includes the Cathedral of Learning, ask when reservations are made”
 of 5 bubbles 85murrayl, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“dont recommend at all”
 of 5 bubbles stephanierI5436DW, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose a room facing the road, its too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 430lm, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5