We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hotel Lancaster

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hotel Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Lake Forest, California
Reviewed 8 February 2016

If you plan on visiting the northeast, Lancaster, PA. is one place you'll have to visit. We were there on family business---meeting the family of our soon-to-be daughter-in-law. we not only hit the Jackpot with her family, the town itself is fantastic. There are so many things to see in the city itself, but alll around Lancaster, County, there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent trip to Lancaster Pa. Lancaster Pa has so much to offer in its rich history and varied cultures. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you keep us in mind during your next visit. Sincerely, Tom Showalter

Massapequa, New York
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Booked this Hotel through Groupon and was a little nervous. Hotel was located within walking distance of lots of shops, galleries and restaurants. Parking which can be an issue was located right next door and is a deal when charged with the hotel you can come and go all day just get your ticket stamped in the hotel and then...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RK_LI_NY
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you being here and hope you will visit us the next time you are in the Lancaster Pa area. Sincerely, Tom Showalter

Brooklyn
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We stayed here for one night as my daughter had a cheer competition at the Convention Center. This hotel was good for a one night stay but I think there are better options if you are staying for a longer time. The hotel was 2 blocks from the Convention Center so it was nice that we were able to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyntraveler_8
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you did not have the experience we strive to provide to all of our guests. We would really love for you to come back and visit us again during your next trip to Lancaster Pa. I would like to personally discuss your stay with you if...

Cave Creek, Arizona
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Due to a family emergency, we had to book a flight and hotel within hours. We selected this hotel because of location, mostly, but also because of positive reviews. What a wonderful experience we had with the staff, the room, the breakfast and the safety of knowing we were in a great location. Every night, after a long day, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda C
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay with us. We are very happy you were able to find us and we were able to accommodate your needs during such a difficult time. We hope you continue staying with us during future trips to the Lancaster Pa area. Sincerely, Tom Showalter

New York
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Crummy experience there. (1) they repeatedly failed to email me a confirmation (2) they canceled my reservation before I arrived because of a mysterious "credit card problem." (3) coffee maker in room didn't work (4) Clerks at check-out desk couldn't operate computer (4) tried to double bill me for parking (5) why are they even charging for parking?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cannellgracie
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Mr. Cannell, We are sorry to hear you did not have as enjoyable of a stay as we strive to provide for all of our guests. We are not sure why you did not get your email confirmation, maybe check your spam folder? As we looked at your account we see the confirmation was emailed to you 3 times over...

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Wasn't quite sure what to expect when we booked this hotel, as it was the alternative choice for a dance convention we attended, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were well appointed and clean with a small fridge and wet bar. Location was great, within walking distance to the convention center and shops/restaurants....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bellaverona
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you were "pleasantly surprised". We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to future visits when you come to the Lancaster area. Sincerely, Tom Showalter Guest Services The Hotel Lancaster

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Although centrally located if you arrive in Lancaster for work by the time you return business are closed. Only places that are open are food related stores. Hotel is quite, pet friendly and with good staff. I would have preferred better (warm) breakfast options and variety in food and not the same cold things every day, hotel gym to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ratanshah
Pitman,NJ
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed at Hotel on New Years Eve after having dinner at Bube's Brewery in Mount Joy. Hotel is across the street from Federal Taphouse which has an amazing amount of beers on tap. We stayed on the 7th floor and the room was big enough and very clean. Check in was easy and parking is right next door at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dabirds
Tom S, The Hotel Lancaster at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate you and hope you will continue staying with us when you are in the Lancaster area. Sincerely Tom Showalter Guest Services The Hotel Lancaster

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

Before we even got through the check-in I knew that we will never stay here again. While fully prepared to present a valid credit card to cover "incidentals" upon check-in, at no point in my booking experience was I informed that this fee would be equal to the cost of our night at the hotel. They refused to take cash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindy B
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. We apologize you felt judged and hassled. Our Policy is all guests must provide a valid credit card capable of being authorized for the room amount. This as a Hotel is our only way of recovering damages to rooms if there are any. Unfortunately when you...

Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel was clean and is in a great location right downtown with free parking. The breakfast wasn't anything to brag about--just some muffins and toast. The hotel is a little outdated, and not swanky and sophisticated like the Marriott, but it is still slowly undergoing some more updating. The front desk was friendly and helpful and the building was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Input like yours is an invaluable tool for us so we are able to continually grow and better serve our guests such as you. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Lancaster Pa. Tom Showalter Guest Services

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.2 km away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
887 reviews
0.4 km away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.0 km away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
520 reviews
10.0 km away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Price Range: €104 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Maroochydore, Australia
Staunton, Virginia
Staunton, Virginia
2 months ago
Summit, New Jersey
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have good views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles nanbloodworth, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I do not think there is a bad room”
 of 5 bubbles 474susanf, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with one king size bed are spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles RussWatson, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the top floor, which was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles vovka1965, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“dont stay there”
 of 5 bubbles supercisp, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5