We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hotel Lancaster

TravelocityUS$136*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$185*
US$136*
US$185*
US$185*
US$136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hotel Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Showing 304: English reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Don't stay here if going to Spooky Nook. The rooms are disgusting. Breakfast consists of one loaf of bread everyone has to fight over in a 3x5 galley kitchen. The staff is rude and if they know you are with a group for Spooky Nook they treat you like ugly step children. John Meeder should be ashamed to be associated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We apologize if you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take your comments very seriously and tried to locate your reservation so we could contact you. We were unable to find your reservation. Please contact me directly so I can gather more information about your visit. My email is gm@thehotellancaster.com. Thank you.

Dexter, New York
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We had never been to Lancaster and booked our rooms not knowing what to expect. The hotel is located downtown and downtown is busy! We were expecting a slower paced Amish community but Lancaster is Busy! The hotel is in the heart of downtown and very close to many restaurants and is within walking distance to the central market and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan F
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted to know you enjoyed our hotel and had a great time exploring Downtown Lancaster. Being located in the heart of the Downtown allows our Guests to walk to many terrific restaurants and pubs, shoppes, art galleries and theaters. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you stay...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 March 2017

wall plugs behind tables and cupboard both sets on both wall computer lamp yr own lap top cant be plugged in at same time telephone in room not working vicious Chinese man on phone when ordering take out no meat in the beef entrée no stationary no frig no bar to hold onto in tub

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank playwright150
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We apologize if our Guest room did not meet your expectations. Due to the age of our building, we try to provide additional outlet plugs in our lamps to allow for recharging. We do not understand your comment about your food order. At this time, we do not offer any food service within our hotel. We would appreciate you contacting...

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Four years of quality care, nook and cranny clean, breakfast and courtesy allow us to look forward to our stay each year. We cannot rave about The Music without recommending our favorite place to rest! BTW, fabulous pillows!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We are so delighted to know you have stayed with us for each of the Roots and Blues Festivals! Thank you for making us your hotel of choice! Thank you for complimenting our Team and hotel and naming us your "favorite" place! Our pillows receive lots of positive comments and we are glad you enjoyed sleeping on them. Thank you...

York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This was our 3rd year staying at The Hotel Lancaster for the festival. Ideal location for visiting downtown Lancaster. Park your car in the adjacent garage and walk to venues and restaurants. Hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very nice, beds are comfortable. Excellent value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RussWatson
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5-Star rating! We are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the third year in a row. Our central location in the heart of Downtown Lancaster makes is fun and easy to explore the city. We look forward to seeing you again...

New Jersey
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My wife and I were here with two other couples for the Roots and Blues Festival. We couldn't have picked a better hotel. Right in the middle of everything that was going on for the weekend. They give you a discount on parking next door. Super clean, excellent bedding and comfortable room. Yes the bathroom is a little small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbk680
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us during the Roots and Blues Music Festival! Guest satisfaction is our number one priority so we are so pleased to hear that our Team succeeded in making you comfortable and happy during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you come back to Lancaster!

Reading, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 February 2017

The king suite was enormous, great for a family, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Fantastic location too, right downtown near shopping, art galleries, restaurants, art museum, and a 15-minute walk from Franklin and Marshall College. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vovka1965
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and overall satisfaction. We have many Franklin and Marshall College family and friends stay with us and they appreciate our convenient location. There is always lots to do in the Downtown area! Thank you for staying with us!

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We live local but were in the city for a night out without the kids. Check in was quick and the lobby beautiful! Our room was clean and very comfortable. It was quiet, we had a great nights sleep. It was a beautiful morning so we grabbed a muffin and OJ from the continental breakfast and took a walk downtown....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank welk1824
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us! Downtown Lancaster offers so many fun and exciting things to do for our local Guests, as well as out-of-town Guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel! We look forward to you planning another "staycation" again!

Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

While the hotel was clean, it's very dated and the bathroom was tiny. However when you're away for one night cleanliness is all that really matters. The location was great for what we wanted to do. My biggest complaint comes from the extreme frustration of the people in the room next to us (which of course the hotel staff cannot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daisies5384
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that we met your cleanliness standards and you enjoyed our great location in Downtown Lancaster. We apologize for the unpleasant experience caused by other Guests in a room next to yours. I believe that a Guest Services Team Member addressed the noise disturbance...

Portage, Michigan
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Lancaster for business. Staff was very friendly and very knowledgeable about places in town to visit. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Planning on staying next time I visit for business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keeper127
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and overall hotel satisfaction. We'll look forward to seeing you the next time your business brings you to Lancaster!

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.2 km away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
906 reviews
0.4 km away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.1 km away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
535 reviews
5.6 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Price Range: €113 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Maroochydore, Australia
Staunton, Virginia
Staunton, Virginia
4 months ago
Summit, New Jersey
10 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I do not know if there are any good rooms.”
703kirstens, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Parking in the garage next door; be sure to get it validated for $10/night”
A7633OGandreaa, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an odd numbered room”
Traveler6NewJersey, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good!”
, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have good views of the city.”
nanbloodworth, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$136* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$185
Expedia.comUS$136
CancelonUS$144
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates