We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wild Edge Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wild Edge Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wild Edge Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Our luggage was loaded aboard a golf buggy and we were then driven a short distance to our luxurious pavilion. Upon entering the pavilion, we were warmly welcomed to the prearranged candles which spread throughout the entire clean, romantic and warmly designed pavilion. We had a warm and inviting welcome from our host. Alan showed us the complimentary breakfast which... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SOPRANOSydney
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert and Roberta, Thank you so much for submitting such a great and detailed review of your experience at Wild Edge, and thank you also for helping us reach the milestone of 100 reviews! It is always good to read that guests enjoy visiting Wild Edge as much as we enjoy living here and sharing this special place with... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Stayed here about five years ago in Wind Spirit and was thoroughly impressed by the location and quality furnishings and amazing infinity pool. My partner and I stayed in Natures Mist this time and were just as impressed if not more so! The location and atmosphere are amazing - totally private and relaxing. Andrew one of the hosts is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lifestylechoice
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Lifestylechoice, It was great to welcome you back to Wild Edge, but hard to believe it was 2011 since you were last here, time certainly does fly! Very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay in Nature's Mist. The private pools are certainly an added bonus at this time of year and a great way to start... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2016

It is a long drive up the unsealed track from Wollemi, but from the moment we arrived at the gates of wild edge retreat we felt at ease. The welcome from hosts Alan and Andrew was warm and genuine but never intrusive, and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. The 4 pavilions are cleverly sited, two on each... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulyj60
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Paulyj60 Many thanks for your review of Wild Edge. It was great to meet you both and really pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your stay and the facilities provided. I think the drive up the mountain to the Retreat is all part of the Wild Edge escape and adds to the feeling of seclusion and surprise... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2016

My partner and I recently spent a weekend at Wild Edge. Whilst the weather was bleak, Wild Edge was totally the opposite. Our accomodation was superb with amazing attention to detail. On our first day we were able to enjoy the magnificent views, and although the weather changed for the worst on the second day, our hosts Alan and Andrew... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert M Many thanks for posting your review. It was lovely to welcome you both back to the Retreat and to hear about your travels since you were last here. We certainly experienced some 'crazy' weather changes during your stay and received more rain after you had left, but I am pleased to report that the lovely Summer weather... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent a very relaxing few days at Wild Edge over Christmas. Beautiful rural location, amazing views, awesome pavilion with high-end finish, and excellent service. The free breakfast provisions consisted of high quality local produce - really delicious. Guests have access (no charge) to a 180+ film DVD library in reception which is great if you like... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjh28719
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear sjh28719, Many thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and to help you celebrate Christmas at Wild Edge. It was also pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed our facilities and found time to relax and enjoy each others company. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, but in the... More 

Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
438 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

We were in Wollombi to see our grand-daughters (and their parents) and booked into Whispering Forest at Wild Edge for 2 nights, based on the photos on their website. The photos don't do justice to the reality ... the place is faultless. Lovely manicured grounds in a haven of peace and tranquility. The pavilions are private, large, comfortable, elegant and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LesH211
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear LesH211, Sincere thanks for posting your review. It was lovely to meet you both and now to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us, and visiting your family in Wollombi. As I have said in previous review responses, we do work hard to ensure our guests can have the best possible experience when they visit Wild... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2015

After deciding that I would surprise my husband on his 50th birthday with a weekend away, I started researching all luxury accommodation options available in the Hunter region. This is when I found the website for the Wild Edge retreat. The owners were wonderful in allowing me to plan the weekend so that my husband's birthday weekend was wonderful. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank ELVANN23
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Elvann23, Thank you so much for posting your review. Not only was it our pleasure to assist with your surprise birthday getaway for your husband, it was also lovely to meet you both. We always aim to give our guests a great experience at the Retreat, so it is gratifying to read when we have. Due to our mountain... More 

East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

We spent three days in the Wind Spirit Pavilion at Wild Edge Retreat to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Having a young family we wanted somewhere that we could escape in luxurious surroundings. Wild Edge Retreat is a spectacular location sure to impress all who stay. The service was warm and welcoming on arrival and once we checked in it... More 

Helpful?
Thank kate S
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kate S, Thank you for posting your review of Wild Edge. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us to celebrate your 10th Anniversary, and judging by your review, we provided just what you were looking for - which we aim to do! We look forward to welcoming you back again. kind regards, Alan More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary earlier this year, square in the middle of winter. There's too much to say and all good - we were greeted with warm smiles, given a brief yet informative tour and made to feel right at home, right away. The room was spacious and spotless, and although it opened right up to the mountains... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam A
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Adam A, Thank you for posting your review. It must be 4 months since you stayed with us and as we are now heading into the Summer months, we are naturally, no longer using the fires which so many guests enjoy during the Winter months. However, guests are now enjoying the use of the private pools or relaxing on... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I have recently spent 5 glorious nights of our honeymoon at Wild Edge Retreat and wow, what a place!! I had called an hour out from arrival just to ensure that all was in order for my beautiful wife and the serious romancing which was about to get underway. It was 8pm in the evening and after... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LP-CP2015
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Cassandra and Lewis, Many thanks for taking the time to submit your review of Wild Edge Retreat (I think it's probably the longest review we have had to date!). Naturally, it was very pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your time here and we were equally pleased to have contributed towards making your wedding celebration a lasting... More 

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
27.3 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
29.4 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
772 reviews
24.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.8 km away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
202 reviews
13.6 km away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Price Range: €295 - €339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wild Edge Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No bad Pavilions at Wild Edge, consider a room with a pool if staying in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles paullZ7306UO, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Nature's Mist has a lovely view of the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenH219, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Wind Spirit Pavilion out standing worth the extra money, furthest one on the sight.”
 of 5 bubbles SOPRANOSydney, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Natures Mist and Wind Spirit are my pick.”
 of 5 bubbles Lifestylechoice, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles paulyj60, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5