We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eliza's on the Murray

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Eliza\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of Eliza's on the Murray
 Click to rate
Rosebud, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Not very clean. Vacuumed up countless dead spiders, and webs. The iron was unbelievable. Manager !!!! Never to be seen until she wanted some money. Would not recommend this place at all, we had booked for a week unfortunately, but we bailed out early.. FayefromOz

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fayefromoz
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We were travelling south from Tamworth to Melbourne and googled motels in Tocumwal and found Eliza's and booked by phone. The cottage was very traditionally furnished but very comfortable and ideal for our purposes. They don't provide breakfast or even milk for a cup of tea, but it was well-equipped and a lovely setting. It is also very convenient for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Melbourne
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Easy booking process. Lovely hosts. Great cottages with heating, aircon, electric blankets. Well maintained. Good kitchen. Great outdoor facilities including BBQ. Peacocks in the garden are a hit with the grandkids. Lovely little playground.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OooRoo1
congupna
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Took mum for a night away for mothers day, Great garden n recluse - we were so relaxed. felt like we were in the Dandenongs or Bright, lovely to have a special space close to home. Beds were comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dianne e
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Mixed feelings about this place. Yes, the gardens are beautiful. However, must be a lucky draw for the comfort of the units. The sofas are terribly uncomfortable to sit in for more than a few minutes. The mattress is just a foam mattress, and you feel it after a night's sleep. Moreover, recommend to avoid in the height of summer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank esnow1
Eliza's M, General Manager at Eliza's on the Murray, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed in our accommodation. We have updated 5 villas and will get to the others. We have just installed 2 new air conditioners and there are ceiling fans in each bedroom. We do however appreciate your feedback regardless of good or bad comments Wendy

Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely gardens and greenery as a setting. Large villas, very clean. Great facilities. Loved a dip in the pool after a warm days golf. Will definitely be back. Will bring the family next time. Another bonus, it is extremely peaceful and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Eliza's M, General Manager at Eliza's on the Murray, responded to this review

We are glad that you have appreciated all our facilities and will look forward to your return. Regards Wendy

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 December 2015

This is the 3rd time we've stayed here and it has been faultless each time. We visit a friend of ours who lives in Tocumwal every year and have been lucky enough to secure one of the rooms overlooking the pool each visit. Decor is a bit dated but who doesn't love the 80's? Comfortable, clean and well-appointed it always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRocky
Eliza's M, General Manager at Eliza's on the Murray, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it was appreciated . We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back. Wendy Elizas on the Murray

Melbourne
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at Eliza's and am compelled to review it again. This is such a delightful accommodation option in Tocumwal. The self contained cottages are terrific both in substance and price. The beds are comfortable and feature electric blankets (absolutely required in Tocumwal in winter!) But what makes this place a great stay is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OooRoo1
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We booked at the last minute and had a discounted rate of $120/nt for a two bedroom unit. The setting and gardens were lovely and the accommodation is well off the road unlike other motels in the area. Being close to the golf course and Murray River, it's in a great location. The accommodation was very well equipped and spacious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Excellent place for a getaway, very clean and spacious units. Friendly hosts, We had a Garden Villa that had your every need covered. Resident peacocks kept our grandson amused feeding them every morning.Excellent Pool and BBQ area. We would recommend Eliza's on the Murray to any traveler to make a point and stay there

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cool352015

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tocumwal hotels
1.9 km away
No photo provided
Kanimbla Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Tocumwal
39 reviews
2.0 km away
Bridge Motor Inn
Bridge Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Tocumwal
20 reviews
0.3 km away
Greenways Holiday Units
Greenways Holiday Units
#3 of 8 in Tocumwal
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Tocumwal Motel
Tocumwal Motel
#4 of 4 in Tocumwal
16 reviews
0.1 km away
Early Settlers Motel
Early Settlers Motel
#1 of 4 in Tocumwal
18 reviews
1.1 km away
Bakery Park Motor Inn
Bakery Park Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Tocumwal
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A place of rest and tranquility, nine gorgeous and luxuriously appointed Villas nestled into a beautiful garden. The Villas are self contained and offer the best accommodation of its kind on the Murray, whether it be rest and relaxation or golf, tennis and water activities or maybe just enjoying all the fantastic local attractions. Tocumwal is a year round holiday destination for all ages. Within Walking distance to the Golf Club, sandy beaches , local shopping and in close proximity to wineries, historic pubs, antique shops, and many more local attractions, Eliza's on the Murray provides the perfect location for your next getaway, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eliza's on the Murray

Address: 16 Barooga Rd, Tocumwal, New South Wales 2714, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tocumwal
Price Range: €78 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza's on the Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Eliza's on the Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eliza's on the Murray staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
fayefromoz, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All cottages looked fine from the outside.”
RobertC117, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 8 - pool view”
diannee185, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool.”
MelbourneRocky, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The garden rooms are lovely.”
OooRoo1, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates