We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Booked direct from Rydges website, we expected that this hotel was operated by Rydges. However, upon arriving at Thredbo village, the absence of Rydges hotel directional signs was an omen. It seems that Rydges does not manage this property. The hotel restaurant was closed except for a buffet breakfast, and we learnt that in the days leading up to Christmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Egalitarian
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, which our guests expect. You are correct we are... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We spent one night at TAH as part of a long road trip. We arrived after a 8 hour drive, tired and looking forward to a shower and a bit of rest. Unfortunately, reception was rather abrupt and chilly, which was very disappointing. Not the best start to our stay. We took our key and dragged our heavy bags up... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALMRT
Bethany P, Front Office Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. The issues you have addressed will be brought up with our Front Office staff. We truly apologise for any inconvenience. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you... More 

Narrabundah
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2014

While I did not stay in the hotel we had a very pleasant drive up from Jindabyne and then a memorial walk around the village before going into lunch in the Kosciuszko Room. We were very surprised by the high quality and variety of the foods on offer. It was a select your own arrangement with a very large range... More 

Helpful?
Thank gordon35au
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to celebrate Christmas Lunch with our hotel. Your comments have been passed onto our Executive Chef Kane Stamp. Look forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards, TAH More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Lashed out and got a balcony room at the front with mountain and ski-slope views. Terrific 1960s-style ski resort decor - all pale wood, tub chairs, checks and tartans. Coffee plunger and small packet of ground coffee a nice touch. Bathroom dated but roomy enough and well-designed. Walls thin though, and unfortunately not James Bond in the St Moritz suite... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeriousFrolic
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Sorry for any inconvenience resulted by the bridal party, the off season is rather popular for weddings also. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thredbo Alpine Hotel Best Regards, TAH More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

You need to realize that nothing in Thredbo is cheap, at any time of the year, however there is a variety of accommodation and it does vary in dollar value and quality. I have stayed in three places in Thredbo over the years and this place is in my view the best value for money I have stayed at. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank James S
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

**Please note this review if for the THREDBO ALPINE APARTMENTS Dear Guest Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Thredbo Alpine Apartments. We hope to see you again soon! TAH More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We stayed during the October long weekend and had a fantastic time. The golf course was superb (the beautiful weather that weekend really helped); the band at the pool bar was great entertainment; the reception staff were generally friendly (although sometimes hard to flag down when in their back-room); and the buffet breakfast every morning was truly impressive (I LOVED... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ajh268
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our facilities and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. The lovely staff member is Wiki from Cascades, a valued part of our team. Also for future reference we have moved the computer to the... More 

Blue mountains
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

Rooms are basic but clean and all you really need for a place to crash and have a hot shower. The restaurant does a nice breakfast spread. Location you cannot beat and would see it popular in summer as well. Worth a look if you after basic place. Staff are all lovely and care

Helpful?
Thank dak3
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that our staff exceeded your service expectations. We hope to see you again soon! TAH More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was my 5th stay at TAH - it was peak season, with a 4.5 star pricetag, not unusual for the peak in Thredbo. There's not much competition, TAH is the only real hotel in Thredbo village, although I notice the Denman calls itself a hotel. This monopoly shows. TAH has pretensions to be a 4 star but it let... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fell0w_Traveller49
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I booked this hotel after spotting a good deal online for a last minute snow trip. After reading reviews online, I was a little unsure but it's location within the village had me mostly sold. Check in is 4pm, but we arrived around 2pm and our room was already good to go. Our room was cosy and warm on arrival... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShirleyShopper49
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, which our guests expect. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip... More 

Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Not a guest at this hotel so can't speak for the rooms but I was a patron at the Lounge Bar. Dropped in for a coffee and then into the lounge bar for a warm cider but when I asked for the wifi password got a point blank “No” Absolute poor form!

Helpful?
Thank aupaulie
Thredbo R, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Hi aupaulie, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our hotel strives to provide, and we apologize the correct information was not relayed. Thredbo Alpine Hotel only has WIFI available to guests staying in the hotel, our staff should of politely explained this. We... More 

Travellers are raving about these Thredbo Village hotels

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.2 km away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
170 reviews
0.1 km away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
160 reviews
0.1 km away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#2 of 10 in Jindabyne
347 reviews
0.3 km away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
14 reviews
29.7 km away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub & Bistro and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. With something for everyone and only a stones throw from everything, Thredbo Alpine Hotel is the perfect place for your next mountain escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Price Range: €90 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift but level 3 low even numbers 304, 306,308 may have mountain view and away from noise of apres ski pool party?”
 of 5 bubbles juliaw281, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Better to stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles rmp26, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is available everywhere but in your room”
 of 5 bubbles HarakaMtColah, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were quiet during our stay.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisH246, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No rooms on the long corridors or en route to the dining/breakfast room as too much passing traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Joyful675, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay