We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (201)
Room & Suite (91)
Pool & Beach (23)
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 201
  • 283
  • 134
  • 28
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Unbelievable place to stay? OHS the pool is heated no it isn’t? But then look out there is 25 in the juzzi ? It was appalling it was so dirty noisey and everything is falling apart? Most off all the bloody smell off sewage coming from the laundry facilities?? Worst
Read more
Response from Work E, General Manager at Mantra Aqua
Responded 3 Oct 2018
We always appreciate receiving constructive comments to help us to maintain and improve our standards. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Mantra Aqua Resort, Magdalene. Our ultimate goal is to have our guests leave happy and relaxed, often planning their return, and I can only apologise that your experience did not meet expectations. Sincerely, Leanne
Read more
We stayed 6 nights in a deluxe penthouse. We loved it! So much space for our family which was perfect when the weather wasn’t so great, we felt so at home. Couldn’t have asked for more. But what I appreciated the most was how lovely the ladies were in reception. I dealt with
Read more
Response from Work E, General Manager at Mantra Aqua
Responded 3 Oct 2018
Well, this review is going straight on the staff fridge! We are very lucky indeed to have a fabulous team. Thank you for both staying with us and for acknowledging the wonderful job that Lorraine and Melanie do. We loved having you here as much as you enjoyed your stay... visit again soon won't you? Kind regards, Leanne
Read more
We stayed here for a few days break and found it very nice. The Mantra is a large complex with lots of apartments, it has a nice big pool with a spa which was well used. It is located an easy walk to all the eateries in town and two great clubs just at the back of the Mantra.
Read more
Response from Work E, General Manager at Mantra Aqua
Responded 3 Oct 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us Sal. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location and your unit, and that the team took such great care of you. Wi-fi can be problematic in our corner of paradise and for the inconvenience we do apologise. We'll hope to see you again. Kind regards, Leanne
Read more
Convenient location and spacious apartments. The pool and spa are beautiful particular at night. We had a three bedroom, double bathroom apartment for six adults which was great but the lounge setting only seated five people. We had issues with the DVD player and called
Read more
Response from Work E, General Manager at Mantra Aqua
Responded 28 Sep 2018
Thanks for choosing to stay with us Rachel! We have an excellent range of even larger apartments that may suit for your next girls' trip. We'll hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, Leanne
Read more
Apartments were clean & spacious. In our apartment the second bathroom was right next door to the second bedroom (the other was ensuite) but in some of the party's rooms this bathroom was at the opposite end of the apartment so you had to walk through the lounge etc to get to
Read more
Response from Work E, General Manager at Mantra Aqua
Responded 9 Sep 2018
Thank you Vanessa! It was a pleasure to be your host. We appreciate your custom and your lovely review. We'll hope to welcome you again. Best wishes, Leanne
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Not a very nice relaxing couch to sit on
Beds, two pushed together for queen.
1 of 3 bedrooms
Cocktail on the Balcony
Dolphins all year round. Whales march to sept is the best.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello Teash, Thank you for your enquiry and I am happy to advise there are 2 allocated car spaces for the 3 Bedroom Deluxe Penthouse so the third car will be able to go into one of the many visitors spaces and will not be a problem. I hope this helps and feel free to contact us again any time.
0 votes
"If you don't want the noise, ask for an out-looking room. Not sure what you will be looking at but the noise will be less."
"Stay away from rooms overlooking pool , best rooms in middle of resort and on 3rd floor."
"Away from the noisy pool area unless you have kids which you want to just send off to the pool as many parents seem to do."
"Ask for a room away from the pool, a lot quieter."
"Higher than first floor for sea views."
US$132 - US$482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
mantra aqua hotel nelson baymantra aqua nelson bay
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastlePort StephensNelson Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing