We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mantra Aqua

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mantra Aqua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mantra Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 482: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just spent 6 nights here. Generally it was good. We had a lovely big apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms. It overlooked the pool and we could see across to nelson bay. The beds were comfortable and had all we needed. We did find it to be quite noisey, each morning there seemed to be a garbage truck... More 

Helpful?
Thank kyanneswim
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear that you had a lovely stay with us! We are very full at the moment, so the pool as you saw it was/is as busy as it gets... We certainly take pride in our friendly and welcoming team, so we are most pleased to hear your feedback regarding our staff. Until next time! With thanks and kindest... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great time Unit 45 is fantastic great position close to shops and restaurants The unit its self is beautifully furnished for 3Couples or a family 3bedrooms 2batherooms and everything you need to cater at home or close to many restaurants

Helpful?
Thank siber2016
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, thank you! Penthouse 45 is lovely isn't it... We love that you loved it, hopefully we will welcome you back again when you can next squeeze in a break. With thanks and kind regards Leanne More 

Glenmore Park, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Mantra. Just a few blocks inland from the marina at Port Stephens, the two bedroom apartment was ideal for a self catered stay. I enjoyed the leafy outlook from the breakfast patio and the apartment had all the facilities required for a lengthy stay. The pool and BBQ area was ideal for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob V
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Truly wonderful to hear that you had a great time with us, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Our team will take great pride in your feedback. Should you decide to return and upgrade for a Bay view, our Penthouses offer lovely water views. We are always here to help with any queries! Kind regards Leanne More 

Monterey Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

It's an easy walk from this hotel to the shops,marina,cafes and restaurants. The bowling club is around the corner, newly renovated and good value in the restaurant. Our apartment was amazing, 3 bedrooms, but outlook, zero. All the staff are friendly and helpful.......but....if your a smoker, you will feel like a leper, forced to leave the resort, 3 metres from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your apartment and our location in beautiful Nelson Bay! Our non-smoking policy was voted upon by our Owners and Body Corporate. It has been in place since May 2015 and has been welcomed by the majority of our guests. We can appreciate that not everyone will be... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We have stayed here 3 times . The first was a great experience when it had first opened many years ago. We stayed again last october and had a terrible time in which i left a bad review for . It was October long weekend and very busy . A lot of our feedback about the negative things that happened... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuzyQ1979
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Doesn't get better than 5 stars... thank you! It is wonderful to hear that a negative experience has been turned into a positive one. We truly do appreciate the opportunity to help to create happy memories. We will be delighted to see you when you next return. Kindest regards Leanne More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were there on business and it suited to book this location. What a great surprise to be immersed amongst people on holidays. Families, children and others enjoying a lazy afternoon beside the rather large pool and bbq area. Only sorry we were there for business. This is a perfect place to stay for a week or so with access... More 

Helpful?
Thank 889tonyp
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

A great many thanks for your lovely review! It thrills us to exceed guest expectations, and we too enjoy the wonderful atmosphere here at Mantra Aqua. We will hope to see you back in beach clothes ready for a holiday one day soon! Kindest regards Leanne More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which we were disappointed with. Advertised to have a "private balcony with the tranquillity of peaceful surroundings of native bush gardens around the back of the resort" actually means the balcony faces about 2 metres of bush then a busy main road, so the balcony and the unit gets no sunlight and has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia R
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Julia. I would definitely recommend a pool view or resort view apartment for your next stay, given your feedback here. Some guests love the more private rooms at the back of the buildings- it sounds as if you prefer the livelier aspect of the inward facing rooms however. It's lovely... More 

Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

5 couples stayed for 2 nights for a 60th birthday, the 3 bedroom apartment we were in was large, and 2 cples stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. we enjoyed the weekend. nice large dining and lounge room and we cooked breakfast on the barbeque near the pool.also nice and close to the shopping centre an restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear that great memories have been made of such a special birthday celebration! So pleased that you all had a good weekend. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is much appreciated. Kind regards Leanne More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We chose a special "off" season deal for a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 adults and were very happy with the premise and facilities provided. The kitchen in the apartment had a full size fridge and appliances that were of good quality. The hotel is located near the marina where there is a good selection of restaurants. Undercover and secure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parkwood81
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Just lovely, thank you for your review. We are very happy that you chose us at Mantra Aqua for your off season break... will hope to see you all back again one day! Kindest regards Leanne More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Everything else in Nelson Bay was fully booked so we had no choice but to book this apartment to a ridiculous expensive price. The apartment was very nice, modern and big enough for a family of 4. We did not use the pool and had only little interaction with staff. Checkin in out out was very friendly and fast.

Helpful?
Thank NiciSt
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your apartment and that check in and out was swift. It sounds as if you may have joined us over the very busy long weekend. Our rates will fluctuate according to demand. If you do return to our beautiful part of the world try to book with a bit of notice so that we... More 

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
74 reviews
0.2 km away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
287 reviews
1.5 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
119 reviews
0.4 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
170 reviews
0.4 km away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Price Range: €116 - €432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, Australia
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Aqua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We requested a pool view room, all areas of the hotel are lovely though”
 of 5 bubbles L0veTravel123, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 101 was overlooking the pool and was shaded of an afternoon, great for having a drink on the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 799lorraines, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stqyed in number 4”
 of 5 bubbles nancys833, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unit 45 Fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles siber2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a front room in block "a" any level as the back rooms, we stayed in 17 no view and no sun”
 of 5 bubbles 604cherylh, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay