We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
See the most recent reviews
Showing 533: English reviews
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Gibraltar as we were attending a wedding in the area. Our room, overlooking the golf course, was spacious and pleasant and the view was wonderful. Breakfasts were excellent. However for approximately $400 a night, one would expect a much higher level of appointment in the rooms and of hospitable service. The main doors do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Maureen L, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it is important in our continuous strive to up our product and service offerings to all our guests. Rest assured that we will look into all of your inputs and we will do... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had the woodland spa room and we loved it! Supersize king bed was awesome and staff are very friendly. However, our experienced was ruined by the restaurant, I had the lamb which was too dry and the stake had a horrible flavour. I noticed the table beside us didn't finish their steak either. It took them ages to serve... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank iamlostexplorer
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear iamlostexplorer, It saddens us to know that you were not able to have a favorable dining experience with us. Thank you for sharing your comments and rest assured that I will be discussing these with our team to ensure that this will not happen again. We hope that despite your experience at the restaurant, you were still able to... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I have had the pleasure of staying at Gibralter twice. The first time was with a friend for a wellness package that included yoga, meditation, massage, and attention to healthy food- also golf if you had time! It was beyond my expectations in all respects . and should probably have a separate review. I would highly recommend it. I returned... More 

Helpful?
Thank MEH3012
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear MEH3012, We appreciate your kind words and for sharing your wonderful experience during your second visit to Gibraltar Hotel Bowral. Many thanks for sharing your nice comments about our Gibraltar Health Break wellness program. It is currently ongoing and we would love to have you join us again! We are also happy knowing that you enjoyed your teeing off... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

One year after getting married at this wonderfully set out hotel and it still continues to make wonderful memories! Was treated like family and the staff couldn't have done enough to serve us, especially after I had injured myself. Great food, wonderful views and excellent entertainment. Special praise Alicia for looking after my first aid needs; along with Megan and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! We are so happy to welcome you again after starting your journey with us with your wedding the year before! It was great seeing your familiar faces and how happy you are as a couple. Thank you for all your kind words and we will share them with Alicia, Megan, Michelle and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Pros: Beautiful, new interior Nice artwork around the hotel Clean and comfortable Spacious rooms Great breakfast included in room rate Cons: I booked what was called a "Superior Suite, 1bedroom" which made me assure something larger than a regular room, I even expected a separate bedroom. It was just a regular room, though, so a tad overstated in the description,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bfrealnose
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Bfrealnose, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and inputs regarding your stay. It is sad to note that the room that you stayed in did not meet your expectations. We have had numerous guests who also in their reviews stated that we are one of the properties that offer bigger rooms in Bowral.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed here for one night en route to Melbourne with our 2 children. The hotel is beautifully decorated, rooms large, beds comfortable and well appointed. After an 8 hour drive, our boys welcomed a swim in the indoor heated pool and time on the treadmill before heading to Harvey's Bar for a pre dinner drink. We decided to eat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tans3437
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Tans3437, Many thanks for your kind words. It warms our hearts to know that you and your children had a wonderful stay at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral. We are glad that you were able to refresh yourselves at the pool and enjoyed your evening at Harvey’s Bar and San Fior after an 8 hour drive. We certainly hope to see... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed here overnight for work recently. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds are fantastic. Harvey's Bar is a great place for a drink and Geoff Harvey may just walk on in. Dinner and breakfast were both very good. I'd like to stay again for a little longer.

Helpful?
1 Thank AussieMumsy
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear AussieMumsy, Thank you so much for your kind words. It warms our hearts to know that you had a great time even though you stayed for only a night. I agree that next time you should stay longer and you can fully enjoy the hotel services and facilities. We are looking forward to seeing your familiar face in the... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel. My first impressions was that it felt very luxurious. I was well appointed and had a nice feel about it. Our room was nice. Just a standard sized room and the bed very comfortable. We had a view out to the golf course which was lovely but we also had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Lynette B, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. It is nice to know that you had a great stay overall despite some challenges you encountered. Thank you as well for sharing your inputs, rest assured that we will take a look at them and make the necessary improvements as needed.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The first thing my partner and I noticed was the sheer size of the room! Oversized room, bed and bathroom. Check in / check out process was efficient and no fuss. I am also one to appreciate good quality bathroom products and was not disappointed. Buffet breakfast the following morning was above standard with lots of choice and had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank StaceyPC
Liz U, General Manager at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear StaceyPC, Thank you so much for recommending us! We are glad to know that the room size was to your liking, along with all the other hotel services and amenities. We hope maybe next time; you get to play a round of golf in our luscious greens or pamper yourself at our day spa. Please try Harvey’s as well,... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The hotel is beautifully appointed, all the staff are welcoming and friendly. This is a golfers paradise and a gorgeous city escape. We had a lovely reception staff who checked us in and made us feel so welcome. We stayed looking onto the beautiful greens in the most comfortable bed and the bathroom was lovely, clean and modern. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Channabella
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Channabella, It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay at the Gibraltar Hotel Bowral. Thank you for your kind words for our staff, we will share your warm words to the team. Our gratitude as well for your input regarding the wifi connection; we are looking at ways into making the service better. We... More 

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
2.9 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
326 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
Peppers Craigieburn
#3 of 9 in Bowral
821 reviews
13.2 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
6.7 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Harvey's Bar
Harvey's Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on 100-acres, among century old elm and pine trees and under the shadow of Bowral’s iconic Mt Gibraltar, is Gibraltar Hotel, the most luxurious and modern hotel accommodation available in NSW’s Southern Highlands. Just one and half hours easy drive from Sydney and Canberra, Gibraltar Hotel offers 76 luxurious suites each with vistas of beautiful Bowral woodland or Mt Gibraltar itself. The Hotel also features a challenging 18-hole golf course, the largest conference centre in the region with a unique, elegant ballroom, six breakout meeting rooms, a wedding chapel with a full organ, as well as its own heated indoor swimming pool, cardio centre and luxurious Bowral Day Spa and Grooming Lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Address: Centennial Rd & Boronia St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Price Range: €130 - €303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gibraltar Hotel Bowral 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gibraltar Hotel Bowral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gibraltar Hotel Bowral staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gibraltar Hotel Bowral staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay if there is a wedding booked!”
 of 5 bubbles LeaseP, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with views to the golf course are nicer but I would opt for a balcony room to prevent your neighbours seeing into your room.”
 of 5 bubbles LynetteB411, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the golf course view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Channabella, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our deal was for the rooms that overlooked the carpark. The rooms that overlooked the golf course would be stunning.”
 of 5 bubbles Calamitykid, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles Amc3107, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay