We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porth Avallen Hotel

Save
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (14)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
91
86
43
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
91
86
43
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsi highly recommend this hotelstunning views of the baycarlyon baybay windoweden projectsticky toffee puddingcoastal pathcharming hotelchoice at breakfastst austell baypiping hotclotted creamsunday lunchvery pleasant staycooked to perfectionfeel very welcomelong weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has incredible views from the bar and breakfast room, indeed the bar seems to be laid out so as many guests as possible can enjoy it. It was one of the few hotel bars I actually enjoyed having a drink in.Breakfast was a...More

Thank MikeT6128DF
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and found the hotel comfortable and friendly. The breakfasts were good and evening meals in the bar (can also be taken in more formal restaurant) were very good. The sea view from our room was lovely (picture). Great clifftop walk...More

Thank 958kate
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I think the number of times we have stayed here shows that we enjoy our stay. Great bedroom with views over the bay. Friendly, helpful staff. A good choice at breakfast with their English breakfast being especially tasty. Reasonable internet connections.

Thank JohnCracknell
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I recently stayed at a four-star hotel that was truly awful. This is a three-star hotel that I thought was really wonderful. The weather was atrocious whilst I was there but with the fire blazing in the lounge and a well-stocked bar who cares. Many...More

Thank hunslet49
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous lunch . I highly recommend this hotel for fabulous food and fantastic views of the sea ,but mostly the food it was without a doubt the best Sunday lunch ever .My husband had sea bass and he said it was the best...More

Thank Cynthiapearl
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dave T
Interested in reading your reviews. We booked in for 3 night's stay in June to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. On the third night I was woken at midnight and again at 6am by very loud fan noise appearing to emanate from just outside our room. There was no one to whom we were able to complain but at 6:15 a couple of the hotel workers arrived and heard the noise. I tried to complain on checking out but the owner/manager was too busy to see me and told his staff to get me to email my complaint. Needless to say my email and follow up recorded delivery letter were totally ignored. I am sending a final letter today and expect to be starting proceedings in the Small Claims Court in 2 weeks time citing "accomodation not fit for purpose" and "Loss of enjoyment of life". Do you think this is the appropriate action for me to take?
28 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Dave T |
I was not expecting a reply but to my final letter but George phoned me when he received it.He said my initial complaint was lost due to a computer problem in July and a manager leaving. He immediately settled my claim and... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Sea facing,and if possible the suite"
Read review
"We were in a rear wing extension, bit of a route march through narrow corridors ...prime rooms to the front"
Read review
"Pay a bit more for a view."
Read review
"go for a sea view room it helps to make up for the shabbiness"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing