We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bugle Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bugle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of Bugle Inn
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First thing you need to know is that Bugle isn't exactly St Austell. If you stay there, you'll need a car to visit the actual village. But we were there for work and that was just fine. We paid £63 for a room with one single bed and one very comfortable double bed. It's quite old, but does the trick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renton2B
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, after our stay 3 years ago, we decided to revisit last night just for a drink and reminisce. From being a lovely village pub that welcomes visitors it has turned into a dive that's only fit for yobs. The language from men playing pool was obscene and not at all what a lady should be faced with. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gillian S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pint of rattler, bag of crisps and a pub quiz, what more do you want?! Very welcoming, friendly and cosy, a great place to hole-up for the night and sink a few. Not stayed here as a hotel so couldn't comment, but a great little local pub nonetheless

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo P
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We stayed here for the night while visiting Cornwall, a clean comfortable place with a warm welcome. Breakfast was cooked fresh for each guest and nothing was too much effort for the friendly staff. We will definitely return again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawn l
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed here for one night while house hunting Was exhausted after viewing about fifteen houses so just wanted to sleep....this is a pub , but don't remember any noise at all ...owners were very friendly as were the staff....rooms were ok though very tired and in definite need of updating , but in all fairness was priced accordingly....great breakfast.....so all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly G
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Just spent 3 nights at the Bugle Inn whilst visiting our daughter. The hosts are very accommodating, nothing too much trouble. The room was very comfortable with en-suite bathroom with plenty of hot water. My only thing is could do with a lick of paint. Breakfast was delicious with the choice of cereal and/also full cooked. We also had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I've never in my life been to a pub that refuses money!! I went in to play pool with a service user as I'm a support worker for autistic adults and I asked for some change for the pool table and she rather rudely said 'aren't u gonna buy a drink?' And apparently putting money in the pool table isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FitzFir
CornishMGK, Owner at Bugle Inn, responded to this review

This review really doesn't warrant a reply. Malicious nonsense.

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Everywhere was clean and tidy, the bed comfortable.The en-suite ample with plenty of towels. Breakfast was ample and freshly prepared for you. The dinner menu is limited (especially as a vegetarian) but the meal we had was freshly prepared, and well cooked. The beer was delicious! The wifi was brilliant. On the down side are a few niggles: The telly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missturkey
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I really wanted to give four stars but unfortunately didn't feel I could quite. We had four rooms for a family wedding and although they were perfectly comfortable it was clear that some clearly needed some refurbishment. Some of our party had food the night we arrived and that was very good as were the breakfasts. What was disappointing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanadjuster
CornishMGK, Owner at Bugle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you felt rushed, however, I do believe she was upstairs cleaning the other room that your party was not using and who had checked out. It is our policy to start stripping bedding etc as soon as a room is vacated to enable us to provide an earlier check in time...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

..described as average this is based on the standard off our room and location..the food was ok but nothing to write home about..what was important to us and was sorted very well was the manager keeping a chef at work while we sorted ourselves out and cooking us a meal that was appreciated and well cooked, so thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rossmagpie

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
6.5 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
338 reviews
8.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
468 reviews
7.8 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 98 in St Austell
234 reviews
5.4 km away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 98 in St Austell
455 reviews
11.6 km away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bugle Inn is a traditional family pub offering 3 Star (AA accredited) en-suite bed and breakfast holiday accommodation. Located on the A391 between Bodmin and St Austell, the Bugle Inn is an ideal base for your holiday in Cornwall, being centrally located and only three miles from the Eden Project. Breakfasts, Bar Snacks, Daily Specials and a full a la carte pub menu are available. The bar offers traditional pub entertainment - darts, pool and jukebox. In addition, you can enjoy live music played by local artists and bands on Saturday and the occasional Sunday evenings or test your knowledge on our regular Quiz Nights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bugle Inn

Address: 57 Fore Street | Bugle, St Austell PL26 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range: €59 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bugle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Bugle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugle Inn Cornwall/St Austell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bugle Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bugle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“calm, welcoming, hospitality, friendly”
 of 5 bubbles 638adamd, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“we had a room at the front which was over the main bar and looked out on the A391. It was a bit noisy on Saturday as a live band were on until 11:30. The room was a ensuite bouble bed and was comfortable and quiet roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles bammers54, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Bear with the Wifi - it does work but can be confusing I guess for those who do not want to perservere. Although staff were helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 580JamesC, 14 Mar 2013 | Read review
“If you are a very light sleeper ...ask for the back room.”
 of 5 bubbles RichardClwyd, 24 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Room 1 seemed to be directly above the speakers. Avoid if you can !!”
 of 5 bubbles Brummum64, 15 Jul 2011 | Read review
5 of 5