We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Railway Yard B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Railway Yard B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Railway Yard B&B
 Click to rate
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

There is nothing you can fault with this B&B. Food is amazing, rooms are luxurious 5* hotel equivalent and really clean. Graham and Sue are so welcoming and made us feel so at home. When we go to cornwall we will be staying there again. Already booked our summer holiday with then to avoid disappointment if we left it later.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccarthyramona
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Ramona, Thank you both for taking the time to post a review and a big 'Thank you' for making a booking to stay for a week in our self catering cottage this summer. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. Here's to many more. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne

Ewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Chose the Old Railway Yard B&B as a base for a riding holiday at a centre only 10 minutes drive away and within walking distance on a fine day. The premium double was ideal as I had my own parking space 2 feet away from an external door, kitchenette and table, luxury bath and wet room. The breakfast room was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 500charlottej
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte, Many thanks for a great review of your stay with us. We have had several guests this year staying with us and using the horse riding school a few miles from us. Hopefully this will encourage others considering a horse riding holiday. Hopefully we will see you again. Glad you recieved the phone charger you left behind and...

Worthing
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed at "Tramways" the cottage next to The Old Railway Yard for a week. Unfortunately due to circumstances we were unable to arrive until 12.30am having battered our way through torrential rain and gale force winds. Sue had left the cottage unlocked and it was so nice to step into such a cosy and comfortable environment after a tricky journey....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muso30
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay for us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and a big thank you for the quality check comparing us to previous property's you have stayed at across the board. Sorry about the weather! that one we cannot organise. I can only say the Wi-Fi is...

Southall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Lovely couple very welcoming. Looked after you with all your needs. Cooked breakfast was done to your requirement. No faults found will go there again. I would recommended the place to all my friends and family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline_franklin283
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hello Pauline, Thany you for the review. Suzanne & I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you both again in the future. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and relatives. The best kind of advertising! Best regards, Graham & Suzanne

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I booked this B&B for my wife and I based on the previous excellent reviews on here and we were not disappointed. The journey down took ages so we arrived 3 hours later than we wanted to at around 6pm. We stayed in the garden room which has its own parking space and a separate door straight outside. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brighton_SussexGuru
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Well Billy, What can I say. You now hold the acalade for the longet review! Well done. Many thanks for writing such an in-depth review. What the future guests didn't know, they do now. Thanks again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will see you again. Sorry about the wi-fi. That's Cornwall for you. Hope...

Wannweil
Reviewed 8 September 2016

It is a nice familar atmosphere in the house. We could use the tub. They reserved a table for us in a Restaurant. The garden was wonderful and the breakfast was very good. The room was big enough to enjoy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 154reinholdf
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we made you feel at home with a relaxed atmosphere. Eating in or out, we are happy to point you in the right direction! Hope you all enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Best regards,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Lovely accommodation. Very clean with up to date decoration and facilities. Lovely outlook. Very helpful owners. Good food. Quite excellent! Loved the added extra of the little sitting room for B&B guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 462hilaryb
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Hilary, Thank you for the compliments of service! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Here's to your next visit. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Sue and Graham provide a lovely environment at a good price. Ideal for a stay in Cornwall to visit the area. Sue and Graham have great knowledge of the area and are full of advice on how to spend time wisely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronique S
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hello Veronique, Surely our most frequent guest by now. We are going to have to start a discount scheme! What better way to advertise our qualities seeing repeat guests return again and again. Thank you for posting a review. Here's to your next visit. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne.

cookhill
Reviewed 20 August 2016

we only stayed the one evening . the room was lovely and clean with a big bed. There was a microwave , fridge and 2 electric rings with cutlery etc. Very useful Suzanne & Graham were both friendly and efficient and make a good team in providing a good stay Certainly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen m
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thanks for the review. Hope you managed to get a six month let for the winter. We tried! Good luck with the house hunting. Best regards, Graham & Suzanne.

Dorset
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We only stayed for one night, as we were meeting friends in the area. However would have loved to stay longer, had we of had more time. Suzanne and Graham welcomed us, and after showing us our room ( a WoW ), offered us both a complimentary Cornish cream tea, it was lovely, i hasten to add. We had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suemikeyDorset
Graham C, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for us even though you only stayed one night. Trip Advisor has been a great success for a social media platform allowing guests to post a response. Along with our own website and recently passing our AA inspection for 2016/17 retaining our 4**** Gold rating guests can book...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
2.2 km away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,145 reviews
7.1 km away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
6.2 km away
John Francis Basset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
776 reviews
3.0 km away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
147 reviews
3.2 km away
Tricky's Hotel
Tricky's Hotel
#5 of 10 in Redruth
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Railway Yard B&B is AA Four star Gold and 2015/16 winner of The friendliest B&B of Great Britain, highly recommended bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall with sea and countryside views. Built in 2007, it offers a double room with balcony and en-suite shower room, a twin room with private bathroom all rooms have TV, Wi-Fi tea/coffee making facilities. A guest lounge is also available with extra facilities including TV, fridge, iron etc. Full English (AA Best breakfast certificate 2015) or Continental breakfasts are available and evening meals (AA Best evening meal certificate 2015) A delicious complimentary cream tea is offered on arrival or during your stay. New for 2012 we have a ground floor superior double or twin room with en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. This room has the advantage of having a small kitchenette area. In the grounds of our property we also have 'Tramways' our holiday let offering self catering for two. Kitchen/diner, lounge area, shower room, spiral staircase to open plan mezamine double bedroom. New for 2014 is our complimentary Hot Tub in the garden for all to use so after a hard day relaxing on holiday revive in our tub. Suitable for all year round use. Set in the garden with glass sides and roof. So enjoy a drink while watching the stars. Seats up to five. Or climb the spiral staircase leading to our roof garden have a seat and enjoy the far reaching views to the coast. New for 2015, we are registered to sell alcohol for our guests and friends whilst staying or visiting us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Railway Yard B&B

Address: The Old Railway Yard Tram Cross Lane | Lanner Hill, Redruth TR16 5TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Price Range: €47 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Yard B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Railway Yard B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was the garden room. It's like a self contained studio, with a hob and microwave. Underfloor heating, mood lighting, I absolutely love this room and definitely worth every penny. ”
 of 5 bubbles mccarthyramona, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden Room”
 of 5 bubbles Brighton_SussexGuru, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The double with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles susanf822, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“The garden room has parking right outside and a private seating area above accessed by a beautiful spiral staircase handcrafted by Graham.”
 of 5 bubbles WhybrowFamily, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Great views across the hills from the upstairs bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles oldschool2015, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5