We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Penarth Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perranporth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Penarth Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have just got home from staying in Perranporth (lovely place) and stayed in the Penarth Guest House with my boyfriend and I and we absolutely loved it. The location of the guest house was perfect, a 30 second walk to the beach and to the shops! The bedroom we stayed in was nice, clean and cosy, we found it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JodieBuck
london
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Last week I stayed in a hotel in Lancashire charging £80 a night room only: The Penarth guest house was better. It doesn't have a swimming pool, conference facities etc.,but Diana is friendly and helpful, and the hot water was hot hot hot. Wonderful setting and I shall be recommending it to my friends in California.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LondonTote
london
Reviewed 16 September 2008

This place is fab. I stayed with my husband and children for three nights and will definately be back early next year. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was fantastic (no need for lunch) and the staff were really friendly. I couldn't beleive some of the reviews I found on here, I certainly didn't find anything to moan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lizziedoolittle
kent
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I booked this b&b because of their website which looked ok and I did read the other reviews. The bad ones did not put me off but I kept in mind what they had said and unfortunately found it all to be true, and after looking forward to this holiday with my young son for 4 months I can honestly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chylowen
DianaPenarth, owner at Penarth Guest House, responded to this review

This guest booked a `shared facilities` room, in fact she shared the bathroom with 1 other person for most of the stay (5 days NOT a week) The guest knew she had to pay for the room on arrival, however, she was shown to her room (and helped with the luggage) and asked if she was happy, the reply was...

Oxford
Reviewed 9 November 2007

This is a superbly located, very friendly family run guest house where you are made very welcome throughout the year. Being so close to the beach is excellent for the surfer or family and the hospitality, breakfast and atmosphere is wonderful. The house has a new modern look on the outside and deceptively large bedrooms on the inside. These are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank swimessa
Plymouth
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Penarth Guest House in September 2007, and what a beautiful place to stay. Very Reasonably priced, Beautifully decorated, Fabulous breakfast and extremely helpful and friendly owners. Only 10 seconds walk to the beach!! We found the owners to be amazingly friendly to us, and chatted to them for almost an hour after breakfast, finding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malyan
Bristol
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We booked this fairly last minute. If it classified itself as a hostel it would have been more honest. This type of establishment is what gives B&Bs a bad image. It was scruffy and needed decorating inside and out; there was a ladder up to the attic in the middle of the landing (presumably for staff); the ensuite was carved...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lisilu
DianaPenarth, owner at Penarth Guest House, responded to this review

It was with great regret that I read this report. All guests are shown to their rooms on arrival, before payment, to ensure that they are happy with the accommodation. Far from being like a hostel, the large room contains a very comfortable bed, a 3 seater sofa to watch T.V from, the en-suite has a shower/toilet and although not...

England
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I do not know what planet the other reviewer is on. Me and my husband stayed at Penarth Guest House last month and it was fantastic. The owner and family were very friendly and accommodating from the minute we arrived. The ensuite room we stayed in was beautiful, with a comfortable king sized bed, sofa, tea/coffee etc and a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blinkgurl
DianaPenarth, owner at Penarth Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write this review. I really appreciate your defence of our guest house. We do our best to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable I look forward to your return here, when we will again do our best to make you happy.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2007

Having stayed in both top hotels all over the world and plenty of small B&B's, I have come to realise that quality can vary dramatically from place from place. Whilst not expensive (£50 for a twin room), this place is really the pits. We were greeted by an unfriendly lady who tutted at being asked to show us the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SimonDebUK
DianaPenarth, owner at Penarth Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry this guest was unhappy with his stay at Penarth. We do our best to make all guests feel welcome and comfortable. This guest stayed with a friend in a basic twin room, the room is bright, clean and tidy. We are a guest house not a 5* hotel. He may not have liked his breakfast but his...

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perranporth hotels
1.5 km away
St George's Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
The Seiners Arms
The Seiners Arms
#3 of 11 in Perranporth
432 reviews
2.1 km away
Red Fox Barn
Red Fox Barn
#1 of 11 in Perranporth
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
2.7 km away
Leycroft Valley Holidays
Leycroft Valley Holidays
#1 of 8 in Perranporth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Penarth Guest House

Address: 26 St. Pirans Road, Perranporth TR6 0BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Penarth Guest House Perranporth, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penarth Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Penarth Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?