We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cormorant Hotel

Orbitz.comUS$206*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$212*
US$206*
US$212*
US$206*
US$212*
US$206*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cormorant Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cormorant Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had a two night stay at this hotel last month and thoroughly enjoyed it. A good position to get to where we wanted to visit. The stunning view from our very comfortable standard room was amazing. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much. Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J_JDevon
Reviewed 19 February 2017

On arrival the receptionist advised that we had a room on the ground floor as I have difficulty walking as it was of best interest of myself and other guest incase of a fire and needed to get people out safely and quickly, we accepted, Rachel went to prepare the room. When entering the room it had an awful odour...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valerie O
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our food and found our staff helpful and courteous. We are very sorry to hear however that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and have investigated your comments. On your arrival your health needs were taken into consideration and it was decided with yourself that...

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We always spend Valentines in this area of Cornwall and this year we switched from nearby Fowey to Golant. The initial impression of the hotel, outside area and pathways was slightly off putting by appearing quite dated. When you step through the entrance though things do improve. The staff were very warm and welcoming helped with luggage etc and showed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We've stayed at The Cormorant before and thought it was excellent. So we were delighted to find out about the Murder Mystery evening on New Years Eve. We were an adult group - two adult children and one girlfriend and us so suiting us all was going to be difficult - but it wasn't. The seven course meal was fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet C
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

We are so very glad that you enjoyed our New Year offering, and thank you so much for troubling to take the time to write a review. Everybody did seem to enjoy both the food and the entertainment, and it is good to know that it actually did work well for your family gathering of different generations. It was fun...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This is a very difficult review to write as this hotel has good points and some less good. The good points are: location - this is excellent, on the river with extensive views; staff - they are very attentive and cannot do enough to help; restaurant - the food is good quality and tasty with a good breakfast selection. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heatherogburn
wiltshire
Reviewed 30 December 2016

What a beautiful place this is, the staff are friendly always had a smile for the guests,the food is 1st class we enjoyed our evening meal so much we did not want it to end.our room was very nice withfantastic view and very very clean,this is our 2nd visit and it will not be our last

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boroughs
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We fell upon this place following an (unsuccessful) attempt to find china clay trains. We had afternoon tea and it was great with scones, jam , and the thickest clotted cream we have encountered. The views from the lounge windows even on a very wet November afternoon were stunning. It may initially may appear stuck in a time warp but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank j_harrison7
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Back again to our favourite hotel. Lovely room with a view of the river. Excellent staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Faultless service, fine wines and food. I asked for lobster and the chef prepared it perfectly. Will definitely be back ASAP.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sally R
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do so enjoy having you both to stay - it is somewhat a 'returning friends' situation, and I do trust that our approach still remains completely professional, but equally, do hope that, as 'retuning friends', this would not prevent you from immediately letting us know...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Was slightly worried by some recent negative reviews but need not have worried. Yes the hotel does need a little tlc and updating but overal clean, tidy and public rooms very nice, with cosy fires roaring. The bedroom was comfy but a little cold when we arrived but soon warmed up.we had. Wonky loo and a shower door that wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian W
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for one night , we were welcomed by Rachel who couldn't be anymore helpful and made us feel like we were at home. The room was lovey couldn't of asked for a better room and bathroom , the shower was brilliant too ,our room also had beautiful river views and a balcony which would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniel s
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for taking the trouble to say so. We would love to welcome you back some time for another stay.

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
2.8 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
3.1 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,291 reviews
2.9 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
7.6 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,487 reviews
11.7 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel nestles on the hillside high above the magnificent Fowey River in Cornwall, close to the Eden Project. An independent luxury hotel set in a glorious location, and we pride ourselves on individual attention to all our guests. 14 guest rooms, all en-suite, all with exceptional river views, most with balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cormorant Hotel

Address: The Cormorant Hotel, Golant PL23 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Price Range: €136 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cormorant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cormorant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant On The River Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cormorant Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Branscombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cormorant Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have fantastic river views. Different standards of rooms are available and are fairly reflected by their prices.”
Rog008, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our standard room was a good choice and although over the restaurant, which was noisy for a while, it was not a problem.”
J_JDevon, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely no good for disabled”
  • bath panel
  • bath panel
  • Curtain
  • Wet/damp wall
  • Mould, corner of room
  • Bath Mat
  • Bath Mat
  • Chair
, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have great views and balconies.”
665triciah, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a balcony - just make sure you get one as even in winter the scenery is fantastic”
471janetc, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$206* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$206
TravelocityUS$206
PricelineUS$212
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates