We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cormorant Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cormorant Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 323: English reviews
Start your review of The Cormorant Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were quite disappointed, we found the hotel a big shabby . The breakfast was very good but the evening meals were varied from good to poor. The drive leading up to the hotel was very steep so much so that I couldn't walk into the village as I have a artificial hip. I will definitely do more research in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moe G
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you struggled with our access. Our location is magnificent, but is indeed challenging for those with limited mobility. The Hotel is perched high above the river, on a steep site, which gives us unique and lovely views, and tranquility, and our website does make clear that it is not suitable for those with limited mobility ....

Fowey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a quiet Sunday evening we enjoyed an excellent dinner at The Cormorant. the starters were first-class - real mushroom soup was very good, and the quail dish was superb. We all had fish for the main course, all different and all equally enjoyed, and the raspberry semi-freddo and chocolate fondant rounded off a very good meal at a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your meal. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. It is appreciated, and even to kindly mention those that looked after you. I hope it would be equally good whomever was serving, and whatever you chose from the Menu. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Brighton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great time had by all. Location superb, views amazing and great food and really friendly staff Room was clean and homemade biscuits a great touch. Shame pool wasn't working but only fault I could find

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel. No issues in finding it once we read the straight forward directions from their website. Spacious car park. Met by the receptionist who was polite but this appeared to be false and an effort. Shown the room which was number 9. It was dated with old fashioned furniture, it was in need of some TLC and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bongobongo9
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely peaceful location overlooking river Fowey.We upgraded to a superior room with a balcony.Loved watching the sun come up from the balcony.Room was very small and tired with only a standard double.Cramped bathroom ,but everything you needed including large towels.Noisy fridge in bedroom with fresh milk.Excellent food in restaurant and good service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlielouisa
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a two night stay at this hotel last month and thoroughly enjoyed it. A good position to get to where we wanted to visit. The stunning view from our very comfortable standard room was amazing. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much. Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J_JDevon
Reviewed 19 February 2017

On arrival the receptionist advised that we had a room on the ground floor as I have difficulty walking as it was of best interest of myself and other guest incase of a fire and needed to get people out safely and quickly, we accepted, Rachel went to prepare the room. When entering the room it had an awful odour...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valerie O
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our food and found our staff helpful and courteous. We are very sorry to hear however that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and have investigated your comments. On your arrival your health needs were taken into consideration and it was decided with yourself that...

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We always spend Valentines in this area of Cornwall and this year we switched from nearby Fowey to Golant. The initial impression of the hotel, outside area and pathways was slightly off putting by appearing quite dated. When you step through the entrance though things do improve. The staff were very warm and welcoming helped with luggage etc and showed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We've stayed at The Cormorant before and thought it was excellent. So we were delighted to find out about the Murder Mystery evening on New Years Eve. We were an adult group - two adult children and one girlfriend and us so suiting us all was going to be difficult - but it wasn't. The seven course meal was fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet C
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this review

We are so very glad that you enjoyed our New Year offering, and thank you so much for troubling to take the time to write a review. Everybody did seem to enjoy both the food and the entertainment, and it is good to know that it actually did work well for your family gathering of different generations. It was fun...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This is a very difficult review to write as this hotel has good points and some less good. The good points are: location - this is excellent, on the river with extensive views; staff - they are very attentive and cannot do enough to help; restaurant - the food is good quality and tasty with a good breakfast selection. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heatherogburn

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golant
3.1 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,265 reviews
2.8 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
7.7 km away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,471 reviews
3.0 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
613 reviews
11.8 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel nestles on the hillside high above the magnificent Fowey River in Cornwall, close to the Eden Project. An independent luxury hotel set in a glorious location, and we pride ourselves on individual attention to all our guests. 14 guest rooms, all en-suite, all with exceptional river views, most with balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cormorant Hotel

Address: The Cormorant Hotel, Golant PL23 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Price Range: €120 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cormorant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Cormorant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant On The River Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cormorant Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Branscombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cormorant Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our standard room was a good choice and although over the restaurant, which was noisy for a while, it was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles J_JDevon, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely no good for disabled”
  • bath panel
  • bath panel
  • Curtain
  • Wet/damp wall
  • Mould, corner of room
  • Bath Mat
  • Bath Mat
  • Chair
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have great views and balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles 665triciah, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a balcony - just make sure you get one as even in winter the scenery is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles 471janetc, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All have excellent river views.”
 of 5 bubbles heatherogburn, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5