We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

John Francis Basset Hotel

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
J D Wetherspoon is proud to open the doors of this stunning new hotel. Here at The John Francis Basset, our 37 en suite rooms boast Freeview television, unlimited free Wi-Fi and digital temperature control. A warm and inviting pub forms part of the hotel, making The John Francis Basset a perfect stay for families, leisure or business. Camborne is best known as a centre for the former Cornish tin- and copper-mining industry, having its working heyday during the later 18th and early 19th century. Camborne was just a village, until transformed by the mining boom which began in the late 18th century and saw the Camborne and Redruth district become the richest mining area in the world. On Christmas Eve 1801, the Puffing Devil (a steam-powered road locomotive, built by Camborne engineer Richard Trevithick) made its way up Cornwall’s Camborne Hill. It was the world’s first self-propelled passenger-carrying vehicle. Within Camborne, Commercial Square has been pedestrianised, with trees planted and benches around the Victorian fountain – a popular local meeting place. Camborne is proud of its many independent retailers, where you can find wonderful local produce – pasties, fruit and vegetables, saffron cake and clotted cream, to name just a few. Camborne has a library and several museums, where you can discover a wealth of information about the town and the part it played in the industrial revolution.
Read more
Property amenities
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Location
Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
43Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
5Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
511Reviews
126Photos
12Q+A
46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 349
  • 139
  • 15
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This is Our 2nd Visit, Real Value for Money, Beds Linen, Comfy, Showers are Brilliant, lovly Large Room. Stayed in Several Wheatherspoons, never ever have we been Dissopointed. To be Honest always lovly Details and Well thought out Rooms, some can be quite Quirky. Stayed in a lot
Read more
Response from ManagerJFB, Manager at John Francis Basset Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Cheryl, thank you so much for your lovely and well detailed review. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that everything met up to your expectations. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
We have stayed in several Wetherspoons hotel. They never disappoint and this one didn't either. Beautiful room and so quiet seeing it was over the bar and a busy road adjacent. All the usual perks in the room and a bath. Very secure and 2 lifts. Lovely couldn't fault any of it.
Read more
Response from ManagerJFB, Manager at John Francis Basset Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Tracey, thank you so much for taking your time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and that both the hotel and the restaurant met your expectations. Apologies for the parking but so glad to hear that you found a nearby location to park. We hope you had fun exploring Cornwall and can't wait to welcome you back in the New year.
Read more
We unexpectly needed to visit some friends in Camborne checked out weatherspoons on the website and the price was brilliant and reviews good. Arrived at the hotel in the middle of the afternoon and checked into our room and what an amazing room. Absolutely spotless the bathroom
Read more
Response from ManagerJFB, Manager at John Francis Basset Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Roses, thank you so much for taking your time to write such a detailed and lovely review. We are so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that the hotel and the restaurant were up to standard. We apologise again about the meal that you had to have replaced but happy to hear the staff rectified that for you. Thank you again and we can't wait to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
Stayed at John Francis Bassett hotel in camborne for two nights while visiting relatives.
We have nothing but praise this hotel; the comfort, the cleanliness and facilities in the rooms were beyond our expectations. The staff are friendly and efficient and we loved that we could
Read more
Response from ManagerJFB, Manager at John Francis Basset Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2018
Hi E. Connor, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that it was beyond your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
Very easy to find but virtually no parking. Drive round back, you might find a spot but it is tight. If you can, you can unload your vehicle and bring luggage through the restaurant... much easier. Rooms wee very spacious, very clean and very comfortable beds. When booking be
Read more
Response from ManagerJFB, Manager at John Francis Basset Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2018
Hi Srmopiper, Thank you very much for your kind review. We do apologise for the inconvenience with parking, but yes unloading before parking is a great option. We do have a residential street near by or two 24 hour car parks which are in walking distance. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your bed, the cleanliness of our rooms and that the staff were able to help you throughout your stay. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementJohn Francis Basset Hotel
Standard Family Room
Photo provided by managementJohn Francis Basset Hotel
A family bedroom
Clean to perfection!
Spotless bathroom
Modern socket ,clean
Previous
1234568
Can anyone direct me to Where is the free street parking is? Ideally near the hotel?!
The nearest free car park is a bit of a walk away into the town, if you can get a space across the road outside Aldi that would be best, but ensure you look at the times of free parking restrictions. Otherwise down the side street by the church is sometimes parking on the road. The hotel is great it’s only the parking that was a bit of a let down
0 votes
Show all answers
Where is the best place for parking in a car park and not on a side street?
We have stayed there twice. Last year we parked in the road opposite (down the side of ALDI). This year we managed to park in the lay by opposite the hotel. Our window overlooked it.. my husband did get up and move it because of the restrictions on parking.
1 vote
Show all answers
Do the family rooms have windows in them?
Some of the family rooms have windows and some have just sky lights. If you let us know your preference then we can hopefully arrange for you to have one that matches your needs
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, a group of us are with you next weekend for the Classic Quarter event. Do you do porridge in a morning? Thanks. Debs x
Hi there, We do MOMA porridge on our menu and this can be served with fresh blueberries and brown sugar or honey and banana and is £2.35 a bowl or £2.85 and include a free drink of either any tea or coffee, standard juice or bottle of water. Hope this helps.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello Looking to book from 17-20 June. Does the nightly prices include a cooked breakfast? can you also tell me miles to St Ives & The Eden Project. Thank you WendySheen
Hi. Our rooms are room rate only and does not include breakfast. St.Ives is around 11 miles from the hotel and the Eden project is around 33 miles. Kind regards Sonya
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"They all look stunning"
"Room on ground floor"
"Parking difficult immediately around the hotel, until after 6pm. But there is a 24 hour car park, not far and quite cheap."
"Double glazed and Air Con,so no real noise problem"
"Some rooms seem well adapted for physically disabled users."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCamborne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing