We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2-4 Church Street, Newton Le Willows WA12 9SU England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/07/22
Booking.comUS$133
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$133
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (60)
Dining (20)
Room & Suite (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Newton Le Willows
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Newly refurbished hotel, bar and restaurant serving fresh home-made food. A great selection of local ales and draught lagers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
136Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 103
  • 18
  • 8
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Spencer wrote a review Jun 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom20 contributions43 helpful votes
My partner and I went for breakfast at the kirkfield it was a bad experience the guy that runs/owns it is horrible to his staff (who in the main are great ) the other problem was the food was soooooo bad we left most of it !!! Didn’t ask us if there was a problem with the food or apologise. We will not be going back !!! I don’t usually come on Tripadvisor and give a negative review but just had to warn people about this place ! Don’t go !! I would be very interested in your reply the guy that owns/ runs the kirkfield ???
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
I do get the distinct impression here you are simply writing searching for a reaction. Your intelligence doesn't go as far to see that it is you will be humiliated and not I. You've wrote your review to warn people about The Kirkfield. What a soldier! You state you don't come on Trip Advisor to leave a negative review; however 25% of your 20 contributions have been 1 out of 5. Yes, your just full of consideration for this industry! Let's deal with your first comment about the poor quality of breakfast. I will of course apologise if your breakfast did not meet our usual standards; however I would say an intelligent person and a person who cares about people and independent businesses would speak to one of my management team and offer some constructive feedback in order for us to improve where necessary. Your rather childish comment 'soooo bad' is both immature and rather unhelpful. Was it undercooked? Overcooked? Poor presentation? Poor quality etc. I have in the past offered my direct contact to guests who leave poor reviews so that they contact me directly with some more constructive feedback; however I do feel I would be wasting my breath! Now the second point and I feel the point you really were desperate to make about this horrible person! I'll give you a little background to begin with. In the current climate where running a business is extremely challenging and businesses are reducing headcount and freezing wage increases, The Kirkfield are in fact continually recruiting local people, we then pay these people 10-20% above minimum wage, we provide a uniform, we give every individual a contract of employment, we pay for training, we pay for our team to gain qualifications, we pay generous bonuses. Take some time out to see how many other small independent businesses are doing all these things. I can be a horrible person, absolutely. I am horrible to team members who don't care, who have the wrong attitude, who do not practice the traits that I hold dear such as courtesy, respect, teamwork, a can-do work ethic. I make no excuses about not being particularly nice to these type of employees because believe it or not Shirley I am running a businesses and unless you have failed to notice I am running a very successful businesses with a wonderful team and a staff retention figure over 75%. Just read through the reviews we receive that constantly boast about how good the team are and ask yourself one question. If the team are treated so badly why would they work so hard to make my businesses so successful? With regards Terence
Read more
Glen&Caroline wrote a review Jun 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
Night out with friends (7); decided to have something to eat, so sat down in Kirkfield lounge; had light bites & a few beers each (£109 bill); we weren't rowdy, but were told to stop laughing!! Pathetic! Won't be going back, & won't recommend. Should have a notice outside "yes, you can come in & give us your money, but don't laugh or enjoy yourself"
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
It appears this incident was a great deal memorable for you than anyone here at The Kirkfield. I have asked everyone who works here at the hotel if they can recall this incident and nobody recalls anything like this or maybe they recall it playing out somewhat differently. The majority of people who visit the Kirkfield enjoy the atmosphere that we have so worked so hard over the last 4 years to create. This atmosphere has been achieved by the team managing behaviour as we appreciate that after a people have enjoyed a few drinks the volume quite understandably will increase. We accept this however It is quite common here at The Kirkfield that we will kindly ask people to lower their volume if we feel that the noise gets to such a volume that it infringes on other guests and visitors who are at the hotel. It is highly unlikely that a member of the team wold have told you stop laughing. What is more likely is that they would have kindly asked you to lower your voices in consideration for other people who are trying simply relax and have a good time. It is called common courtesy.....definition "The showing of politeness in one's attitude and behaviour towards others" Try it Glen - it is unfortunately one of those traits that is not as common as it ought to be. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
Andy wrote a review May 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom15 contributions17 helpful votes
50th birthday meal - place is cracking, staff are young but great, polite and do that extra mile. Ballon’s, banners, cake all to help celebrate my birthday Food was hit and miss with some dishes in my party not as good as others, didn’t spoil the experience though - thanks
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 29 May 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to use here at The Kirkfield. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your overall experience with us; however somewhat disappointed that not all your party enjoyed the food. Unfortunately we don't get it right all the time, nobody does and I offer my sincere apologies to those members of the party who didn't enjoy their meal. What is especially pleasing about this review is that even though we din't get it right you still gave us a 5 star review. It is very difficult to manage a business such as this without making mistakes; however I firmly believe that if you employ the right team the majority of people will be be appreciative of your efforts. Good people have the ability to manage such situations, and we have a fantastic team that exceed my expectations every day. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards. Terence P Southward
Read more
louise t wrote a review May 2022
Lowton, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
About 4th time we've been, never fails to disappoint. Amazing food love the fact they change the menu regularly. Great drinks, large selection of gins and real ales. Lovely atmosphere, been mid week when its nice and quiet ideal to catch up and gossip with friends. Been weekends some nights live music but still able to chat. Alwayas feel comfortable. However what makes the Kirkfield stand out from all the rest and encourages us to go back is the wonderful customer service, every time we go. The waitresses are always polite, genuine, friendly and look like they enjoy their jobs. Poppy and Ella looked after us this time, never had an empty glass, great service thanks . X
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 19 May 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoy visiting the Kirkfield, and the one particular comment that was music to my ears was the main reason why you return and what sets us apart from our competitors. Hotels for me are all about people and great people have the ability to turn a good experience into a wonderful experience. Both Poppy and Ella are outstanding at what they do, and it is so rewarding to receive feedback such as this as it is always nice to hear that our guests and visitors appreciate their efforts. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
Ray C wrote a review Apr 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
We have just got home after a fantastic evening at the Kirkfield. We was a table of 7 and from the moment that we entered to leaving the staff was brilliant. The food was good quality and the service was superb. We will return very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to us here at The Kirkfield. I am delighted you enjoyed your evening and that the team looked after you so well. I sincerely hope this last visit will encourage you to return again in the future. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
Elizabeth B wrote a review Mar 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Me and my husband went on Friday night purposely to try the new menu. I am Vegan and was aware of the vegan options being introduced. We started with the mushroom and walnut pate which was absolutely fantastic and also the bruschetta. The great thing with the bruschetta was that rather than just removing the elements that I do not eat, such as the pancetta, they had made the effort to source a replacement. And I have to say that the vegan 'bacon' they have used is excellent and compliments the freshness of the avocado so well. My main course was the Rogan Josh which was packed full of lovely fresh vegetables and the naan bread that accompanied it was lovely and light. We were very well looked by the lovely Holly who is always smiling and welcoming and could not have done enough to ensure we enjoyed our meal. As always the atmosphere was great especially with the fantastic singer/guitar player they had. We had a wonderful night out and the only disappointment to the evening was that I was so full that I didn't get chance to try the biscoff dessert! I can't wait for my next visit to try more of the fantastic food. Thank you to Wendy and the rest of the team for giving the vegan options a go.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 10 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of your recent dinning experience with us here at The Kirkfield. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and absolutely delighted you enjoyed our new menu. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and next time try and make room for your dessert. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
Pauline Connor wrote a review Mar 2022
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
WOW WOW WOW! Incredible food and what service, Molly served us and she was an absolute delight! So happy and very attentive!! Well done Kirkfields and well done Molly! We WILL be back! Oh in fact we’ve booked to come again :-) they have live music on too! That was amazing!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 9 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. Molly has been with us now just over 2 years and she is an absolute joy to work with she has developed into one of my key team members. She manages the restaurant with ease and always with a smile on her face. A real asset to the business. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
The 3 Arches B&B wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions6 helpful votes
Spent three nights there recently and it was such a lovely place to be. Great room and wonderful to hear the church bells. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the friendly, caring staff, who provided a first class customer service throughout our stay - where nothing was too much for them. Clearly they enjoy working at the Kirkfield, as they were all so cheerful and happy. Had wonderful food -breakfast and dinner, all beautifully prepared and served. Excellent value for money and hope to get back there again one day soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review following your short stay with us here at The Kirkfield. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We honestly believe The Kirkfield is the ideal place to enjoy a short break, and it is the quality of the team that sets us apart from our competitors. I am so pleased that you mentioned the church bells as this is often mentioned a s a criticism; however like you I think this is a unique feature to your stay at The Kirkfield. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
David W wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We visited the Kirkfield on Saturday 19th Feb. First thing I look for are the real ales. As usual an excellent choice. My wife had an excellent glass of Merlot. The starters and main courses were excellent with ample portions and piping hot mains. There were a few new staff members but I have to say that they offered excellent service and were obviously well coached.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your evening meal here at The Kirkfield. We are very passionate of our ales and we are very proud to say that all 5 ales we have on are from local breweries. i am delighted you enjoyed your meal and i look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
steph g wrote a review Feb 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Had an absolutely amazing meal. We both had squid for starters. My friend had the chicken pasta dish off the specials and I had the steak which was cooked to perfection, medium rare! We also had my friends 2 year old with us, the girls that worked there were so plight and friendly, one came straight over with actively pack for the little girl. Our drinks came within 10mins of being there and our order was taking. 💯 can not fault the service and definitely would say the chef needs a pat on the back for how good the food was . I will definitely back again when I visit my friend again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terence Paul Southward, Owner at The Kirkfield Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2022
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to us here at The Kirkfield. I am delighted you had such a wonderful experience. I will of course share your feedback with our team and we very much look forward top welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Terence
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Kirkfield
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideNewton Le Willows
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kirkfield Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kirkfield Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Firkin (0.2 km), The Balcony Late Lounge (0.2 km), and St. Peter's Church (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kirkfield Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Kirkfield Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Kirkfield Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Verona Kitchen & Bar, Goya Thai Bistro, and Amans.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kirkfield Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cromwell Plaque (7.6 km).
Is The Kirkfield Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.