We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Mercure
US$92
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (252)
Room & Suite (113)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Haydock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
789Reviews37Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 459
  • 131
  • 85
  • 51
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
HannahMadani wrote a review Jun 2022
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Last weekend I stayed at this hotel as part of my sisters bridal party. We chose this hotel as it was close by to where she was getting married. My sister booked 7 separate rooms for us all, a suite for herself and 6 standard rooms for the rest of the party. The suite was amazing, very spacious, nice sized sitting area, large bedroom and bathroom. It was the perfect space for a bridal party to get ready in. All other rooms were a great size too, the beds we’re comfortable and had everything you needed for a one or two night stay. The standard rooms however are slightly dated, for example I did notice a few stains on the carpets, the bathroom grouting was slightly grubby and the windows in the rooms where hard to open and hard to get them to stay open. But overall this wasn’t an issue and wouldn’t prevent me from staying here again. The breakfast was nice with a good selection of pastries, cereals, fruit, full English etc. But my main reason for writing my review is for the 2 lovely ladies on the reception desk, Sarah and Michelle, who were both VERY helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them! When checking into the hotel, we had a lot of bags, and somehow the filter off my hairdryer had fell off unbeknown to me, until later when I came to dry my sisters hair I realised it was nowhere to be seen. I went down to reception and asked Michelle if anyone had perhaps handed it in and thankfully she had found it herself but threw it in the bin as she didn’t realise what it had come off. But thankfully she went through the bin and got it out for me, as I said previously nothing was too much trouble and I was able to use my hairdryer again to dry my sisters hair and get her ready for her wedding 😅 so a big thank you to Michelle and Sarah for making our stay a great one! I didn’t get the man’s name who worked behind the bar but he was also very polite and helpful. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and getting ready for my sisters wedding at this hotel and would recommend the suites there especially for bridal parties etc. Thank you and see you again in the future 🙂
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sarah D wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Michelle at reception was incredible to both me and my 12 ye old son The many staff on the bar were just superb … kind ,caring compassionate what a breath of fresh air I’m blown away My sons Dad died NYD this year so I had to bring him with me Beyond touched at the kindness and care of all the staff we came across They all couldn’t do enough to make us feel welcome and safe These staff need proper recognition of their obvious skills and personal interest in making guests comfortable 🙏🥰🌈
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Always be kind
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 18 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the five star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
William wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions
Hotel is great. Great use off facilities gym and swimming pool very clean and large rooms for the price. I would also like to say the reception staff Michelle and Emily were amazing very approachable and friendly very well mannered from start to finish. Their knowledge is impeccable and went above and beyond to make my stay very pleasant. They were amazing. The bar staff also my stay was great. I WOULD SOOO RECOMMEND. I will be back for sure. Thanks again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the five star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
Matthew L wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
My partner and I recently attended a wedding in the marquee and we had a great time. Our room was spacious, the food was lovely, we had a really good stay. But what stood out to me was the waitress Sian. Whilst we were about to tuck into our starter she came and offered to rock our new born in her pram so I could enjoy my food. We have been to several functions and no one has ever offered to do that. She was so lovely, explained that she was DBS checked and just took out little one for a little walk so we could enjoy our meal, and actually let us feel like ourselves again rather than just Mum and Dad. It was really refreshing for someone to pay that much attention to detail. We had a great night and Sian came and had a dance with our kids and just generally looked after all the guest so she’s a credit. We all had a great night
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the five star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
Deana wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
We recently attended a wedding and from start to finish it was fabulous. Sian was waiting on our table and she couldn't do enough for us all. Table service, playing with the children,getting everyone dancing at night, she was a joy to be around and really got the atmosphere going. We didn't stay over as we live local,but the hotel seemed great
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the five star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
handif wrote a review Jun 2022
Burnley, United Kingdom271 contributions235 helpful votes
Overnight with work colleagues. We were all in suites, but they’re not exciting. The bathroom was disgusting. There was moss on the bath panel, black mouldy shower head, broken floor tiles …worst of all a very slow draining basin with a revolting unclean waste. Stained carpets and holes in the curtains. Amazingly, the bed was comfy and I slept well. The food was poor for dinner and breakfast was an ok buffet. The conference room was musty. This place needs real investment and a deep clean.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am sorry to hear the experience wasn't the normal quality we provide and I would ever so grateful if you could reach out to me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com with the issues you had during your stay. This would allow me to investigate them fully and ensure things are put right for future guests. Once again please accept my apologies and I hope we are able to rebuild your confidence in the future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
Natalie D wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
Lovley friendly staff in the leisure facilities we had a lovley relaxing swim used the steam room and jacuzzi so relaxed after it staff gave us info on becoming members After we went to the bar were we met the lovley michelle who bent over backwards to make sure we was sat were we was cool and comfy and even opened the window for us and gave us water as it was a warm day today .michelle made sure my parner michelle had nothing with nuts and or nothing was comtaminated she was washing and geling her hands she was so friendly helpfull and accommodating and made us feel so welcome and relaxed
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the five star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
Laura B wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Nice facilities - swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Saunas are single sex though in changing rooms so couldn't go in together. Service was great. Kylie was our waitress both nights. Very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the five star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
Joe S wrote a review Jun 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom1 contribution
I am writing this review on behalf of my mum and Nan who came to mercure haydock hotel for afternoon tea which myself and my partner had organised as a replacement Xmas gift. They both absolutely loved their afternoon, when I spoken to them they had mentioned that the staff were absolutely lovely and friendly, my Nan went as far to say it was an 11 out of 10 😂 they also mentioned the atmosphere was amazing, even with a wedding on in the lounge. As they were leaving they didn’t realise they needed a code to get out of the car park so when they returned there was a queue at reception but a member of staff helped them by getting the code so they could be on their way.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the five star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
John G wrote a review Jun 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Very pleasant welcome at check in and a spacious, clean, comfortable room. The hair dryer was missing but was quickly replaced when reported to the staff. One small niggle was the fact that the two bedside lights could not be operated independently. Very pleasant bar area for an evening drink. A perfectly acceptable place for our overnight stop.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Register your car number on arrival and remember to get the exit code for the barrier.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Hayes, Owner at Mercure Haydock Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Haydock. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the four star rating! Your kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. To book your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly on steven.hayes@accor.com, I would be happy to assist you with your booking personally. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thistle haydock hotel haydock, thistle hotel haydock, haydock thistle hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideHaydock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Haydock Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wigan Central (7.8 km), The World of Glass (6.9 km), and Pennington Flash Country Park (6.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Perola Do Mar, The Black Pepper, and Miller and Carter Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Haydock Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Haydock Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trencherfield Mill (7.6 km) and Windleshaw Chantry (7.7 km).
Is Mercure Haydock Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.