We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Streatley

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Streatley
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Streatley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I can't rate this hotel high enough! The location of this hotel is superb, located next to the River Thames which lends itself to great views whilst dining in the restaurant. The room itself was clean, tidy and for a single room was adequate in size. The hotel was relatively quiet whilst we were there (which was great for me)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thank you so much for your great review, I will make sure to share with all of the teams here. The burger is fantastic and a winner for many...especially with such great views to enjoy as well, rain or sunshine! Hoping to see you again soon. Best Regards, Michael

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

If you're thinking of booking Christmas dinner for a group of friends, and any member of your party is vegetarian, avoid The Swan. We have been offered a menu containing only one vegetarian option - ravioli. We tried to discuss this with the management, and were told that we would need to speak to the chef, and he would call...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robin P
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Robin, We have clearly failed in the basics here with your request, many apologies and I am really not sure what happened. I have just taken over as General Manager and would appreciate if we can discuss this over a coffee and sort it. It really is not an issue to have an extra option for vegetarians, its what...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We used the Swan for a big family event and it was a great venue. The function rooms worked brilliantly as a space, with lots of room to move about and doors opening onto the garden and the river view. The catering was very well organised and the flow to and from the food and drink stations worked extremely well....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sadie W
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Sadie, Thank you so much for your fantastic review, I will make sure the teams know its much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Michael Westenbrink

Reviewed 27 October 2015

i booked a special part of the restaurant for a birthday lunch-we had an excellent and diligent service-the sunday roasts were absolutely delicious (and with large portions) great location and at the end a very happy birthday lunch for all the family thank you to the team

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean marc g
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear Jean, Thank you very much for your fantastic review, much appreciated and I will pass onto the teams here at The Swan. Hoping to see you again soon. Best Regards, Michael Westenbrink

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Great venue, food was good BUT the service was lacking, Order for lunch was taken promptly, but it took some 20 minutes to arrive (no starter ordered), our mistake we did not order the wine until the food had arrived. A further wait,15-20 minutes. When the food was served we asked for extra graveyard and some horseradish + mustard. Slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taskman1894
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer, My apologies for poor experience you and your family had on Sunday, we had some issues and unfortunately didn't get it right with some of the tables. We are working hard to fix these issues so I do hope you will give us another go but appreciate it may be some time before we see you again....

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Well it all went a bit wrong really. Wanted to give a second star out of politeness, but I just can't do. Stayed here on the 2th Oct I believe. Initially had booked a different type of room but called during the day and was given a room with a terrace, downstairs. I forget what the package was called. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrew G
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Not a great review seems an understatement...we clearly failed rather badly here and I am really sorry about that. I need to get into the detail to understand why this has happened, it would be really appreciated if you can contact me direct? michael@theswanatstreatley.com I hope to hear from you, Michael Westenbrink

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

.... But a time warp of a room! The room itself was lovely and clean - but old fashioned. Its Windows overlooked the river and gardens... The only problem is depending on the event at the hotel, it can be quite noisy! It's a nice place to stay, but a tad over priced for what you get! The breakfast on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thanks very much for your review, the hotel is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment program and rest assured it will be fantastic once all finished. Glad you enjoyed breakfast, its really good! Hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Michael Westenbrink

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We stayed before and after a wedding which we were thoroughly looking forward to. On arrival the hotel looked beautiful, set on The Thames it is the perfect setting for a wedding. Supposedly a 4* hotel, our room wasn't. Very disappointing considering we had made the booking months before and had asked for an up-graded room. The floorboards creaked like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wilb2012
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi both, It was a real pleasure to meet you and my apologies once again for the experience you had. We clearly had some issues, it appears to be a transformation that makes the annoying noise. We are fixing it. I do hope we will see you again soon, the hotel is undergoing extensive refurbishments and trust me it will...

UK
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We stayed 3 nights. The entrance and some other parts of the hotel were dismal and scruffy. We had a lovely room over looking the river, could not have had a better view. Our bathroom was in need of updating. Had dinner each night in the hotel. The menu remained the same. The food was very good and well presented....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirewoman
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer, Thank you so much for you review, fully appreciate your comments regarding the older parts but hopefully you would have seen we are having major refurbishment works done at the moment so keep an eye on our website.... Pleased to hear you had some great dinners in our restaurant, great views....! Hope to see you again soon....

Fishguard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

We booked a two night Autumn special break and we thoroughly enjoyed every bit of our stay. First comment must go to the staff who were top drawer- from Reception to Bar to Restaurant at all times of day - all friendly and efficient. The first night saw us in one of the older rooms which yes is due and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simmo54

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
16.9 km away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
327 reviews
5.9 km away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
326 reviews
32.9 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
73 reviews
19.7 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,579 reviews
5.6 km away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has 21 newly renovated bedrooms, as well as a new bar & terrace and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is available on a room only basis in the beautifully designed and stylish rooms and guests can purchase coffee, pastries, light refreshments and drinks onsite at the bar & terrace and have breakfast, lunch or dinner in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: €76 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for river view”
 of 5 bubbles lorraineb881, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms looking out to the river thames are a little bit more but worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles NickC253, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River Suites have every you need, and the best view!”
 of 5 bubbles Q6227YPhelenr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room overlooking the river would be gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles pops272, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles 864genevieves, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5