We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South

Save
Share
271 Wellington Road North Heaton Chapel, Stockport SK4 5BP England
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#11 of 13 hotels in Stockport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Heaton Chapel lodge offers quality budget accommodation right on the doorstep of Stockport and Manchester. It's a good base for visits to Manchester Conference Centre, or if you simply want to make the most of this vibrant part of the country. There's so much to do in the area, you'll be spoilt for choice. Stockport is blessed with some real hidden gems, including the stunning medieval Bramall Hall, the beautifully preserved tunnels of the Stockport air-raid shelters and the intriguing Hat Museum. Manchester needs little introduction, as it's famous for its prolific music scene, buzzing nightlife, world class shopping and two celebrated football teams. Further afield you can visit Cheadle, the scenic Cheshire Plain and the sweeping hills of the Peak District. All of these attractions are within striking distance, but you'll find great food just next door at Toby Carvery. So if you're a fan of freshly roasted joints and seasonal vegetables, you're in for a treat.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
221Reviews2Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 86
  • 48
  • 22
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mrsjburke wrote a review Sep 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom101 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
I booked here for a date night with the hubby. It looked lovely on the photos so we were really looking forward to it. I booked a family room which was very spacious with massive bay sash windows which were lovely. But only one opened and only about 3 inches but thankfully there was a fan in the wardrobe. The bed was nice and firm with lovely soft, which linen but the hollow fibre pillows were ridiculously lumpy, thankfully I brought my own pillow. The room was generally clean expect for a little dust on the bedside lamps and a splash mark on the wall. The shower was disappointing because it had black mould growing in the corners and on the grout. The shower curtain also had a bit of mould and was old and discoloured. The shower tray also had what look like urine in it, we were unsure but the next morning after it had dried it definitely looked like dried urine. I’ve stayed in worse places but then I’ve also stayed in worse. The staff were very nice and professional even in the face of COVID restrictions, one of which was you couldn’t have a drink in the bar. You had to be eating. That makes no sense with regards to Covid because the virus doesn’t discriminate between people who are eating or drinking so I can only assume it is to get you to spend more money. Which you will do especially if you have a steak as the prices are astronomical! I’ve never been anywhere that charges over £50 for a steak!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South
Responded 14 Sep 2020
Hello Mrsjburke, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your visit. Unfortunately we were due to have a refurb of the hotel a week after lockdown so we are aware that the hotel is outdated however we are not sure when this will be rearranged for - we do apologise that you did not find the room to be clean however and we will let the housekeepers know so we can ensure this does not happen again. Unfortunately at the moment we are very restricted in our business due to COVID henceforth we are solely a restaurant that operates mainly on bookings. This is to ensure the safety of our guests - we can book you a table in just for drinks if you are staying in the hotel however this is dependant on availability and we have been extremely busy since re-opening. We apologise if this was not communicated properly - we are also lucky that we are based in such a great location and that there are many great quality bars and restaurants near us that we can direct you to if we do not have space at the time of your visit. If you have any further comments please do get in touch with us. Thanks again for your review and we hope to improve on your impression next time you visit us. Take care!
Read more
Annietd wrote a review Jul 2020
Greater Perth, Australia7 contributions4 helpful votes
The manager here has NO idea how to talk to customers. Shockingly rude! During a weeks stay to which we had added a night on at the end we received a late night phone call 10pm and then a summons’s while we were out enjoying our last evening, as apparently payment hadn’t been taken for our last nights stay although they had our credit card info with our booking, and we’re asked to return straight away to pay! I offered to pay over the phone but this was refused. Once we arrived back at the hotel at 10.30, the manager Dan, was not at all apologetic but extremely rude! Relatively small second point... although this stay is after lockdown and pubs and restaurants are open, our paid for breakfast was a single croissant In a bag and a coffee. Apparently they are unable to get supply’s for breakfast or for the drinks in your rooms, no tea making facilities because they don’t have milk portions!!!! I said I don’t take milk but they refused to supply this basic requirement of tea or coffee in the room, as I said, this stay was after lockdown at the end of July 2020. We stayed 8 nights had 3 rooms, and were all very dissatisfied and disappointed, shocking service. Be warned.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South
Responded 18 Jul 2020
Hi Annietd, we regret to hear of your experiences with us however we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Please be aware that I have conversed with the manager in question and investigated the situation further. We are sorry your evening was interrupted and it was not our intention to do so, the duty manager was simply trying to contact you to confirm that you were re-checking in as the other members of your party had already done so. For this we are not able to take payment over the phone, or with credit card details from your previous bookings, you need to be present to do so. After speaking to the duty manager it was became apparent that your manner was also rude, and that you swore directly at him. We do not tolerate this behaviour and we are aware that you knew you had been rude as you returned to apologise later on. We are sorry if this encounter deterred from your visit however you had no other complaints throughout your stay. If you had felt anything else was wrong, you could have approached us with it and we would have sorted it as best we could. In regards to the hot drinks and breakfast - at the time of your visit we were still waiting on some deliveries from our suppliers concerning milk sachets and breakfast supplies, as well as the equipment to properly sanitize the tea and coffee facilities that would be placed in the room. As i'm sure you can appreciate, we were told that we were reopening with very short notice, so with it being our first week back some procedures and facilities were not quite as we would prefer them to be. However with the government guidelines in place, it is the safest option for the team and the guests. Instead of the facilities being in the room, we notified you that we were readily serving hotel guests tea and coffee from the bar upon request. While it may not have been ideal, we were attempting to rectify the situation in the safest way we saw fit. Our breakfast has been changed to a takeaway breakfast bag which contains a muffin, fruit, alpine bar and water as well as takeaway tea and coffee also - there were croissants served only on the days we had sold out of muffins. We understand this is not the continental breakfast we'd prefer to serve but it is safer for our breakfast host and guests as it is minimal contact. As i'm sure you can appreciate, in these current times, deliveries are delayed and things are uncertain - we are sorry this hindered your stay but you can be assured that once it is safe to do so, hot drink facilities will be placed back in the hotel rooms. If you have any further concerns please don't hesitate to email us at heaton@millerandcarter.co.uk. Many thanks, Inn Keeper's Lodge Heaton Chapel
Read more
Wilmer’s wrote a review Feb 2020
Chorley, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
My room 206, which I expect was at some point internally joined to 205, was ok. However, as I went to lock the door from the inside using my room key or possibly a twist lock, which I am sure most readers will agree, is perfectly normal before you retire or shower. I discovered no key hole or lock was there..strange I thought? It did have a hasp catch (similar to an internal security chain) that enabled the door to be secured to a point, but if someone opened the door from the outside either inadvertently or not, it would still open approx 2inches before the catch prevented it opening any further, then with minimal force form a possible intruder, would open fully. This obviously made for a very uncomfortable stay! Not feeling safe is not a pleasurable experience. It is possible that a lone female may find this experience particularly distressing. Also the accommodation is extremely noisy. I have a feeling that maximising occupancy has been the primary business factor here not guest comfort. The partition to room 205, that I assume at some point was an adjoining door, had a sizeable gap underneath which I eventually blocked towels in an attempt to muffle the noise! On check out, I mentioned the lack of security, I was told by a woman who identified her self to be the manager, that “none of the rooms have locks!!!” I have to say, that I personally have never stayed in a hotel that didn’t have an actual lock on the bedroom door..have you? Sorry but that’s just weird!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Hi Peter, Thank you for your email. We appreciate your concern regarding the safety of our Inn Keepers Lodge rooms however all of our rooms are only openable from the outside using as key. Therefore, nobody other than yourself would be able to enter your room after you have entered with the key and shut the door. Once you have shut the door the room is completely secure. These catches are in place for our residents only when opening the door from the inside. Regarding the noise from next door’s room, unfortunately we are situated in a listed building so there will be some creaks and noise. In the next month, we are closing the lodge for refurbishment so we will be modernising and improving the accommodation. We apologise if you were disturbed by any noise. Hopefully the next time you stay with us you will have a better experience.
Read more
Dan McLoughlin wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom283 contributions72 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights when visiting friends in the area. Room was basic but clean. The hotel is attached to a Miller & Carter steakhouse and if arriving by cab, it’s better to give that name than Innkeeper’s Lodge to the driver. Check in/check out seemed a bit more laborious than it should do. Walls between rooms/corridors not great, could hear some revellers coming back late making a lot of noise. Handy location on main road and near train station to get into Manchester.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Miller & Carter Heaton Chapel. We are working towards making the check-in service easier for our guests. Upon checking out all that is needed is to leave the key behind, apologies if this could be clearer and we will address that for the future too. Hopefully, your next stay with us is much more of a 5* experience! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up.
Read more
GusCraig wrote a review Jan 2020
Stockport, United Kingdom401 contributions146 helpful votes
Booked in at Miller and carter for their new years eve meal deal, and decided to stay over. Check in was fairly straight forward although the staff member seemed to rush through things a little. Room was fairly basic and a little tired, stairs upto 2nd floor were fairly narrow and steep. Limited continental breakfast in the morning
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Guscraig, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
innkeeper`s lodge stockport hotel stockport
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterStockport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South
Which popular attractions are close to Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South?
Nearby attractions include The Savoy Cinema (1.1 km), The Heatons Comedy Evening (1.1 km), and The Magnet Freehouse (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Easy Fish Co Heaton Moor, Delhi House Cafe, and Casa De Moor.
Are there any historical sites close to Innkeeper's Lodge Manchester South?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Clayton Hall Living History Museum (6.5 km), Staircase House (2.0 km), and Stockport Air Raid Shelters (2.0 km).