We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Victoria Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Victoria Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 432: English reviews
lytham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here as we were going to a gig in Manchester and the prices closer by were far to high. A taxi to deansgate was £12 there and coming back the fare was £16. The staff were lovely and friendly. The place very clean and tidy. The bed wasn't great and the pressure from the shower was terrible. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackpoolmanLytham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend whilst visiting friends in Manchester. We had a double room on the first floor, very clean & tidy. Breakfast was served in the Restaurant, self service for toast cereals & tea & coffee. Staff then took orders for cooked breakfast, full English or choice of omelette or other combinations of your choice. The restaurant is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bejay G
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Victoria Hotel Manchester by Compass Hospitality. I am thrilled to learn that you had a fantastic time on the first night at the hotel and enjoyed all aspects of your stay, however I’m very sorry for the noise and the disturbance from the bedroom next door on the second night. Please accept my sincere apology... More 

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We did enjoy our stay, the hotel itself was lovely, the staff friendly, well presented. The room was clean and well presented. The only things I noticed is that the base of the bed could do with being replaced as it was sunken and quite uncomfortable, the toilet did not flush properly very difficult to flush. The lamp shade was... More 

Helpful?
Thank andypier
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent at the Victoria Manchester by Compass Hospitality. It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in general with us, and that you found the staff friendly,... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you like rude staff long queues then this is the place to go ! Was part of a wedding reception and despite the member of staff serving 4 people before me after I had arrived when I questioned this was told "shut up I'm busy". The bedding was dirty and had hair in it and what looked like to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stewart W
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steward, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Victoria hotel by Compass Hospitality. I’m sadden to read your comment about our member of staff! Would you please contact me directly on gm@thevictoriamanchester.com to discuss this further? I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Moez Romdhani General... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently booked a private room at the Victoria for a family funeral and although it was a very sad occasion for us we were very pleased with the way everything went on the day. The room was prepared and styled very nicely, we had flowers delivered for the tables, which the staff took care of, we had a private... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate H
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate, What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that our team looked after you in this sad occasion. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Victoria Hotel by Compass Hospitality for better occasion. Kind Regards, Moez Romdhani... More 

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived for a 6pm booking, seated immediately by very friendly staff and drink orders taken. Pate and braised beef fabulous, unfortunately they had run out of turkey. Veg tasted fresh and massive yorkshire puddings. A seperate jug of gravy would have been nice. Love the tropical fish tank. A positive experience.

Helpful?
Thank Angela O
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for your most recent Sunday Lunch experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and that you found the staff very friendly and efficient. We will act upon the comments you have mentioned. I hope to welcome you back again soon in our property. Kind... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You will see a lot of reviews on here complaining about noise from functions, and problems with temperature/customer service - note that all the hotel's replies say they will talk to their team and ensure people have a quieter stay 'next time'. This is clearly rubbish, as the complaints keep coming, and who's going to risk another sleepless night to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie R
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your most recent stay at the Victoria Manchester by compass Hospitality. On the other hand, I was concerned to read that you didn't have a good night's sleep. I sincerely apologise. I can assure that I will take the necessary steps to avoid occurrence of further negative experiences from... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived very tired after a delayed 7 hour drive. Sarah in reception welcomed us with a big smile and very kindly upgraded us up to a lovely suite which made the long journey worth while. The room was large with lovely decor and a great bathroom. On the spot we decided to stay an extra night. The rest of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank daz s
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments onto the website following your recent stay at the Victoria Manchester by compass hospitality. I am thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at the hotel. In addition, it is great to hear that you found the staff to be both friendly and helpful during... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do NOT stay in room 369! Worst room I have stayed in over the past 20 years! We requested a quiet room on booking and reiterated this on checking in. This room is adjacent to a door that access's the rooms on this floor, it has a auto close mechanism that slams the door each (and every time). We asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your most recent stay at the at the Victoria Manchester by compass hospitality. I am very sorry that you did not have a positive visit and the room you stayed in was not to your liking. Unfortunately, the hotel was full that night, hence my colleagues at the reception... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately our first room wasn't up to standard but we changed to another room which was ok. The bathroom in our room was very "neat" but functional. The breakfast was very nice. The staff are very nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank 1955_13
Moez R, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your most recent stay at the Victoria Manchester by Compass Hospitality. I am very happy to read these nice comments about the breakfast, the room and the staff. rest assured I will be passing your comments to our team. I hope to welcome you back in our property in... More 

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oldham hotels
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
2.5 km away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
11.0 km away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
236 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Oldham
Travelodge Oldham
#8 of 12 in Oldham
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated only 5 miles away from both Manchester City Centre and the beautiful surroundings of the Yorkshire Countryside, The Victoria Hotel in Chadderton is your home away from home. Along with the scenic setting, multifaceted outlets and extensive investment plans in order to bring back the 1800 Victorian style neglected by previous owners, our aim is to become not only a hotel everyone returns to, but a local landmark as well. We offer 67 bedrooms including 28 club rooms, an exquisite function room that perfectly blends Victorian and modern styles, a relaxing restaurant and lounge bar, a stunning terrace and landscaped garden perfect for saying "I do", and a large parking with space for 110 cars. All of this enables us to serve your each and every need, whether you are coming for an idyllic weekend with your loved one, a family reunion, or hosting an event for up to 200 people. Moreover, we are located just off the M60 motorway, a link road to many Manchester attractions including Manchester Airport, The Trafford Centre, Media City, Old Trafford Football Ground and many more. The Victoria Hotel also acts as a Training Academy for focused and ambitious young individuals seeking an apprenticeship in various areas of Hospitality and Catering Industry. The apprentices are trained on site to an elite standard as we aim to help improve the service in the local community, as well as support the local economy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Hollinwood Avenue | Chadderton, Oldham OL9 8DE, England (Formerly Bower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Price Range: €47 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower Hotel Oldham
The Victoria Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Victoria Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Victoria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“148 bad for noise”
 of 5 bubbles M7883KOkatier, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are large and comfortable with great bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles 727dazs, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room at the back of the Hotel and make sure you get confirmation in writing.”
 of 5 bubbles U6305CMrobertp, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in rooms 149 or 150”
 of 5 bubbles 68sf, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the extension seem better. Rooms in the main hotel can suffer with noise from the kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles Gr0mitp0et, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay