We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Hotel

Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good46%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“old building”(30 reviews)
“top floor”(32 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
149
197
63
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
149
197
63
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswetherspoons hotelold buildingtop floorsingle roomcar parktypical wetherspoonshigh streetfirst floorbottled wateruneven floorsno liftcomfortable bedthe riverlovely townlovely roomsunday nightironing board
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Efficient and friendly staff, extensive choice of food and drink at good prices, perfectly adequate single room for sleeping but no desk or chair so not suitable for working in. I was specially impressed at the speed and quality of the service in the bar/restaurant...More

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank olddozen
Response from Joe D, Manager at George HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you contact us at the time of booking we do have some rooms with desks in, that may be more suited to your needs. Regards

Reviewed 26 February 2018

This really reviews the hotel side and not the bar. A very good stay, comfortable and all at a very good price. The breakfast is a normal Wetherspoons affair based on quantity of reasonable food at a very good price.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank iancoventry_11
Response from Joe D, Manager at George HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully you will stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Joe

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 days, Cheap and cheerful hotel with a friendly and welcoming staff group. The room was nice but small, well it is in a very old building so not easily adapted because of planning laws. Great shower room though. The pub was nice and...More

Thank dusty m
Response from Joe D, Manager at George HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Regards

Reviewed 11 February 2018

The staff (apart from Conor) were wonderful. The room was snug otherwise known as small. I am just over 5 foot tall and I had to duck and bend all round the room as the ceiling and door frames were so low. The slopes and...More

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
1  Thank KarenAlcock16
Response from Joe D, Manager at George HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the building is listed, so a lot of the original door frames can be quite small. In regard to the staff issues, if you could provide further information about why he fell short of wonderful and email that to...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Stayed for two nights. Reception staff very efficient and friendly. Room very clean and functional. Large bathroom. The only negative for me was bed had very firm mattress not the best nights sleep. Weathersppons attached to hotel was very good again staff very friendly and...More

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank V2215GVjanw
Response from Joe D, Manager at George HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are reviewing the firmness of our mattress's and your feedback has helped with that. Regards Joe

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$61 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$61 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nicholas T
11 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mark151066 | Reviewed this property |
I parked in the council car park to the rear and I paid on the pay and display meters
0
Votes
kerry a
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from exess60 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, excellent parking, convenient safe and free! I managed to find a space every evening around 5 p.m. Could fill up later on though. Enjoy.
1
Vote
karen4merls
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Joe D | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately only guide dogs are allowed in our hotel. Please let me know if I can help with anything else Many Thanks
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We had the only good disabled-friendly room"
Read review
"Top rooms no even floors and small doors didn't see a lift"
Read review
"Don't book 303 if you are very tall or just remember to duck at the entrance! Inside is fine. Street..."
Read review
"The deluxe room is delightful, with its own entrance, hallway & seperate walk in bathroom"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing