We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crown Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Just had to leave the crown Inn, due to the room not being anything like what was advertised. After I said I wasn't happy it didn't have a bath I was escorted out of the hotel by a fouled mouthed manager who stood by the door whilst we shoved out things in a bag to leave. I have never been...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank thomas p
Pamela R, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Your review misrepresents the events & omits important details: - you booked our twin room for one person with dog; - the booking specified "single bed" - the room is advertised twin (2 single beds) with shower; - you paid & were escorted to your room with your partner; - a short time later you approached the owner in the...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I read all the reviews before booking and decided the place could not possibly be as bad as some have portrayed. There was mention of the owners having only recently taken it over so I was keen to support them. Unfortunately, it’s definitely on the grim side and the reviews don’t appear to be full of exaggeration. Although we booked...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Pints
Pamela R, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You conclude by stating that you have not exaggerated or written anything inaccurate – but this is exactly what you have done - as demonstrated below: Breakfast: you indicated on the menu selection form that you did not want eggs, beans, tomatoes or mushrooms. You had choice of 9 cereals, fruits (apple, kiwi, plum, nectarine,...

Naas, Ireland
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Myself & my friend stayed for weekend on arrival we were promptly checked in & showed to our rooms. Both rooms were spotless couldn't find any fault our rooms even had bottled water which we thought was brilliant. The breakfast each morning was served fresh & enjoyed by us both. We got chatting to the owner in the bar on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cbehan19
Pamela R, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we really appreciate your positive review. Pamela (owner) enjoyed your company and reminiscing about her visits to Ireland when her husband worked in Kilkenny. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Pam was a excellent hostess. As straight as you come. She admitted to having a few problems in the past with unsavory customers who are obviously the ones who have left bad reviews. We would definitely stay here again loved her.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisajanechance1972
Pamela R, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. As you say - Pamela is very straight - but this upsets some people for various reasons. Looking forward to your next visit - hopefully Pamela will be able to offer you a traditional African meal (if this appeals to you?).

Sowerby Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

we were two couples booked for an overnight stay in Hebden Bridge. On our arrival the young guy who checked us in was very polite and helpful. He explained all the necessary information needed then showed us to our rooms. Here's where is all started to go a bit awry. Our room was clearly a single room but a put...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Shirley B
Pamela R, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We're very sorry you felt the need to post such a long and damaging review, but we have to respond to clarify: - there was no double room available (bank holiday weekend, all other rooms booked) – you booked the only remaining (single) room and we installed a second bed to accommodate 2 people; Considering your other comments: - you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I was told when I booked my room I could check in at 11am as I was staying for my brothers wedding and had to get ready for 12pm, bearing in mind I had a 4 and 8 year old with me and my partner and I was pregnant. We arrived and told our room was not ready and was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank najski82
Pamela R, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

There was a small problem with water ingress - as we refunded you 100% we're surprised at your very distorted review - which contravenes moral and legal standards. The facts are: - you booked the room from 14:00 - you asked if you could check in early (11:00) - we told you this would depend on the previous occupants' departure...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Lovely and clean place. Room very comfy and clean. Landlady very friendly. Breakfast was nice. Close to centre of Hebden Bridge so only 2 min walk to pubs and restaurants etc. Nice big double shower in the room with the round bed :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 666nat
Pamela R, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed staying with us, hope to see you again!

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We stayed here for one night during August 2016. Having read previous reviews we had some concerns. These proved to be totally unwarranted. The Inn was welcoming and clean. We stayed in the 'Chill' room which had all the necessary facilities. The room was clean and well equipped. The bathroom was fine and the shower nice and hot. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank santa2012
Pamela R, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review.We do have hairdryers in each room - in the bedside drawers - very sorry if yours was missing. Hope to see you again!

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

stayed one night off the cuff,so glad room was great ,staff and Pamela hotel host made you feel at home ,breakfast was excellent, room as it showed online for a change thanks for a great night will be back chris and leanne

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank worked2death
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Really glad you enjoyed your stay - looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Great location for our overnight stay having taken a last minute booking. Staff friendly and obliging. Onsuite room fine. Little extras like additional pillows, room fans for comfort appreciated. Comfy bed. Good breakfast. Ideal for short stay in Hebden Bridge.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue B
Pamela R, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review - very glad you enjoyed staying with us.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
354 reviews
8.0 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
268 reviews
6.5 km away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.1 km away
Moyles
Moyles
#4 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
40 reviews
0.1 km away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#1 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently reopened in December 2012 after the floods in July of the same year. After a full refurbishment we rebranded ourselves to further improve your visit and our levels of customer service. We are a 4* Bed & Breakfast with hotel rooms on offer, a varied menu and lots of different drinks available, please don't hesitate to contact us to enquire about your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: 10 Crown Street, Hebden Bridge HX7 8EH, England (Formerly Bar Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Price Range: €90 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Place Hotel Hebden Bridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crown Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gemini is painted dark brown but has big windows and is not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Pints, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay clear of the crown”
 of 5 bubbles willBedale, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Keep your eyes closed”
 of 5 bubbles jennycP3959LV, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are clean the juliet has an outside balcony for fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles mrsbmiddlesbrough, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Let the Land lady help you with the choice of room to suite your needs”
 of 5 bubbles 769murdom, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5