We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 297: English reviews
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I decided to have a quick sandwich with my son here at the black horse. The food is rather pricey but the quality is good. The Fish Finger Sandwich was Excellent, the Beef Sandwich was okay, the Beef was tough. A portion of Chips is £3.50 extra cheeky!!!!!!!!!!!! Especially when it cost me £17.00 for 2 sandwiches. Expensive main courses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali735
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Black Horse for the New Years Eve taster meal with overnight stay. We opted for the standard room which was 'bijou' to say the least....the door actually touched the bed as you went into the room and the step up to the shower meant my partner had to wash whilst hunched over!! But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl K Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about New Year's Eve. Being a 17th century coaching inn, some of our rooms are quicky and bijou. We very much appreciate your kind words about our food on NYE and have taken note of your concerns about the atmosphere. We always value feedback and your comments...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stumbled upon this In only a few months ago, despite being quite local. Now we cannot visit enough. It's such a beautiful and cosy old Inn inside, lovely open fires, cosy wooden beams etc. Food is brilliant, more gastro pub than Wacky Warehouse. Would recommend to anyone looking for a cosy, civilised pub to enjoy lovely drinks and food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrjimbob123
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear mrjimbob123 We are so pleased you found us! We very much appreciate your positive review and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was a good choice on the a la carte menu, and I had sautéed chicken liver to start, followed by roast turkey (not done the traditional way) and a chocolate dessert. was very efficient throughout. The food was excellent in quality and presentation. The Black Horse is not a cheap place to eat, but very good if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missdixon
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear missdixon We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope it won't be too long before you visit us again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Plainsboro, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here several times over the years and every time I enjoyed it. The rooms are authentic and nicely decorated, albeit some are a bit small. The breakfast is delicious, as is the food in general in the restaurant, always with fresh ingredients and very beautifully arranged. One needs a few nights stay to get through the bar's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea-08536
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrea-08536 Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your numerous stays with us and we very much appreciate your kind comments. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the Jacobean room. It was spacious and clean. Nice features such as 17th Century Beams. The bathroom was ok with reasonable toiletries. Breakfast was ok but the poached eggs were over cooked, the black pudding appeared undercooked, so I left it. The breakfast was cold, which was a shame as the produce was obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 254dcg
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear 254dcg Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were disappointed to read you did not enjoy breakfast with us and we always prefer our guests to make us aware of any problems at the time as we are more than happy to put them right. We hope you'll visit us again. Kind regards from the...

yorkshire
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Had dinner with colleagues on a very wet Monday evening after a long day. I have dined here before and it was very good. The pub, restaurant and ambiance remain welcoming and the service was first class, however my simple choice of sirloin steak and hand cooked chips was distinctly average: the medium-rare steak was cooked as requested but hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank golfnut100
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear golfnut100 Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear your steak as well as the chips were not up to your expectations. We very much wish you raised this at the time so we could rectify the situation. We hope you will revisit us where we are confident you will have a much better experience. Kind regards...

Reviewed 22 November 2016

The room was fine, clean warm and really everything was fine you would expect was there. It is highly likely that I will stay again. I really can't find anything to be negative about, it was all good! Breakfast was good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwlasseter
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear jwlasseter Thank you for your review; we were pleased to hear you had a good experience with us and we hope you decide to stay with us again Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Cannot wait to stay here again, feel so bad for taking so long to review, we tend to review places every 3 months or so. Our stay was a last minute decision. The evening meal was outstanding as was the service received throughout our stay. Damian was an absolute star and looked after us very well. Brilliant place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alan_Whitehead_16 We thank you so much for such a glowing review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you giving Damian a special mention. We will share your kind words with the whole team and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Came across the Black Horse inn when struggling to find short notice accommodation in the area. Very warm welcome, lovely room in the building opposite which was ideal as we had the dog with us. Dinner was very very good, breakfast was good. Good choice of beers. Nearby, was a good walking place for the dog. Good price for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric R
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eric R Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.7 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
262 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
5.6 km away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
490 reviews
9.0 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Price Range: €67 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
The Black Horse Inn Brighouse, West Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have a lazy morning and let the traffic on the M62 clear, breakfast is worth taking slowly, it is good!”
 of 5 bubbles jwlasseter, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take earplugs and eye mask.”
 of 5 bubbles C_GNorthYorks, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the larger rooms, some are quite small”
 of 5 bubbles 775kingarthur, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Champagne House away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles S1310EWdebbies, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem equally good.”
  • Plenty of storage space
  • Relaxing colours
 of 5 bubbles patsylandin, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay