We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Booking.comUS$61*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
 Click to rate
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I don't usually write bad reviews, as I work in the service industry and understand that sometimes this happen that aren't ideal. That being said, our stay at Surf Ranch Resort was beyond disappointing. First off when we arrived there were two towels in the bathroom, we had four people staying in the room. The food menu seemed quite good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RN484
Huntsville
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked through another website and when we called to see about a shuttle they said they didn't have our reservation. Finally got the problem resolved and they upgraded us to the deluxe room which was great and had its own private rooftop with a hammock. Couldn't get wifi in the room, but could up top. The wifi works great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vern128
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service was excellent, I arrived earlier than check in time hotel manager Joselyn managed to accommodate us science we had a very rough night earlier I was very lucky to find one room small but cute, no TV but excellent for two people, was the only one left. For $30 dollars you can add the all inclusive don't forget to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DIANA S
West Kelowna, British Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had such a great time at the surf ranch! Even the 3 hour hotel taxi service from the airport was a great experience. Everyone working at this little resort was very helpful and friendly, and the simple foods they make have great flavour. It's a short taxi ride to town, and even town isn't touristy at all. The surf...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassy498
Oceanside, California, United States
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We rented one of the casitas at Surf Ranch and had a wonderful vacation. We loved having a resort right outside our door and enjoyed all the activities they had to offer. The climbing wall was a blast and my husband enjoyed a couple hours of paintball with some guys he met on our stay. It was easy to arrange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Surf Ranch San Juan Del Sur is hands down one of my favourite places to go and relax for a day and enjoy the pool. Its only about a ten minute drive from down town San Juan. They have a fun skate park and a rock climbing wall. Great pool side cold drinks and food not to mention they run...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethania G
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am glad you got to receive the experience that our guests have come to know and love. Looking forward to your return. Thank you.

Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

1st at check in they make you sign a form that says that they are not responsible for nothing. Theft injury nothing. $20 per hour if you check out late. I pre-paid so I had no choice no refunds stuck for 4 nights. This place is the biggest ripoff I have ever encountered. 1st night at dinner and drinks I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank joeloenicacano
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I spoke with our manager about this, and she mentioned that it was difficult to deal with you, although they did everything they could. We thrive to offer the best customer service, but the resort does have policies that we need to abide by. Let...

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

We were staying in Villa 1 and paying top dollar and all I got was; Miserable staff, horrible food and extremely over priced, pool was dirty and murky, no power which I understand is out of their hands but no update on when it would be back on, no remuneration for no Wi-Fi or air-conditioning, not even an apology, asked...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jai K
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Jake Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am surprised by this review as we were in contact via email. You requested by email room service, which we do not usually do that way, but I called in to make sure the food was made and delivered to your room. Yes I have...

Taylorsville, Utah
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I enjoyed my stay at Surf Ranch. It is great that the location is not too far from the city San Juan Del Sur, but far enough to get away from the hustle of the city. The owners were great and took us in as friends and even showed us a good night on the town one night. The on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wes4181
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. It is great to hear that you had a great time. It was great to meet all of you. Yes we do look forward to your return at our 2nd resort in Popoyo. See you soon, Thank you.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I spent about a week at the resort with a group of friends. The shuttle from Managua airport was very convenient and saved us from having to figure out a cab in a foreign country. The resort felt very safe and was well-located near downtown San Juan del Sur. There was a lot to do at the resort, but probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DS31488
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, it was great to meet all of you ad we do look forward to your return :) All the best,

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
7.5 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
142 reviews
2.7 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
4.9 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
212 reviews
10.4 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
10.9 km away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Ranch in San Juan Del Sur, features Nicaragua's largest skateboard park, rock climbing wall, private gym, jungle paintball, volleyball court, world class restaurant & bar, swimming pool & swim up bar, poolside cabanas, standard rooms, villas, and deluxe condos. The Surf Ranch offers many extreme sports and activities such as surfing, skateboarding, paintball, sailing, fishing, yoga, rock climbing and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Address: Empalme de El Valle, 991.5 m al Este, San Juan del Sur 47008, Nicaragua (Formerly Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: €49 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think AC is standard in all rooms, but if not, definitely worth springing for.”
DS31488, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were put in one of the last available rooms for booking, which did not have air conditioning. There was enough air circulation to make it comfortable, however.”
400mirandab, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the deluxe condo was the best!”
magisan03, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a safe.”
654neilw, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“standard room was perfect for me”
Globalgoddess316, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$61* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$68
Hotwire.comUS$61
Expedia.comUS$61
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates