We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Oro Eco Hostel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Oro Eco Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 226: English reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

The facilities of this hostel is good, clean comfy beds, clean bathrooms and a nice rooftop. You are not allowed to bring your own alcohol to the hostel. But what normally makes a hostels ambience good is the staff. The reception staff at Casa Oro was outright unfriendly and it seemed painful for them to work there. First example; I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gominken
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

You comment means a lot for us because we appreciate any opportunity to improve our services. We are sorry you were not able to use the hostel phone, as a very busy hostel we have to have our rules set so that the hostel phone is strictly limited to business calls. Mainly, our phone lines must be available for communication...

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Came back from sunday funday to find a stranger sleeping in my bed(!!!!) and my belogings missing. When I told the guard on duty he didnt really know what to do and told me the only solution he has is me sleepilng with my friend or sleeping in the middle of the hostel on a mattress. the next morning i...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank m123456788
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a horrible experience, but be sure that we did too. We tried to explain but you and your friend got so upset, angry and aggressive and just kept threatening us that you would write on Trip Advisor. That is why we acted like we did without any regrets. Here are some of the facts about...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Excellent hostel with large common area to relax and a rooftop bar with a great view. After a few months traveling in Central America, this hostel is in my TOP 3. The rooms are clean and the common area are cleaned several times during the day. The staff is very nice and always disposed to help. The location is perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ameliedg
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Your comment means a lot for us. Thank you for all your kind words about our facilities and staff. It's always a pleasure to help our guests when it's possible. We are looking forward to your return.

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I stayed at Casa Oro during a week and that place was perfect for me: Good central location, dorm for a good price, Breakfast included, Kitchen for guest, Safety (there is a night guard and only the guest are authorized in the hostel). There is shuttles for the beaches and you can bring your own board with you (or rent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDRA124
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had a really good time at Casa Oro! Thank you to share your enthusiasm about your stay with us. Our staff is always excited to read the Trip advisor reviews. It's very rewarding and motivation to hear that our guest appreciated our hostel and services. Have a safe trip !

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015

I found this hotel to be very good. The building is nice and it makes good use of the limited space (such as two hammocks in the very small courtyard inside the hostel) and roof top bar on the 3rd floor. It's not the best hostel I have ever stayed at, but it's pretty good. There were loads of other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrInternational02
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Your comment means a lot for us. Thank you for sharing your memories with us. We are glad to hear you liked our facilities, the breakfast and the help provided by our staff. We appreciated that you highlighted our good location and Shuttles services. Be sure we will take your comment as an opportunity to improve our customer service. We...

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

A nice social hostel with a fun rooftop bar to start your night off at. The staff were awesome, especially Gio who went out of her way to help us make a police report when we got robbed on the beach (stay off the beach at night). The breakfasts were nice and it is in a great location. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about Casa Oro. It is motivating to see that our hospitality efforts are successful! It's always a pleasure to help our guests when it's possible! Warms regards from the hole team and a big hug from Gio !

San diego , c
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

There are plenty of places to stay in the area, don't choose casa de oro. They're are not the cheapest, they're not the nicest and it's not the most ideal location...and their staff SUCKS..don't support this place, there are much better, less expensive options that don't include rudeness

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexander s
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Alenxander, we are very sorry you were disppointed by Casa Oro. However, it's not necessary to use unacceptable and insulting vocabulary to make your point. You have generalized your comment about all our staff when we have 15 people working different shifts, we also have had new employees in replacement of employees on vacation, so this makes your comment...

Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

I didn't stay at Casa Oro... But with their other hostel casa Maderas. I did however take a surf lesson through them. My instructors name was Donovan Burgess and I highly recommend him. He was very calm and patient... In addition to this he had the perfect balance of being both professional and friendly... In the water he knew what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caity K
Lilly D, Responsable relations clients at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about Casa Oro Surf Lesson! We will transmit your message to Donovan ! He'll surely be glad to hear it ! Take care

Québec, Canada
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We slept one night at this place. We had no reservation in town when we arrived and were lucky to find a room at this place for our first night in San Juan del Sur because there was a beah volleyball tournament and hotels were book....It was not our first choice but finally, we would have stay there more if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse4691
Lilly D, Responsable relations clients at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to detail your impressions. Your comment means a lot for us. We appreciate your kinds words regarding our facilities, our delicious breakfast and cocktails at the roof top bar. Please accept our apology for the noisy water tank during windy nights. We were not aware of that problem, we will find a solution as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Beds are clean & comfy. Common area is nice, with hammocks in the middle. There's a roof top bar with reasonably priced drinks. The free breakfast was really good - changes every day. Shuttles to beaches & other tours available. Good central location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah I
Lilly D, Responsable relations clients at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comment. We very glad to hear you appreciated our comfy and clean beds, the common area, the roof top bar and our breakfast. It's always motivating to read that our hospitality efforts are successful. Have a safe trip

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
220 reviews
0.1 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
151 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.6 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
75.6 km away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#17 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: €5 - €7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Eco Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Oro Eco Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Oro Eco Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As we found out there are cheaper and better hostels in town”
Ros8mund, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try and grab a top bunk if staying in the dorms, closer to the fans”
madh96, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra dollar to stay upstairs. Downstairs is busy during the day.”
cameront422, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Second Floor dorms: less noise in the morning”
ameliedg, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Affordable shuttle service to surrounding beaches (Playa Madera) is great!”
simony114, 15 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates