We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Oro Eco Hostel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 226: English reviews
Start your review of Casa Oro Eco Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The atmosphere is cool, lots of people hanging out, surfing trips coming and going all day long, it is really cool. Great location on a corner right in the center, great food. Although the rooms are really crowded and uncomfortable, quite dirty also and very very dark. I left the hostel the second day towards Tadeo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel S
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just stopped in to have a cold Tona. It was full of life with the younger crowd. We may be a bit older but love the life that young people put into life. The sitting area was fun with very colorful table and chairs. One young girl even asked us where she might have lunch as it was her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
Circulo_Initiative, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Annie M., Thank you for your review and for choosing our RestoCafé & Bar as a place to unwind and enjoy a cold beverage. We’re happy that you enjoyed the friendly and welcoming atmosphere and found the space to be vibrant and beautiful. We welcome a wide range of dynamic individuals with diverse backgrounds hailing from all parts of...

Port Orange, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for about 5 days while in San Juan after staying for one night last year. I really enjoyed it last year but this time it was even better. They fully renovated the down stairs and it now has an awesome craft cocktail Bar. The bartender Jake was awesome and enjoyable to talk to and he was always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank austingroves
Circulo_Initiative, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Austin, Thank you for visiting Casa Eco Hostel for a second time and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations, vibrant and friendly atmosphere, great craft cocktails, and the service of our always attentive staff. It's great to read that Jake and Julio made your stay even more...

Lincoln, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've had a unique opportunity to work from here for the past two months and have seen it go through an incredible transformation. It now has a wonderful craft cocktail menu, Indian curries, and the helpful waiter staff have been consistently making me a great Americano every morning. With all that it offers – from shuttles to food to yoga...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dane J
Circulo_Initiative, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Dane J., Thank you for your kind words and for your creativity and dedication to Casa Oro Eco-Hostel and the Circulo Initiative, a collection of for-purpose businesses serving the hospitality, tourism, and organic food industries in Nicaragua. The real magic of the Initiative lies within people like you; a mix of dreamers and doers, locals and foreigners, solo explorers...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For the price you pay to stay here it's really not worth it. The only good thing about this place is the breakfast which is filling as well as the reception ladies who were really helpful. Wifi didn't work for 2 days while we were there. Rooms are so hot that you can't sleep because you're just constantly sweating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca C
RegenerateManager, Owner at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Bianca C., Thank you for providing invaluable feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our free scrumptious breakfast, the cleanliness of our hostel, and the excellent customer service provided by our receptionists. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our pricing, as we feel that we offer a rather competitive rate to...

Reviewed 15 April 2017

We only went to the restaurant here but, WOW, our waiter (Hector) was fabulous! The iced coffee was delicious and Ummm..... Indian food in a Nica Beach town was a shock. The food was great, the bathrooms are clean and Ohhhhh the breeze, the wonderful breeze.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
RegenerateManager, Owner at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Stacey P., Thank you so much for visiting our RestoCafé & Bar and for leaving such a glowing review! We strive to offer delicious and affordable ethnic cuisine sourced from local organic farms to ensure you are experiencing only the freshest, highest quality ingredients. We are ecstatic to hear that the iced coffee hit the spot and that you...

Kongsberg, Norway
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Not a party hostel! Chill athmosphere with calm music. Perfect location. Can see the beach from the rooftop, a 2 min walk. Paid 10 USD per night. Breakfast included. Different dishes every morning. Loved it. All beds had privacy curtains, and mattresses were so nice. Two ceiling fans and a window filled the room with nice breeze in the nights....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1Happytraveller20
CasaOroEcoHostel, Owner at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Hi 1Happytraveller20, Thanks so much for your honest review. I'm glad you appreciated the varying breakfast menu, the privacy curtains and high quality mattresses. We love hearing when guests plan to stay for two nights, but end up extending; San Juan del Sur can have that effect on people. The bathrooms are cleaned every day in all of the dormitories;...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We randomly stopped in here to have lunch. Food was average, service was average. We had grilled fish with garlic and chicken fajitas. Both meals served with rice and mixed vegetables. Plenty of other places in town to find a better and less expensive meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snappy B
CasaOroEcoHostel, Owner at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Snappy B, Bummer you didn't enjoy the food when you came. We've been working diligently over the last 3 months on launching a new food and cocktail menu. Our new menu has been in testing for the past month with a number of different soft launches and I assure you its much better than the old menu. The restaurant...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Stayed just one night and then moved on. Staff not that friendly. No towels in private rooms with bathroom. Inclusive breakfast no choice you get what your given. Can't drink your own beer in the common area you have to buy theirs. Not the best hostel in town. After one night moved to Rosita Hotel just round the corner. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ba8ydriver
CasaOro_EcoHostel, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ba8ydriver, We appreciate your honest feedback and we are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are in the process of making some updates to the hostel, and your comments will definitely be taken into consideration. -Your Friends at Casa Oro

Reviewed 31 January 2017

It's not cheap at USD $38 for a private room with bathroom including a megre breakfast. There were no towels in the room and when we asked the revelationist she begrudgingly gave us one for my wife and I to share. The lay out of the rooms around a central atrium reminded us of an American prison that you see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ros8mund
CasaOro_EcoHostel, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ros8mund, We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us...your feedback is appreciated. At the moment we are in the process of making some updates to the hostel, and your comments will definitely be taken into consideration. -Your Friends at Casa Oro

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
219 reviews
0.1 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
151 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.6 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
75.6 km away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#17 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: €5 - €7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Eco Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Oro Eco Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Oro Eco Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As we found out there are cheaper and better hostels in town”
Ros8mund, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try and grab a top bunk if staying in the dorms, closer to the fans”
madh96, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra dollar to stay upstairs. Downstairs is busy during the day.”
cameront422, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Second Floor dorms: less noise in the morning”
ameliedg, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Affordable shuttle service to surrounding beaches (Playa Madera) is great!”
simony114, 15 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates