We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

McMenamins Edgefield

Save
Share
2126 SW Halsey St, Troutdale, OR 97060-1026
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
StayForLong
US$120
US$100
View deal
SAVE US$20
Expedia.com
Booking.com
eDreamsUS$120
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (439)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (23)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 Speciality lodging in Troutdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Banquet room
Wifi
Hot bath
Restaurant
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
802Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 415
  • 207
  • 80
  • 58
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jon Doe wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions
So our stay was terrible! 12- 5-2020 ( ROOM 218 ) My wife and i NEVER get out and we choose McMenamins Edgefield for our date night we booked this stay almost a year in advance. We were so disappointed in the customer service every person we came in contact with had a miserabel attitude like they did not want to be there! So 1st off we went to check in around 3;30 and we noticed after we got to or room they had charged the card i was under the impression that was done at check out. So i spoke to a lady at the front desk about this and she became very combative talking over me-interrupting me it was so bad my wife made a comment OH MY GOD she heard the whole conversation who employees people that are like that i guarantee she has been getting away with that behavior for awhile and was very comfortable talking to people like that! We went down to the black rabbit to get ICE and when i asked the girl behind the bar she had a tattooed of a sun on her back red hair she was too busy to acknowledge me didn't smile at me or have eye contact it was as if i was bothering he.I watched the phone ring and she gasped like really put out. I stood there for 20 min before i left to go to the front desk. I got to the front desk and explained that all i wanted was ice and that lady... same put out attitude she had to call somebody to cover her she was grumpy over the radio asking for help and there i sat another 10 min before i said forget it and left. We started to unpack and we noticed the trash cans had ZERO bags in them! As we went to pull our towel's off the towel bar in the bath tub part of the bath room and the whole towel bar fell off hitting me on my foot and dumping our clean towel's onto the floor. That ruined our stay we planed on that room with the tub and now we had no clean towels. I felt like i couldn't call the front desk because of the horrible customer service it was intimating. So then we asked for a few extra pillows and when the person came with the pillows they were not wearing gloves. That's bedding and were your face has contact i also saw the same person carrying pillows to another room no tray just bare handed. So in closing the stay was ruined from people who had no personality for customer service to not making sure they were following Covid guild lines! to a room that was not prepped no hand towels by the sink unbelievable. . Here is the thing ......We choose Edgefield because we heard its a nice friendly place to stay! It was NOT!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 218 Has a private bath tub!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
agoneil wrote a review Nov 2020
Tacoma, Washington231 contributions143 helpful votes
We spent one night here, on our McMenamins' Passport quest, and loved everything about the place. This is clearly the Masterpiece of all the McMenamins' sites. Service, cleanliness, and COVID-compliance were all top-notch. The room was perfectly comparable to each of the other 4 McMenamins hotels where we have stayed. However, this was the first time we opted for a "Common Bath" and we were a little nervous about that. Turned out to be no big deal. The large common facilities were immaculate. And we had plush robes to wear on our middle-of-the-night treks down the hall. We also were provided with PLENTY of towels and amenities. As usual, our dog was welcomed and a water bowl was provided. The only issue was having to run down the hall to put water in that bowl.... Wish we could have stayed another night--it was great fun.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
EO49er wrote a review Nov 2020
55 contributions12 helpful votes
We have been at this location MANY times before and we will NEVER come here again. We rented three hotel rooms and a few family members gathered after a Celebration of Life ceremony we had for the death of a family member. Employees were rude, unfriendly & more worried about masks than customer service. One family member went to pay her tab & they disputed the name “Candi” vs Candace when she tried to pay her bill & then threatened to kick her out & call security all because of the name on her card that they were holding. I 100% guarantee you it was because they didn’t like what her mask said. They were rude to the only person they had a card on. NOT COOL. Guess what? You don’t get to threaten customers who are trying to pay their bill. Shame on you and shame on your horrible customer service. By the way, we’re cancelling our reservations we had on 11/27 & 11/28. We have many friends who are business owners...word of mouth advertising works. Ouch!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Erik S wrote a review Aug 2020
Chandler, Arizona6 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here one night during a whirlwind motorcycle trip through Oregon. I wish we'd have stayed longer. I'll admit, I really geeked out about this hotel, but I'm a history buff. And the history of it is really really cool. Beyond that, the ground it's on is gigantic, has several eating and, alcohol drinking/buying options. AND wherever you eat you can eat there or you can take it to go and sit anywhere in the enormous property. AND same things apply with any alcohol. Think about that...we got a glass of wine (for her) in one building then walked with it--outside--up to the distillery where yours truly wanted a flight of whiskey from the distillery. Yeah, they have a winery and a distillery (and a brewery) right there on the grounds. This place is like a self-contained little commune with a place to stay, place to eat and drink, even buy and smoke a cigar if that's your thing. I loved it, if you couldn't already tell. In the hotel, there is art everywhere. Like, everywhere. Pretty, weird, funky...all of the above...but regardless whether it's stuff I would've picked, it gave the place such an extra cool personality, as if the history of didn't do that already. The grounds are immaculate yet unpretentious. I felt like we should be dressed better than t-shirts, shorts and flip-flops. But...that's what everyone was wearing! Very casual vibe, like it's OK to be around nice things without having to dress up for it. We stayed in a regular hotel room (they offer hostel-type rooms, if that's your thing). Everything was clean, there was cool art everywhere, including an artful explanation on our wall describing the man whom our room was named after (every room is named after someone). The only complaint I had, was that the rooms don't have AC. Not a problem in the evening, but when we first got there at around 4:00 pm, it felt toasty even with the windows open. (Troutdale is in the Columbia River Gorge, which can toast a little in July.) It doesn't overlook the Columbia, but is close enough where getting to the river would be easy. But, I can't speak to the river access since we were only there one night. Well, I loved this place. It's the flagship for the McMenamins hotels. If I ever work up the nerve to ask my girlfriend to marry me, I already decided my vote would be to have the wedding here. It's perfect...places to stay for everyone, Portland airport not that far away for everyone to fly in, gorgeous grounds, fantastic food and drinks... We stayed at another McMenamins hotel, near the coast, the next night and it wasn't nearly as good. Undeterred, I want to try out their other hotels (like the one I saw in Bend that looked uber cool) anytime I'm back in Oregon again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Owen Craig, General Manager at McMenamins Edgefield
Responded 24 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at the Edgefield. (I hope you ask her to marry you, you clearly have good taste:). Hope we see you in 2021.
Read more
karenjacka3914 wrote a review Jul 2020
California159 contributions30 helpful votes
Stopped here and ate outside on the picnic tables. Gorgeous grounds, great food (and drinks). A little on the slow side but that said, one cook on the grill and pretty busy. Didn’t mind waiting as we were in good company but poor guy might need a little help. Loved the garden area. We all got diff burgers, and no complaints from any of us. Fun to walk around. Ordered from the window, great sides of tater tots or salad.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Owen Craig, General Manager at McMenamins Edgefield
Responded 24 Dec 2020
Thanks for coming in for lunch, so glad you enjoyed your time. Sorry the food was a bit slow, due to COVID distancing, we're often limited to 1 cook per kitchen or grill. This will pass though eventually; I hope we see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mcmenamins edgefield or
LOCATION
United StatesOregonTroutdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about McMenamins Edgefield
Which popular attractions are close to McMenamins Edgefield?
Nearby attractions include McMenamins Edgefield Winery Tasting Room (0.02 km), Mr. B's Lounge (1.0 km), and Diamond Darcy's (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at McMenamins Edgefield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at McMenamins Edgefield?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at McMenamins Edgefield?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to McMenamins Edgefield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Rabbit Restaurant, Power Station Pub, and Wood Village Burrito Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at McMenamins Edgefield?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does McMenamins Edgefield offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to McMenamins Edgefield?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Columbia River Highway (5.4 km) and Benson Bridge (4.4 km).
Is McMenamins Edgefield accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.