We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale

Save
Share
477 NW Phoenix Dr, Troutdale, OR 97060-9564
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
HIExpress.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (14)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Troutdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Conveniently located off I-84 and within minutes from downtown Portland, The Columbia River Gorge, Portland International Airport, Multnomah Falls, The Sandy River and Bonneville Dam. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the wide variety of hiking, biking, camping, hunting and fishing. Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring signature hot items served daily, indoor pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness area, wireless high speed internet access and meeting space that can comfortable accommodate up to 100 people. Historic Troutdale is nestled off the Sandy River and within a short distance from Gresham, Oregon. Located at the gateway of the Columbia Gorge, we are centrally located between Vancouver, Mt. Hood, The Dalles, Hood River, as well as the Oregon Coast.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
166Reviews0Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 56
  • 25
  • 18
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Laura wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay. Great location with good interstate access, on the edge of the Portland area, easy to avoid excess traffic. Seth was amazing and went above and beyond. He embodies excellent customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Helen C wrote a review Oct 2020
Renton, Washington665 contributions159 helpful votes
I normally love the Holiday Inns I stay at, but this is an exception. I booked a room through Expedia and found that there wasn't a fridge and microwave in the Executive 1 Queen Bed room. We were told that we got a special rate on Expedia and it was Expedia's fault that we didn't get a fridge and microwave. Fast forward to the hotel's website, for the same day of the week and same type of room, a fridge and microwave are listed for the same price. The management could have owned up about the slip up and gave us a refund, but no, there were all kinds of excuses why we didn't get a fridge and microwave. Kudos to Expedia which took care of the situation, but thumbs down to management which thinks we are so stupid not to know we are being lied to.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Hello helencK460LS, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write to us about your experience. Our hotel provides a great night's rest with an included breakfast. I reviewed your comments, and I am sorry that in the room you reserve you didn’t have the promoted amenities as well as the way this was handled. I understand your disappointment with us and assure you that these were isolated incidents. I forwarded your remarks to our managing team and took action to prevent this from happening again. I have sent you a private message so we can talk about your stay further. Thank you again for your message and invited you to visit us on your next trip. Warm Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
avery a wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We checked in 7pm & had buisness in town looking at real estate. We got back to the room late & went to sleep. The next morning i noticed pillows from one of the beds stacked in the corner with no pillow cases & there was only 1 partial roll of TP. So i politely called the front desk and said "it's not a big deal, but a couple of the pillows don't have cases & half a roll of TP isn't going to be enough for my 3 day visit... Could i please get 2 pillow cases and one or 2 rolls of TP?"... The front desk said "sure no problem, ill send that up"....... About 30min later the phone in the room rang. It was Eli accusing me of steeling the pillow cases. She very rudely & loudly (boardering on yelling at me) says "WHY DIDN'T YOU TELL ME ABOUT THE PILLOW CASES YESTERDAY! HOW DO I KNOW YOU DIDN'T TAKE THE PILLOW CASES! NOW I AM GOING TO CHARGE YOU FOR THE MISSING PILLOW CASES!" I told her "no way. Your pillow cases and housekeeping punch list are not my responsibility"..... She preceded to scold me and accuse me of Stealing pillow cases. Demanding i pay for pillow cases. She said "because you didn't tell me yesterday, there is no way to prove the room wasn't made & the pillows weren't there. So i have to assume you stole them!" I told her "my car is outside, my luggage is in the closet. Do you want to search my things? Because i haven't gone anywhere. You say there is no way to prove the cases were missing when i got here? Well you have no evidence i stole them." & i hung up. Then for the next hour i could hear eli berating the cleaning staff from down the hall. These 2 very nice helpful housekeeping staff could hardly speak any English, but gladly handed me 2 rolls of TP & 2 pillow cases from the cart.... So I thought that was the end of it... Nope. Fore the next hour, these poor maids were sent up to my room multiple times to check the pillows, then change the cases & had to go in and out (something about wrong sized pillow cases & needing to inspect the beds. To determine if they were cleaned or not). We told them "this was not necessary" & They Could just hand us 2 pillow cases & TP. I could Tell from how Eli talked down to them as if they were dogs, that Eli was continually sending them up to harass me. Snooping around my things. Looking at my leftover food container on the table. I was in my underwear & did not come here to deal with unexpected drama between Eli & her staff or the constant interruptions of staff in & out of my room, invasion of privacy & being called a thief. This was the most bitchy, nasty, condescending, unprofessional (& racist toward her staff) person i have ever had to deal with in the service industry. I will be letting corporate know immediately. All i asked for was 2 rolls of TP & 2 pillow cases.... She Could have just dropped them off infront of the door & that would have been the end. But no. She had to call me to accuse me of stealing & make it a huge drama deal, dragged out & blown up. If Holliday inn cooperate wants this location to succeed. They need to fire this racist, nasty "manager", before she "manages" the place into the ground, or is the cause of a work place discrimination lawsuit. Absolutely unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Hello 411averya, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am sorry to learn you were not so pleased with your overall stay with us due to our housekeeping manager's poor service, issues with the lack of toilet paper, and pillowcases. I would like to follow-up on your experience and have sent you a private message to obtain additional information about your stay. I look forward to your response and being of further assistance. Sincerely, Dianne L Case Manager IHGService
Read more
memo-jane wrote a review Feb 2020
Kent4 contributions1 helpful vote
Once my wife and I stepped into the lobby and saw Ellie from across the room with her welcoming smile, we knew we were in great hands. Ellie did not disappoint. She set the standard for which Holiday Inn is known for. Because of it's location, between the freeway and rail road tracks and sandwiched between two truck stops, I was concerned with traffic noise and such. She calmly and confidently reassured me that I will not have an issue and she was right. I slept like a baby. Ellie also took the time to assist us with directions for dinner. The hotel was clean inside and out. The rooms are comfortable [and quiet]. Breakfast is spot on and I believe had something for everyone's dietary requirement. Staying here was a pleasure. Thanks again Ellie.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
AZMTNRIDR wrote a review Feb 2020
Parks, Arizona14 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice clean room, was upgraded to Jr. Suite. Was worried about adjoining truck stop but was amazed at how quite the room was. Overall great experience. Lots of food and things to do nearby, even great walking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn troutdale, troutdale comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn & Suites
LOCATION
United StatesOregonTroutdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Nearby attractions include Columbia Gorge Premium Outlets (0.4 km), Sandy River Delta Park (1.0 km), and Troutdale General Store (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Di Pompello, Troutdale General Store, and Troutini.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Troutdale.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Columbia River Highway (4.4 km) and Benson Bridge (5.5 km).