We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel Salem

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Salem
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 742: English reviews
Redmond, Oregon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Red Lion is adequate at best. I must admit, the pictures and welcoming advertisement do not portray the tired, musty feel of this hotel. The overall sense is of a nickle and dime operation. We were told that we did not qualify for the complimentary breakfast as we did not pay enough for our room (booked through Expedia). We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Congratulations to the new family addition. We enjoyed having you as a guest and appreciate all the feedback. We look forward to future returns.

St Augustine
Reviewed 1 week ago

This property was disappointing compared to other Red Lion locations. The property is older and it shows. Perhaps some freshening up of the facility would go a long way. Won't stay st this location again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X4230YRrichardj
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Dear Richard, thank you for being our guest, we do hope you will visit us again in the future as we are attending to upgrades on an ongoing basis.

Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Front receptionist were very friendly. Always with a smile on their faces. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast buffet delicious. Staff at the restaurant were also friendly. Hotel was not too crowded because of the ice storm so our family felt very pampered because staff were very accommodating to our needs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby Kaeueu C
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Dear Ruby and Paul, Thank you for the kind words - hope you got home safe, glad we were here for you during the storm.

Algona, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanks for another great overnight stay. Your front desk staff was very accommodating. My room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. After a long day on the road I enjoyed a great steak for dinner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sachmo253
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Thank you for the patronage and the kind words.

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on the 2nd floor, where they have pet friendly rooms. The room was extremely small and we could just barely walk around the king sized bed. The refrigerator had to be placed on top of the table since there was no room for it elsewhere. We brought a medium sized dog crate and there was no available floor...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliabX5431RE
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Dear Julia, Please accept my sincere apologies for the entire experience; I am sympathetic to your disappointment and would appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you. I know we could have taken care of all the items mentioned here and I am sorry we did not get the chance.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am super allergic to cigarette smoke and the lobby, hallways, and room smelled enough that I had a reaction to it. The whole reason why I booked it was a place to get a shower because we are waiting for our new water heater to be delivered because the current one is broken so I did not have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nightengale64
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us providing the detailed feedback, we appreciate the opportunity to address all concerns and improve where needed. We are always working on improving your experience.

Prineville, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The receptionist was very unfriendly & rude, we did not feel welcome at the hotel & the room was out dated & not maintained at all. Their was a huge wad of hair stuck in the bathtub and the room was not cleaned very well, the sheets were very dirty.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shalynn S
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Dear Shalynn, Sincere apologies for the poor service and lack of housekeeping, we appreciate the feedback as we strive to improve all around. We hope for the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a 3 star hotel. It is probably a 2.5 star hotel. We usually stay at nice places but we were getting to Salem late and leaving early. This was a fine hotel for the price and I would stay there again. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbloew
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

North Bend, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was great except not enough blankets on the bed and there were no spare blankets in the room. We called the front desk and they said House Keeping was closed till the next morning. Neither of us like to sleep with heat on in the room at night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladenec2016
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and providing the feedback, apologies for falling short in service. Please give us another opportunity.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel does look like it is being put out to pasture. Did not stay long to check out pool or the restraunt. The place is not bad just shows signs of wear, still nice with some recent updates. The room on the 4th floor was clean. Parking lot is very dimly lit, and did not have a great sense of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightygeoyoung
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
3.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.8 km away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
7.3 km away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97301-1819
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Price Range: €74 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Salem staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Nampa, Idaho
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Salem staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for amenities when you check in.”
 of 5 bubbles PatrickB220, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the west side are further away from the highway and any noise that might create.”
 of 5 bubbles Nightengale64, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“King Bed with Balcony is a small room”
 of 5 bubbles RoadtripRosie, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Balconies are nice”
 of 5 bubbles keeganesbaker, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Clean, comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay