We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
US$218
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
Travelocity
Agoda.comUS$218
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (418)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (513)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 13/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mark Spencer Hotel
Updated 13/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 159 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Japanese
3201Reviews29Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,113
  • 759
  • 203
  • 76
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JTRICH55 wrote a review Yesterday
Prescott, Arkansas65 contributions19 helpful votes
Very good downtown location being close to most areas of interest. One block from the Powell bookstore, perhaps the best bookstore anywhere. Great source for used books but more expensive than Amazon on most new ones. Pearl district is nearby with lots of neat things. The Mark is a good hotel with only a few services but that seems the norm in city hotels. Room was upgraded with a small kitchen pod and clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Price ok but better values are probably around
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded yesterday
John, We're so happy to know that our amazing location, as well as our wonderful accommodations, impressed you at Mark Spencer Hotel and that you had a great time with us overall. Please consider coming back to visit us again later down the road. General Manager
Read more
gloria_martin1415 wrote a review 11 Aug
Glendale, California1 contribution
My family and I stayed at The Mark Spencer Hotel in a Double Queen Deluxe. It was clean, spacious, very comfortable and the additional sofa bed worked out perfectly for our family of 4. The Hotel is centrally located with dining, public transportation and Powell Books just steps away. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be coming back to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded yesterday
Gloria, It was an honor to host you and your family at Mark Spencer Hotel. Guests love our comfortable rooms, excellent location, and friendly staff, and we are glad they pleased your family too! The next time you and your loved ones are in Portland, please come back and revisit us! General Manager
Read more
toninichoel wrote a review 10 Aug
1 contribution
The staff were pleasant & helpful, the hotel is, clean, interesting and in a great location!! The lobby cafe was perfect, the rooftop was so so cute and the tacos were great. The art through out the hotel was fun and we enjoyed our time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
It is fantastic to read your glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to write it. We are thrilled that so many aspects of your stay pleased you, including our superior service, cleanliness, range of amenities, and prime location. We love hosting return guests, so please revisit us at Mark Spencer Hotel soon! General Manager
Read more
hbartek80 wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution
This was a great place to stay in the heart of Portland. We will never stay anywhere else in the area! Close to Pearl district and great little happy hour on the rooftop. Sheets are super soft and the room was very cozy!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Our team endeavors to provide our guests with a quality stay and a full-fledged experience, so we're thrilled to see that we could hit all of our marks! We can't wait to see you again at Mark Spencer Hotel, so don't be a stranger! General Manager
Read more
Envj wrote a review 7 Aug
1 contribution
The location is great and the staff are good listeners and caring. Sometimes, the problem is that the guests are sometimes inconsiderate and the noise level can be irritating. I wish guests can remember we are all away from home and treat hotels/motels as their own home and think about their neighbors. Keep noise and excessive jumping and dancing impact those in the lower level. Overall, the staff attentiveness and politeness and kindness compensate for irritable guests and lack of some of the amenities.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Although our location was perfect for your needs, we apologize for any noise issues during your visit. Please know that our team members are always available to address these issues, and we hope you were able to speak to them about this during your visit. We know that we can do better, and we hope you'll come back and give us another chance at some point in the future. General Manager
Read more
SneakyDingo wrote a review 6 Aug
Seattle2 contributions
Imagine you're going to Portland and your main goal is to visit a bunch of sights, see things, and not have to drive very far to go there. How much will you care about your hotel having an enormous two person shower jacuzzi with personal masseuse and full kitchen at the end of the day? If the answer is, "I don't think I'd notice that much" then Mark Spencer Hotel is the place for you. The rooms are expensive for what you get but the location is perfect. 1-2 blocks from Powell's, within walking distance to great restaurants, close to Target and Wholefoods if you've forgotten something. For the location and convenience, this would get a 5 star review. Parking was good. Staff overall were average to below average on our trip. We parked in the parking garage when we first arrived, which apparently you are not supposed to do. The staff spent way too much time focused on this over issuing a parking permit, despite my having called ahead and confirmed with one of the staff members that parking was available and never once being told that I needed to park in the waiting zone at the front and checking in at the front desk first. The confirmation email only states, "Self parking available for additional fee with in and out privilege." Additionally all booking was done through their website, so they had total control over the guest experience. The room itself was a 4 star room. The bathroom had some minor damage on the inside that was... ok, but didn't affect functionality too much (water damage on the pocket door causing it to swell, baseboard damage, toilet flusher was very loosely attached). The bed had some stains on the bedding that made me wonder about whether it was clean or not, especially since we were warned Housekeeping was not replacing sheets every day of our stay. We found trash from the previous occupants of the room that had not been cleaned up. The rest of it though? Great. There were USB power outlets on the left side, two TV's, the bed was huge and soft, and enough bedding and pillows to be comfortable with well functioning air conditioning. We were in one of the king suites, room 608. Would I stay at Mark Spencer again? A tough call. I would probably be searching around first and this would be my second or third choice. But I would actually stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location, but we are disappointed to learn that we did not live up to our standards in regard to our accommodations. We strive to go above and beyond to make every stay exceptional and apologize for the issues you found with your room. These things are unacceptable, and we will immediately address them with our maintenance and housekeeping teams. We undoubtedly fell short during your visit, and we will use your comments to ensure we continue to improve in each of these areas. We hope to have the chance to change your lasting impression. General Manager
Read more
Lars K. L wrote a review 5 Aug
14 contributions1 helpful vote
We chose this fine hotel because of its central location in Portland. The hotel had nice and clean rooms and very friendly service from the staff. The small cafe had a very narrow menu. But maybe it's because the guests use the other breakfast restaurants in the area?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Lars, Thank you for the excellent rating of your recent stay at Mark Spencer Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and our clean accommodations, convenient downtown location, and friendly staff. Your comments are appreciated as we continually work to improve the menu selections in the Spencer Cafe. Please allow us to host you again when you return to Portland. Familiar faces are a welcome sight, so come back soon! General Manager
Read more
Cynthia P wrote a review 3 Aug
San Diego, United States1 contribution
The Mark Spencer is a beautiful hotel with a very Portland vibe located in the heart of Portland. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was luxurious and quiet, with excellent climate control (we stayed during an historic heat wave, unfortunately). We were steps away from coffee shops, dining, and Powell's City of Books. There is no daily housekeeping service as they recover from the pandemic, so if that is important to you you will want to check on that. They were happy to switch out towels for us. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Cynthia, We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location and that you had a great time exploring Portland. It is also fantastic to hear that our climate-controlled rooms were able to keep you cool throughout the heatwave. Join us again the next time you want another five-star stay in the city! General Manager
Read more
Leithy82 wrote a review 3 Aug
London, England, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel is in a handy location in Downtown. Rooms are large and clean. The main thing though were the staff. As a brit we are also told of the friendliness of people but these guys were outstanding also courteous and willing to help. You will more boutique or higher end hotels for sure but this place has super decent humans working there. Will defo go again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
It's delightful to hear that everything from our wonderful location to our friendly team members impressed you at Mark Spencer Hotel. It would be a pleasure to host you again the next time you come to the area, so please, hurry back! General Manager
Read more
richy1206 wrote a review Jul 2022
Covina, California1 contribution
Our room was great. We got the executive king suite. It was roomy and super comfortable. The shower was a little too modern for us but was still great. Would definitely recommend this hotel based on price and location in Portland. A lot of things were walking distance which is always a plus!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Richy, Your kind words mean the world to us, and we're happy that our comfortable accommodations were perfect for your needs. Thank you so much for the recommendation, and we hope to see you again at Mark Spencer Hotel at some point in the future. General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$188 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the mark spencer hotel portland, mark spencer portland
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortlandDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mark Spencer Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mark Spencer Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Powell's City of Books (0.1 km), Portland Center Stage at The Armory (0.2 km), and Living Room Theater (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mark Spencer Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Mark Spencer Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mark Spencer Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mark Spencer Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mark Spencer Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mediterranean Exploration Company, Mucca Osteria, and Cheryl's on12th.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mark Spencer Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Mark Spencer Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Portland.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mark Spencer Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mark Spencer Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mark Spencer Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.