We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9901 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-3323
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$173
TravelocityUS$173
PricelineUS$173
Hotels.comUS$173
BestWestern.comUS$174
Lol.travelUS$209
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (48)
Pool & Beach (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#39 of 159 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Portland,OR, the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1324Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 714
  • 425
  • 111
  • 45
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Escape478847 wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution
The hotel was very nice with a great pool and wonderful breakfast. Hotel is located very close to freeway access and is an easy choice for our family when we travel to Portland. I would recommend to my friends and family.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Allons! wrote a review Aug 2021
Gloucester, Virginia170 contributions111 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Arrived after midnight for short night stay prior to return flight. I selected this Best Western based upon: A. Medical provider discount B. Near PDX C. Free breakfast D. Reviews of cleanliness and quiet Great to say all above were very good! Room was clean, roomy and comfortable…sounds of the nearby tram sort of surprised me, but not an issue. Had called desk upon arriving in PDX at 2300 I would not arrive until after medical delivery was made, estimated 0100 arrival. Team was welcoming, recognizing my BW status..gave me a nice large room on the quiet back side. Breakfast was a treat…made to order tater tots, biscuit with gravy, and sausage…super! Very pleased with this stay! You don’t have to stay in an InterContinental or Radisson Blu every time…especially when you arrive late and leave early! Great job BW Pony Soldier Inn!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kiran Amin, Owner at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Responded 28 Aug 2021
Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Trail39033866961 wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution
When we arrived the toilet bowl wasn’t clean properly with some pee stain on it. the toilet flushing system seems to be leaking as water runs to the toilet bowl and flushes when it gets to a certain level which is annoying when your sleeping in the night. bathtub drainage seems to be clogged as water builds up when taking shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
wraymp3 wrote a review 7 Aug
Vail, Arizona1 contribution
Close to I-205 - easy access off and on the freeway free breakfast and parking which the last hotel did not offer very amenable staff and courteous the last hotel I stayed in Portland was inconvenient to get in and out of and the staff were rather rude at times, like they were doing YOU a favor
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KathieGB wrote a review Jul 2022
Cloverdale, Oregon13 contributions3 helpful votes
This motel is clean and the location is super convenient to the airport and the city of Portland. There is a pool and a hot tub outside. We stayed in room 156 - it had a two burner stove but no pots and pans or dishes. The grounds were attractive and we really liked the small deck outside our room that overlooked the pool. Elmer's Restaurant is right next door and we walked over for a great dinner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
warnerjk1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Everett, Washington1 contribution
Great staff, they kept an eye on my truck and alerted me of potential problems. They kept the battery from being stolen out of the van I was towing. They registered me for the rewards program and saved me a few dollars on my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Hansen, Owner at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. Guest satisfaction is something we strive for every day and your feedback is very much appreciated. Please know we use all feedback, both positive and constructive when reviewing the services and accommodations we provide to our guests. If we can be of further assistance, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Read more
katieniewinski wrote a review Jul 2022
Oak Harbor, Washington1 contribution
My room had cobwebs on the ceiling. And the blinds wouldn’t stay shut without me mcgyvering something together. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. Kids loved the pool. Needs more signs/areas to take the pets. Overall stay wasn’t to bad, we felt safe and service was friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ed S wrote a review Jul 2022
Lummi Island, Washington19 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is clean, friendly, and comfortable. Our receptionist, Amy, went out of her way to help us with local information, was so pleasant, welcoming, and friendly. This is where we will return on visits to Portland.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pages T wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Needed AC during early heatwave of the year. Stayed close to home. Enjoyed the deep jacuzzi tubs in the bathroom. Nice variety of breakfast items. Has a outdoor pool and spa. Lobby front doors required room key for access due to the homeless population in area. This made for a safe environment for guests having the added security. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were spacious.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Melanie S wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We have a yorkie and therefore stayed in a "pet friendly" room. It was a small section of rooms separated from the rest of the hotel in a dungeon like setting - we felt separated from the otherwise niceties of the establishment. Both entrances to the pet rooms were littered with trash and an overflowing trash bin of dog poo bags that did not get emptied our ENTIRE 3 night stay even after we pointed it out twice (and again upon checkout). The trash and poo also attracted additional flies to the area and it was simply gross to have to walk through to get to our room. We were told the room rate could only be adjusted by the manager and he wasn't in until Monday when we left. We did speak to him on the way out to inform him of our dissatisfaction. We were not offered any rate reduction or other compensation for the room price (which was about $100 MORE than listed on the confirmation due to non disclosure of the daily pet fee in the booking price that did include the taxes). Our room was dark, walls were dirty, the chair was so stained and full of pet hair that we didn't want to touch it let alone sit in it. Our view from the window was a chain link fence with slats topped by a large barbed wire rings around the top not unlike a prison - for our safety no doubt, however it was a very scary sight to see that it was the only thing between the hotel and the adjacent encampment. The homeless issue has gotten so bad that the hotel front door is kept locked at all times - you have to ring the bell to enter. Again for our safety but did not make us feel very comfortable. Had we not had trouble finding alternative accommodations we would not have stayed past the first 5 minutes. We did use the hot tub but there was a sign on the fence indicating the pool was closed - not sure if this was the case or if it was simply left up in error since other guests were using the pool. The pool did not look like it was ready for swimmers. The staff was nice and breakfast was great however NOTHING was done after telling the front desk twice about the trash and flies and overflowing poop. It would have taken 5 minutes for the desk staff to take care of it - apparently the maintenance person had taken the weekend off but that seems like a very poor excuse to not have someone ANYONE empty a trash bin full of dog poo bags. If we had not had our pup with us and stayed in a "regular" room we would have likely had a much nicer experience and stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kiran Amin, Owner at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Responded 29 Jun 2022
So sorry for your experience. I having my front desk clerk give you a call. Thank you, Laura
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western pony soldier inn-airport hotel portland, best western portland, portland best western
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Nearby attractions include The Grotto - National Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother (0.9 km), Gateway Green cycling park (0.6 km), and The Story Garden (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elmer's Restaurant, El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant, and Pho Dalat.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport have airport transportation?
Yes, Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.