We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Downtown Value Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Downtown Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Washington
Reviewed 27 September 2014

This was our first visit to Portland Or. We drove all the way from our hometown and were tired, needed a place to rest and enjoy, luckily this motel was awesome. We were walk in guest, got a two queen bed room. The front desk staff were really helpful and courteous. The front desk clerk Brent went out of his...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew G
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Mathew thank you for choosing TripAdvisor to share with other travelers your experience at our establishment. We were pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. We were glad to see that Brent was so helpful, and that the facilities and amenities met your needs. We do apologize that our parking area isn't as spacious as we wish...

California
Reviewed 21 September 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and was really happy being in Portland for the summer. Firstly the place iis good for its location. The motel is little old but the beds and the room which I was given was nicely done. The linen was soft and clean. No signs of bed bugs at all. We got the housekeeping service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank norio444
Reviewed 20 September 2014

very bad place no hot water in the shower.At least good location, but now have to spend the day dirty in good location. other than that you get what you pay for I guess. Just ask to see the room and test water before renting if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank haventshowered
Tasmania
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed 4 nights here after being underwhelmed by Portland's Airbnb options and it ticked all the boxes for a motel of this quality. The place is clean. Good location - trams and buses often leave just near and it's not too far to walk into the pioneer square area. Comfy bed, quiet at night, air con, good quality wifi....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank musquit0
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After booking a room for a four day weekend in Portland, I arrived and they had canceled my reservation. Trying to say that I canceled the reservation (which I definitely did not) they were extremely rude. Probably for the best as the lobby had a stench and was certainly not clean. Never ever.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AKBurdy
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our establishment. We would very much appreciate the chance to talk with you in more detail about your visit. We can be contacted at guestrelations@downtownvalueinn.com. We hope to hear from you soon.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff is rude here. They are just unhappy people. The Indian male in his 30's who is at the front desk most of the time better be glad his parents or grandparents own the place (I"m just assuming this) because he would have a hard time keeping a job at starbucks or anywhere there are customers. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill B
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from you about your stay with us at the Downtown Value Inn. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, is an important tool for us to improve our hospitality in every way we can. We apologize that the service you received was unsatisfactory. Discourtesy is unprofessional and unacceptable. We were happy to hear that you were...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here and it is exactly what I expected- It allowed me somewhere to sleep and take breaks in between exploring Portland. The negative reviews are pretty absurd. It's an incredibly cheap hotel. If you go in expecting anything more than a solid bed and a base camp for your vacation, you're sorely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RLowry23
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there are things that you think we could be doing different or doing better we would like to hear about it. We can be reached at guestrelations@downtownvaluinn.com. We hope that we will be your first choice in accommodations when you have...

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I just stayed here for a night because I was visiting a friend the next day, so I was looking for a place to get a few hours of sleep and a shower before she got in from the airport (I wasn't even there 8 hours). I have traveled a lot, and am usually not too picky about where I...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank bm2772
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. The opinions of our guests are very important to us. We were disappointed to hear about the troubles you encountered during your stay with us. We apologize that you had such a long wait to check in, and that the facilities did not meet your expectations. Especially things as fundamental as...

Victoria, British Columbia
Reviewed 31 December 2013

e wanted to stay for cheap in downtown Portland, and this place fit the price tag. I would recommend something else if you can afford it. The water in the shower had no pressure. We got a room that stunk of smoke on arrival (asked for non smoking), the heater in the room was so loud we could not sleep,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank M P
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 December 2013

WORST motel I have ever stayed at!!!!! Please do not stay here! The staff is beyond RUDE and extremely UNPROFESSIONAL. They do not understand the concept of customer service. We were visiting Portland for the holidays and a good friend picked us up from the airport and brought us to the motel. The hotel desk clerk basically freaked out and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank StaraShakti

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 137 in Portland
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#24 of 137 in Portland
1,768 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery St, Portland, OR 97201-5518
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: €71 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
 of 5 bubbles 817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
 of 5 bubbles 883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you have to stay here, be sure to ask for a room away from the street and trains/street cars”
 of 5 bubbles jessmxoxo, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Conveniently close to Portland's downtown core.”
 of 5 bubbles jd307, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 41 is good if you are traveling with more than 2 people.”
 of 5 bubbles KariS449, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay