We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Downtown Value Inn

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Downtown Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We wanted to stay in downtown Portland but didn't want to spend a ton of money. The Downtown Value Inn was perfect. It was right near the University of Portland with easy access to public transportation and the main tourist areas. The front desk was helpful and pointed out all the places we'd be interested in seeing. The best part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaBell
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear FionaBell, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel the "perfect location", our staff helpful and our prices affordable. We hope that you enjoyed Portland and that your travels bring you back this way. Thank you for the...

Tallahassee Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2016

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. The front-desk staff was very helpful to us, as this was our first trip to Portland. Our room was large, with a king sized bed; the room had a microwave, frig and tv. Bathroom was also large. Also, this location is absolutely wonderful! The Tri-met rail system is right outside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TallyLassie59
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear TallyLassie59, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to hear that you "loved" our hotel and found us conveniently located, clean and our staff friendly and helpful. Yes, we love the Pizza next store as well as many others close by. We hope that you enjoyed your time...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This place reminded me of our European style "hostiles". The room were very basic but clean. We stayed in room 33 which has an odd layout. The rooms had a fridge which was nice for drinks and left overs. The bed was comfortable. The property has tight, limited parking onsite. If you have a big car or SUV, you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luis J
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Luis J, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to hear that you found us conveniently located, clean and affordable. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Portland that the rest of your trip went well. We hope to have you back again soon. Warm regards, -Guest...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

I like this hotel, and I will book again if I go to Portland again. My room is clean, and the location is very good. Food trucks are two blocks away so you can get food very easy. There are public transportation pass by. The poineer square and the shopping mall are about 15 min away from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ying L
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ying L, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. Thank you for your kind words. We were glad to hear that you found our hotel conveniently located with food, transportation and shopping close by. We are centrally located with much close by for sure. We hope your travels bring you back...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We just got back from a 10 night stay in Oregon/Seattle. We stayed in 7 different inns, hotels, and motels and this was by far the worse stay for the price we payed. I would consider value to be a bargain but this was not the case. The total stay for one night was $200 on a Thursday night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessmxoxo
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear jessmxoxo, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and service quick but disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience. We hope that you will try us again in the future. Best...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I am not sure what all the complaints were about in reviews I read. I was a little skeptical at first because of the reviews but I stayed here for 1 night with low expectations and didn't want to spend hundreds of dollars. All the staff were excellent- friendly, helpful, and hospitable. They stored my luggage for me since I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizbert
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear lizbert, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel affordable, conveniently located and our staff "friendly." We strive to ensure that our guest do indeed feel welcome and at home with us. We hope your travels bring...

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I liked the location, the atmosphere, and the rates of this place. It was so nice to be able to stay conveniently close to Portland's downtown core at a fairly low price. While staying at this place, I was able to walk to the city's downtown core, and even when going to places that were beyond walking distance, I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jd307
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear jd307, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located, affordable and that you "liked the...atmosphere..." We hope that you enjoyed your time in Portland and that you were encouraged to come back again soon. We...

Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the 8 bed dorm as it was only $30 for a bed and it's right within walking distance of all of downtown. The location and the friendliness of the staff are the only thing saving it from one star. If you're driving, the parking is incredibly narrow, ended up scratching my rental ever so slightly because of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed J
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ed J, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you found issue with some of your amenities and that you had an issue with the lack of parking but glad to hear that you found us conveniently located to Downtown Portland and that our staff...

San Antonio, TX
Reviewed 27 April 2016

I was in town following my favorite band around the country by myself. I selected this place mainly because of its proximity to the band's venue, as well as the price. I was not disappointed. It is a 5-minute walk from Portland 5's Keller Auditorium. For a drive-out price of $90.37 (on a Tuesday in March), I had a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve B, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located, spacious and affordable. We're glad that you're "very impressed." We hope that you enjoyed the concert! Hoping your travels bring you back again soon! Warm...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Whilst the hotel is nothing special; The person who made our stay so good was the girl on reception named Molly. She gave us a very warm welcome and helped us tremendously with our visit to Portland. The room we had was a bit dated...but it was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, it was right by the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SybSC
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear SyBSC, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with our hotel in general but glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable and that our staff made it a good experience. We do have a friendly and helpful team working here and...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 138 in Portland
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 138 in Portland
1,852 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: €87 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from them and get somewhere else...it is the best way!”
 of 5 bubbles hirohosono, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“# 34 was our room and the owner had just painted and remodeled the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles vld, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
 of 5 bubbles 817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
 of 5 bubbles 883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you have to stay here, be sure to ask for a room away from the street and trains/street cars”
 of 5 bubbles jessmxoxo, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Hostelworld.comUS$64
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates