We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace

Save
Share
2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Residence Inn
US$230
US$200
View deal
Booking.comUS$200
PricelineUS$200
Hotels.comUS$202
Expedia.comUS$202
Agoda.comUS$200
HurbUS$230
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (108)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Updated 09/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#49 of 160 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
***Due to Covid-19, some amenities and facilities may be limited. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We are enforcing enhanced cleanliness and safety measures for all of our guests and staff.*** Feel at home at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace. Located in the thriving Downtown Portland area, our extended stay hotel offers everything you need to enjoy your time in the city. Rest well in our pet friendly suites with fully equipped kitchens, plush Marriott bedding, and separate living and sleeping areas. Before heading out to explore, fuel up with our free hot breakfast served daily. From coffee enthusiasts to nature lovers, Portland is home to an eclectic mix of attractions and activities for travelers of any kind. Use the Portland Streetcar line or Aerial Tram for easy access to the Oregon Convention Center, Moda Center, and Tom McCall Waterfront Park, plus countless boutique stores and local restaurants nearby. Paddle boarding, swimming, and boat tours on the Willamette River are just a few minutes away, offering scenic views of the waterfront without leaving the convenience of downtown. If you’re traveling for business, enjoy easy access to offices at Portland State University, Oregon Health Sciences University, and more. Portland International Airport is just 20 minutes away from our hotel. No matter how long you’re in town, experience this unique city to the fullest at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace. You’ll leave refreshed, recharged, and ready for the next adventure.
Read more
Room & Suite (108)108
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
864Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 433
  • 286
  • 95
  • 31
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jaime S wrote a review 2 May
11 contributions
+1
Not going back, not my first negative experience at a Marriott BonVoy. The staff are clearly not well supported and provided adequate resources from management. There was clear lack of cleanliness of the rooms we booked along with false advertising of their 'grab and go' breakfast. Which was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel and not a neighboring competitor across the street that did not advertise breakfast included. 'Grab and go' breakfast consisted of coffee, water, mini apple juice boxes, power package granola bars, 1 flavor of mini yogurt cups, pre packaged apple slices. That's it. This is not adequate grab and go breakfast, this did not feed my group. Many guest commented about this negativity to each other. Some went to the neighboring competitor hotel across the street and purchased food from its cafe. Some guest, along with myself, purchased what frozen items were left in the 'Marketplace' (Essentially a mini gas station convenience store) which was very empty except for a handful of frozen breakfast sandwiches. When bringing these complaints up to the front desk they said "We apologize but there are COVID restrictions in place." And said they were told to "remind and direct customers to view the hotel website prior to booking in the future." Our group stayed at a competitor hotel chain on the Oregon Coast just the day prior with the same COVID restrictions with a much better grab and go breakfast included. It included coffee, bottle water, bottle milk, bottle chocolate milk, bottle juice options, multiple options of whole fresh fruit, pre packaged bagels and cream cheese, pre packaged Danish, AND FROZEN BREAKFAST SANDWICHES THAT WE DID NOT HAVE TO PURCHASE FROM A 'MARKETPLACE.' All of this is twiddle customer service and false advertising of grab and go breakfast included.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 4 days ago
We appreciate your feedback, JaiSara. It's disheartening to hear that you had such challenges during your time with us. We're disappointed that our cleanliness didn't meet your expectations and that your room wasn't refreshed properly. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is important to us so we'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope for the chance to demonstrate the high-caliber service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests.
Read more
Jenny T wrote a review Oct 2020
23 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I can’t recommend it enough. The rooms are so spacious and have everything you need. Best part is the mattress which somehow beats my temperpedic cloud supreme at home as I slept like a baby. There is no noise at this hotel! Just a quiet, clean comfortable stay every single time we are here. Nowhere better in downtown Portland.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Thank you for the excellent review, Jenny! It's wonderful you had such a fantastic stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/RiverPlace! The comfort and happiness of our guests are important to us. We're thrilled you enjoyed our large and comfortable rooms so much. That's what we like to see! We look forward to hosting you again soon for another amazing experience! Have a fantastic day!
Read more
WestCoastRestless wrote a review Feb 2021
Central Oregon, Oregon192 contributions134 helpful votes
I had a one bedroom suite for two nights, and I liked having the extra space. The unit was clean and the little kitchen was nice (no oven, but a cooktop, full size fridge and microwave). A few things, however, got under my skin. 1) parking is $40/night, so although the rates were good, take that into consideration 2) one of the elevators was out, and due to covid restrictions and allowable people in the elevator, it meant a line formed for the elevator at times, lasting up to 10 minutes or so 3) the grab and go breakfast only consisted of granola bars, bananas, apples and yogurt, with bottled water. no coffee or single-wrapped pastries or bagels. 4) a couple of the breakers were thrown in my room meaning i had to figure out to turn on the electricity for the coffee pot and microwave (trying to save power?). and 5) the remote in for the bedroom tv didn't work and it seemed like half the channels weren't working. The building is right next to construction as well, so ask for a room not overlooking the construction. It's along the river, though, so you can walk down to the river path very easy (less than 2 min). Very centrally located to downtown Portland and the Pearl District is about about 1 mile down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 28 Feb 2021
We appreciate your feedback. It's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We're disheartened that our amenities and services offered weren't up to par with your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll discuss your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope for the chance to host you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
jillg wrote a review Feb 2021
Portland, OR10 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here when we had an extended power outage at our home. Moved here after several days at the Hyatt House which is basically across the street for more space as we weren’t sure how much longer the power would be off. The Hyatt is much newer and cleaner, the only negatives in comparison are the room size is smaller at the Hyatt and the rooms are not as sound proof. This room was, frankly, dirty, which is not a plus during this time. If you look closely nothing had been dusted above eye height. The furniture was stained and scratched. The breakfast compared to the Hyatt was not as good. I would not really recommend staying here unless space is your priority.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 23 Feb 2021
We appreciate the feedback, Jill. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. We regret you weren't entirely satisfied with our furnishings and accommodations. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
Trail815802 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were very grateful that the Residence Inn was able to find our family a two-bedroom suite for a same-day arrival when wildfire smoke displaced us from our home. We wound up extending our stay for a total of six nights. The suite was spacious, and had a fully equipped kitchen that let us cook meals. Best of all, the air conditioning system worked well, and the air quality in the hotel was much better than in our home. The General Manager, Lindsey Ficken, is very dedicated to customer satisfaction.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Thanks for the wonderful review! We're happy your time at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/RiverPlace was so excellent! It's amazing you appreciated our spacious and comfortable accommodations. We endeavor to ensure our guests have a memorable and relaxing experience. We can't wait to host you again soon for another splendid experience! Have a fantastic day!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn portland downtown / riverplace hotel portland, portland residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortlandDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
258
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Nearby attractions include Tilikum Crossing (0.09 km), South Waterfront Park (0.2 km), and Thirst Wine Bar and Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Conveniently located restaurants include McCormick & Schmick's Seafood & Steaks, Little River Cafe, and Il Terrazzo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.