We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Show Prices
#44 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
Edmonton
Reviewed 8 September 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this property. Both visits have been great. The staff is super helpful. My room was great and looked out over the parking lot where my car was...Somehow I like being able to peek out at it and make sure it's ok. I hosted a breakfast in the restaurant for half a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and that you mentioned the free airport shuttle, unique to downtown hotels. As an alternative to walking we also have free bikes which are a fun alternative when visiting Portland; by the way we are the number one biking city...

Mount Vernon, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Because our flight had been delayed we knew we would be arriving in Portland late so we called the hotel to let them know not to cancel our reservation. We would still be coming. The person who answered the telephone assured us that there would be no problem. Unfortunately, when we arrived shortly after 1 a.m. Portland time ( 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny R
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and my sincere apology for not having a room available. On rare occasions a guaranteed room is not available for various reasons because of maintenance or someone not departing as promised. In such an occurrence we would have paid for the guest’s room elsewhere in accordance with our guarantee policy. I sincerely regret the miscommunication for...

Butte, Montana
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Spent a long weekend at Portland and headquartered myself at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. The staff was outstanding; friendly, helpful, caring. My room was very clean and was well maintained by the housekeeper each day. I had breakfast in the dining room and the food was great. The hotel was close to the light rail which made getting around very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill M
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you had a great stay and especially enjoyed the restaurant so much. I look forward to sharing your comments with the restaurant team as they take great pride in their service and quality. I hope you visit often as my staff and I...

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We chose to stay here as we came in on a late flight and they had a free shuttle, but were close to town, it was a good choice. We called the shuttle from the baggage area and it arrived within 15 minutes. The driver was very helpful and friendly (we're not Americans). Room was excellent, good size, good bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sija S
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to recognizing the restaurant team for their outstanding service. Currently we are ranked number 18 of the entire chain of Crowne Plaza Hotels in hotel overall satisfaction, I am so glad...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in an executive suite. Had a lovely view of the city and had a safe for our valuables when the maid came to clean. She front desk staff were extremely helpful and accommodating but when I called for room service the concierge got mad at me when I went to put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsTidwell
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall and that you found our location convenient. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Oak Park, Illinois
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel in early August. Portland was experiencing very warm weather, with high humidity. When we arrived we were told the air conditioning was on the fritz, and we would have a box fan sent to our room, which was like a sauna. Front desk said they would Have the air working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drocton
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I do want to apologize for the failure of air conditioning on the hottest day of the year. I would also like to let future travelers know that we have a state of the art cooling system and a failure of this nature is exceptional. My staff and I were...

Oregon
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Went with friends to see a show at the Wonder Ballroom. Great hotel, affordable, super clean, beds very comfortable and great toiletries. Walking distance to the show and many great dive bars and restaurants. Also, Reverend Nat's cider is 2 blocks away! These guys know how to make some killer cider! Highly recommend staying here and exploring the neighborhoods. Staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LIVIN
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, we like to think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to anything Portland has to offer. I am so glad that you checked out the local restaurants they are quite spectacular and very well...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed in a 9th floor room for a week in August, for some business and some pleasure. It was overall a very good hotel experience. Location: The hotel area is not really centrally located, but it's very easy to go just a block or two and hop on a streetcar, bus or light rail (MAX) for wandering downtown. Free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lnnTky
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry that we fell short in a few areas of service, it appears we could have done better. I will be reviewing your comments with my team in order to improve our service and product. Thank you for staying and I hope you will give us...

West Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The staff went above and beyond the call of duty for them to make sure that we had everything we needed for our stay. The price and location were very good to make another stay a real possibility when we go back to Portland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrentNeilB
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. My entire team is dedicated to providing excellent service I am so glad it shows. Thanks for staying we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here on a family vacation at the end of July/early August. Yes, I give this hotel 4 stars and I have to say that it would have been much lower had it not been for the excellent customer service provided by Manager Meliza. As with many other reviewers, I agree that the parking is ridiculously expensive for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that Meliza was available to address your concern she is a true professional and is dedicated to exceeding our customers’ expectations. I would also like to inform future guests that our parking fees are lower than other area full service hotels and half the...

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (68)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (82)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.4 km away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#9 of 138 in Portland
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.5 km away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#72 of 138 in Portland
319 reviews
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: €159 - €298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles Lccdesign, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Never had a bad room here”
 of 5 bubbles mj2040, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor so you would sleep peacefully at night”
  • TV Guide
 of 5 bubbles AE1084, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room away from elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles BOBandBECKY, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are designated floors for adults only or single people on business travel to keep sound levels low”
 of 5 bubbles vivianl916, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5