We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
11250 NE Holman St, Portland, OR 97220-1097
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$161
Booking.comUS$161
TravelocityUS$161
CandlewoodSuitesUS$161
Vio.comUS$161
HurbUS$169
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#77 of 160 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Guests Love Portland, OR Airport Hotel's Location. Situated in Portland, Oregon near the airport, this hotel's welcoming amenities and cozy surroundings provide the convenience of a hotel and the comfort of an apartment. With downtown Portland just a short drive away and Cascade Station shopping center within walking distance, you'll never run out of things to do here at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Portland - Airport.Corporate travelers looking for Portland, Oregon airport hotels appreciate our free 1.0 mile area shuttle in addition to the perks like free high-speed Internet access. Guests can count on an easy commute to Boeing, Oregon National Guard and the Honda and Toyota Training Centers. There's a boardroom suitable for on-site meetings of up to eight people. Patrons of this hotel in Portland, Oregon are only minutes from Portland's city center, which boasts incredible architecture, shopping and fine dining. Other "must see" area attractions include the Portland Saturday Market and the Oregon Zoo. Guests can literally view the entire city from the OHSU's Portland Aerial Tram. Top-notch amenities like free self-service laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center ensure convenience for guests. You can grill out in the gazebo or relax with a DVD from our free lending library. We offer Park, Stay and Go Packages, too, which include up to 14 days of free parking at the hotel. While in Portland, Oregon, you can "Consider Us Home."
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
266Reviews4Q+A39Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 74
  • 25
  • 12
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steph.D.89 wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
Wow! This place is perfect, I’d rate higher if I could! We stayed for 4 nights while in town for my sister wedding. The check in was easy and the staff here could not be more helpful! The room was HUGE with a full kitchenette and comfy TV chair. Bed was lovely and comfy and air con was amazing. Shower was great with good pressure and the room was spotless. We had family staying in Portland in some of the more expensive hotels and it was agreed that we’d all book here next time rather than the main hotels downtown. This was better for shopping at the Cascade station. We were also just 5 mins back to the airport Thanks for a great stay, we will be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk Candlewood Suites, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear K2342WJmaryg, Thank you so much for your review of our property! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The quality of our newly renovated property as well as our level of customer service is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We look forward to making your next stay just as amazing as your first. Sincerely, Danielle, S Guest Services Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa N wrote a review Dec 2022
Maine30 contributions6 helpful votes
When we first drove up to this property, it did not look like the picture (I think that is a stock photo.) It was hard to tell where the front and where the back of the property was. The main door was a little door with no car port. It was kind of dark and creepy. The parking lot was very cramped so our first impression was kind of apprehensive. But the check in process was very easy and the staff made a point of greeting us every time we left or came back. The actual room was fine and there was a spacious laundry room and work-out room. Other pros and cons...Pros: Very convenient to airport. Comfy beds and pillows. Spacious room with desk that wrapped around a little. We were on Floor 5 with beautiful view of Mt. Hood/sunrise. Kitchenette was handy. They had a borrowing locker so you could borrow things like small appliances (I saw an air fryer) and board games. It was super quiet except for planes which we expect. It was a quick drive to places we needed to go to. The price was reasonable. Cons: Hardly any outlets. There was this big long desk with one outlet underneath the desk. Only one outlet at bedside and no usb ports. Microwave made a large noise (made me wonder if I was zapping myself!) No pool which would have been nice for granddaughter. No tissues and housekeeping only once a week. We go to Portland twice a year so we will seriously consider staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We were in 507 if you want a good view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk Candlewood Suites, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Dear 16lisan, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary amenities that we offer to our guests. An amazing guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and rating. We hope you will visit us again soon and we look forward to providing you with an amazing and comfortable stay again in the near future! Sincerely, Danielle, S Guest Services Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nancy S wrote a review Dec 2022
skimpy, nothing extra but charges that I'm still trying to get off my credit card. no kleenex, single ply TP, no towel racks, noisy broke down fridge, charged twice for $50 damage fee and only one charge was reversed. still disputing that one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk Candlewood Suites, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Dec 2022
Dear Nancy, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that this was a part of your experience during your stay with us. While we do empathize with your frustrations, we do feel that it is important to clarify that after looking over your reservation in detail you were charged once at check in for a refundable deposit and at check out once our housekeeping team verified your room had zero smoking or damages in it, we then refunded your full $50.00 deposit back to you. We sent you receipts reflecting that full refund as well as explaining to you that it can take 7-10 business days for that refund to reflect positively into your bank account. These are our standard hotel operating procedures and once we issue a refund on our end we have absolutely no control on how long it will take for your bank to process that refund, but I am positive your bank will be reaching back out to you shortly to reassure you that a dispute is not needed as there were no overcharges to your bank account. We apologize that your experience did not meet expectations and we truly appreciate your feedback and will share this with our team so that we may continue to improve our services.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MtBakerFarm wrote a review May 2022
Eastsound, Washington39 contributions9 helpful votes
I am an IHG member and always try to stay at the Candlewood hotels. We made our yearly reservation at the Candlewood Portland airport a month ago and paid for a suite with two queen beds. When we arrived, we had been downgraded to a room with only one queen bed. On top of that, they insisted that my reservation was not refundable. After much discussion they agreed to cancel my reservation and we ended up staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites, which is a better hotel anyway. But I lost the good rate that i had secured by booking in advance. Needless to say, that is the last stay I will ever have at the IHG Chain and Candlewood in particular. I am very surprised that Candlewood would willingly let a long standing relationship go, but obviously they do not value that relationship.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk Candlewood Suites, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear MtBakerFarm, As an IHG® Rewards member we appreciate your loyalty and are deeply saddened to hear that this was a part of your experience. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We apologize for any inconviences you incurred at check in. We try to keep the check in process as smooth and efficient as possibe while also clearly outlining our hotels policies in order to reduce any missunderstandings throughout your stay. We appreciate your patience and understanding, and we will share your feedback with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We hope you will visit us again, so we can have another oppurtunity to better serve you during your next stay. Sincerely, Danielle, S Guest Services Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelnursepdx wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
+1
I stayed at this Hotel while traveling for business and I would highly recommend this Hotel. The room was comfortable and I really enjoyed having the full kitchen. This made it much more comfortable for the longer stay. I was able too cook my own meals and check out some appliances from the lobby during my stay. Location was also great for nearby restaurants and shopping. Cascade station is within 5 mins and there were great dinning options. Housekeeping did great weekly cleans and everyone at the front desk was very kind.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Corner suites are a little larger and quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk Candlewood Suites, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear Travelnurseportland7, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary amenties that we offer to our guests. We are also pleased to hear that you liked our new rennovations we've made to our property. An amazing guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and rating. We hope you will visit us again soon and we look forward to providing you with an amazing and comfortable stay again in the future! Sincerely, Danielle, S Guest Services Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KH wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
This hotel is literally running a complete scam and stealing money from their guest. They charge your card for incidentals and upon check out they say that you damaged their towels. I didn't even use any of their towels, and once I seen the scam they were running I returned the UNUSED clean towels to the "co owner" Sharon who signed for each towel that i returned. I had 3 towels left in the room a brown dish towel and bath towel that I used to lay my clothes on. Upon checking out I returned the towels to the front desk and had the attendant sign for them. I look at my CC statement and my deposit was not returned. I called the hotel and spoke to Ashley the Ast. General Manager that didn't have time to talk to me because she was over due for getting off the clock. I advised her that I had pictures of the towels and I wanted my money NOW. She said there needed to be an investigation. I asked her to get the copy of the paper that was signed by the co owner and refund my money she said she couldn't do that. She said she needed to speak to housekeeping that cleaned my room. Well housekeeping never came in contact with the towels. Besides i have a document signed that i return the towels to the co owner. I left the room clean meticulously. I mopped the floor, wiped the inside of the fridge and freezer, took down my shower curtain, mopped the bathroom floor, removed linen from the bed and left in a nice neat pile. Well it was removed the first day i got there because I have my own. I even wiped down the dressers, tables and tv stand and even ran the dishwasher even though I never used any of the dishes. I left NOTHING dirty. My coworkers even came to my room and spoke of how clean my room was. If the white towels are in fact dirty it is most likely from the NASTY BROWN water coming from the faucet and was done after the clean towels were signed for. When I reported this I was advised to let the water run for 20-30 mins which I did and still had brown water after the running. This same scam was ran on other ppl that I know that was staying there as well. I asked for the pictures of the towels that were dirty and they could not provide them until after the investigation. This is the absolute worst hotel ever. The laundry is free but the machine leaves stains on your clothes and the dryer is older than dirt and takes 2 hours. The walls are paper thin and you hear EVERYTHING in the room next door. They lock the front door at dust and you need to use your key to open the door even though it say doors lock and 10 or 11pm. They say there is security but all the many cars in the parking lot were robbed, many windows on cars were broken out on another day, but instead of security they lock you out.   Oh and lets not talk about the fact they the hotel does well being checks if the housekeepers don't clean your room. They ramble through your belonging and leave an not in the door that they were there. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL! The will steal your money and not keep your safety as a priority.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2022
Hi Travellyffe, Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We want to be your home base where you can truly feel free to make yourself at home. I am sorry to hear there were disappointing aspects to your stay. I have shared your comments with the hotel management and have also sent you a private message to obtain additional information. Again, thanks for your feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael E wrote a review Sep 2021
Vancouver, Washington235 contributions115 helpful votes
We got an ideal room and everything worked well. One issue came up and the hotel and staff dealt with it as well as I can imagine--and I am in hotels a very lot. Laundry a real savior, and all worked well, no cost. Good location. Internet was fine. Will be back, and very thankful for the help we got. Special thanks to Sharon & Katie & Ashley, who helped us out a lot. And to others on the staff of course. A great team.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HAMPTONUNIVPIRATE wrote a review Jul 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada1792 contributions133 helpful votes
Great service!! The hotel is clean. Park on the front side of the hotel. Great free laundry room. Pretty close to the PDX Airport. If you have a dog there was a large grassy area. We will return if EVER in the area!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nord wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
Did not realize they reserved the right to sell my information. Also there seems to be a judgement towards certain categories of people. This is very upsetting because the entire vist was amazing!! Until meeting the manager of the hotel. She at first seemed concerned be this quickly turned to a very intrusive and space invading experience. Did not feel comfortable for the rest of the stay after this encounter. Will not disclose anymore information about this incident due to feeling my safety is at risk. To top it off a rash appeared after the first night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rash appeared after staying at hotel. Spend more at a different hotel. You get what you pay for
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Josan, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear AdventureTime420, Thank you for your feedback. While we do sincerely appreciate you bringing to light your concerns, we do feel the need to clarify some statements made as they do not accurately reflect the situation in its entirety. First, we do not, nor have we ever sold anyone's information. Secondly, in regards to the rash you have mentioned, we find this relation to be very surprising as our team had given you two brand new sets of linens and pillows twice that day and we are newly renovated so all of our linens and bedding are brand new. The products we use to clean all linens are ECOLAB Products which are known for being the premier choice when it comes to eco-friendly non-irritating cleaning products. This is because ECOLAB Products are fragrance free and specialized for use without the need of gloves or masks because they do not cause agitation on the skin (though our staff does use PPE when handling these items for the ensured health and safety of guests and staff as part of our IHG WAY OF CLEAN PROMISE). Third, during your stay our management and team had several reports of your odd behaviors including but not limited to incidents of walking around the hotel shirtless, throwing towels down at the front desk staff, playing loud music with the door open (which when asked to turn the music down, you responded with "Why should I? When are quiet hours?" This showed a clear lack of concern for your neighbors including our traveling nurses who stay at the hotel and sleep during the day) and finally, throwing up in the common area trash. It was the last event that brought concern to our management combined with the training our team has to identify situations where individuals may be a harm to themselves or others due to various forms of intoxication. As the manager, I tried to ask you if you were okay and needed water, you refused and then when I asked you if you were on any substances that could affect your physical well being you responded threateningly with "You don't want to go there". As you were here for company business, we believed it necessary to notify the paying party that we may not be able to continue your stay here at the hotel and the reasons for why. We truly do feel that it was unfortunate for the events to occur this way as it is never our intention to create a poor experience for our guests - however, for the safety and security of other guests and our staff, we do believe we made the correct call. We appreciate you giving the Candlewood Suites an opportunity to serve you and hope you enjoy future stays at other IHG properties when in Portland. Best Regards, Sharon J. Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petra W wrote a review Oct 2019
Maitland, Florida89 contributions17 helpful votes
We normally stay at Hilton properties ourselves but as our boss is a IHG guy and is paying for our stay we ended up at the Candlewood Suites. I wasn’t too thrilled with the idea at first but they have sure changed my mind at this location. Sure, it’s not the most modern, the lounge chair in the room is about to fall apart, but the room, hotel and grounds are kept up very well and are clean! Also they’ve gone above and beyond to accommodate us as we’ve had to extend our stay multiple times due to our truck being in the shop much longer than anticipated and they’ve managed to continue to upgrade us even though we know it’s been very hard on them (availability) to do so. So we want to let you all know how much we appreciate you guys and especially Jacob, Brandon, Jane and Molly have been amazing! Another thing I frequently noticed was the man who runs the shuttle a lot, I think he’s originally from Cuba and I only mention this because I don’t know his name but want to make sure he’s not forgotten, I’ve seen him out every time to pick up trash from the grounds people don’t bother putting in the many ashtrays and garbage cans they have around the hotel. To me that shows a level of pride and care in your job! And he’s been out and about while it’s still dark in the morning to do this! We will definitely come back here when in the Portland area! Thanks so much Jacob and staff!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$158 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
candlewood suites - portland airport hotel portland
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CANDLEWOOD SUITES PORTLAND-AIRPORT, AN IHG HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Grotto - National Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother (1.1 km), Gateway Green cycling park (0.9 km), and The Story Garden (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro 23, Shari's Cafe and Pies, and Sidelines Restaurant & Sports.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Candlewood Suites Portland-Airport, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.