We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Modera

515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Offers & Announcements
Valet parking for $1.00!
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Portland Art Museum
    0.4 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 27 March 2014
Central and a great conversion
This is a stylish, fun hotel, converted from some old thing that... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,799 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Modera
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,754: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a stylish, fun hotel, converted from some old thing that used to be there many years ago when I lived in Portland. We especially loved the veranda area with its greenery, seating and fireplaces - very inviting right in the middle of the city. We also loved the great location - easy to walk anywhere - waterfront, downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
Ketchum, Idaho
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I booked a non refundable 2 queen bed room thru orbitz. When I arrived they said they were oversold and had only a king. Not what I had ordered and paid for. The manager was quite pleasant and offered to comp me dinner and give me a free second room if one opened up. My key frustration is the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H P B
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review

Dear H P B, Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. While we knew we were in a bind in regards to your reservation, we unfortunately did not have any of your contact information as you booked through a third party. When reservations are made through third parties such as Orbitz or Expedia, the reservation...

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent location, tiny room, spotty wifi, which was the real deal breaker. $30 parking, noisy even on 5th floor. Did not feel like a 4 star experience... Even as I type, wifi in and out on I phone. I pad no better. Had a screaming deal, and mildly satisfied. I feel for those who pay retail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogue_00
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review

Dear Rogue_00, Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. In today’s world we know that WiFi plays an important role, and our guests expect to log in and maneuver their gadgets with ease. I will bring this to the attention of my IT support and see if there is anything amiss. In regards to parking,...

Mountlake Terrace, Washington
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I love the modern design of this hotel. It was really clean, and the staff were really nice. It's is in a very good location close to businesses and restaurants. The bed was quite comfortable. The elevator requires you to use an access card to go up to your rooms, which is an added security measure though some people might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DafnyV
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review

Dear DafnyV, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay! I am happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay, found the staff friendly, and the décor to your liking! Thank you also for bringing to our attention your concerns about out toilet paper. We want every aspect of your stay to be enjoyable, and we will...

Oregon
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We received a gift certificate to stay here and so we choose to celebrate our anniversary this weekend there. Reservations and check in were very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the outside bar area and had both drinks and food - all very good. As others have mentioned room is a bit on the small side but that was not a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GLRH2014
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review

Dear GLRH2014, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Modera. I am very happy that you experienced a smooth and friendly check in, and that you were able to dine at Nel Centro. I also want to thank you for bringing to my attention some issues about your stay. I will address your concerns and see...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Pricing was reasonable with the special tripadvisor $1 parking. Room was a bit small but not claustrophobic by any means. Had the door that covers the closet and then slides to cover the bathroom that others talked about, but it worked find. You should note that the bathroom door didn't look or shut as tight as some others if that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'm happy that I found this chic little hotel through Hot Wire. From check-in to check-out, the staff was friendly and efficient. We were initially given one bed for 3 people (I had reserved for 3 online), but they were able to correct the matter within minutes. I didn't mind that the fitness centre was a couple blocks away, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theshoppingfoodie
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good location. This is a second stay for us. We stayed four days this time. Happy hour in the restaurant was too busy to get service and not too polite when it came. Housekeeping made up room late in the afternoon which was inconvenient as we had already come back from a day out. Jonny gave excellent suggestions for local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NanBC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My daughter and I booked this room months in advance for my birthday. The front desk staff was awesome, along with the valet. The room was small, and the bathroom was horrible! The shower and toilet were one in the same. The floor of the entire bathroom was wet which is gross. And...there was no counter space in the bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mmurphyoh
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review

Dear Mmurphyoh, Happy Belated Birthday! I am very pleased to hear that you were impressed with our front desk and valet staff. It’s always good to hear when a guest receives excellent customer service. For your next reservation, I would like to recommend that you reserve on our website. There it lists all of our available room types including their...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My friend and I (2 middle aged women) were given a handicapped room. The shower enclosure was a curtain to the floor that did not keep the water in completely. There was no mirror over the desk/counter in the bedroom so we had to prep in the morning one at a time in the bathroom. The full length mirror sliding...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review

Dear Susan S, Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera for your ladies get-away. I am very glad that you enjoyed Nel Centro. I have tried almost everything on the menu and it never disappoints. The chef, David Machado, changes the offerings seasonally and I am excited to try what he has in store. I’m pleased you found the lobby lovely....

688 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
1:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Premiere Double Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Premiere Garden King Room (56)
Viewed
Premiere King Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 137 in Portland
2,569 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
1,191 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 137 in Portland
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: €141 - €269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Modera staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
over a year ago
3 months ago
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
over a year ago
San Diego, California
over a year ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Modera staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor, front was fine as we didn't have any problems with noise”
 of 5 bubbles 398bettyw, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not face the outside parking lot!!”
 of 5 bubbles cmn847, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have city view.”
 of 5 bubbles Debi V, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked the street and it was super quiet!!”
 of 5 bubbles SueR545, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The brunch on Sunday was totally worth checking out.”
 of 5 bubbles beautifuleva, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5