We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Portland International Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Portland International Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portland International Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Booked in for 6 nights in January and was so good had to return for 3 more at the end of holiday. Very clean and tidy and within easy access to downtown Portland which is my new favorite city! Definately be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
B.C.
Reviewed 1 November 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this room in Portland for two nights. I wanted the usual; clean, safe, inexpensive and well situated. And that's exactly what I found at the Portland International Guesthouse! I could also add; interesting, welcoming, friendly and fun to that list! First though, if you can't do stairs this won't be for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dsnewtime
vancouver bc
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Spotless Great Location Very accommodating hosts Lovely room Nice breakfast choices Well priced. What more can you say. I would go back and highly recommend the guesthouse. Truly an amazing part of town. Nob Hill area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kits90
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We were welcomed by Tim as we unloaded our luggage before parking our car in the permit area. It is true that parking is tight but if you go up the hill a couple of blocks from the guesthouse you should be able to score a space. We kept our car parked for four days as everything we wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fisher_eye_lens
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Best part is location; we parked the car (using the pass supplied) and walked to everything the first two days. Easy to get to Powell's and the rest of the west, and restaurants and groceries are one or two blocks away. Weakest parts are the breakfast (self-serve, and they ran out of coffee and bread the first day, and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
stephenpdxgh, Owner at Portland International Guesthouse, responded to this review

Sorry your experience was not optimum. Regarding coffee, milk, etc..., sometimes we run out as guests use the products. We always hope that guests call us if we are out of anything, we always have back up. Regarding doors, etc..., not aware of any sticking doors but it is an old house but we strive to maintain it well.

Vancouver
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Great guesthouse in Portland - well located with many restaurants, bars, and shops in close proximity. It's a 10 min walk to the 'Brewer's Block' and 25 mins to the river. The guesthouse is very clean with free wifi. Yes you have to share bathrooms but was never an issue for us. There is cereal, bread, spreads, milk, juice, tea,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ali-e-s-c
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The best deal in town. For $80, I slept in a large, comfortable, air-conditioned room on the quietest street of a walkable neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars. Check-in was self-service; I never met an employee. The shared bathrooms were clean, well-maintained, and usually (but not always) available. If you're driving, I do suggest splurging for the $9 parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NC-Traveler-47
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My friend and I were looking for affordable accommodation close to the Providence Park soccer stadium, as her daughter was playing in the women's team. We found this guesthouse via Trip Advisor and reviews sounded promising: affordable, clean, great location, helpful owners. Let me just say that every positive review you read about this wonderful gem is all true. From...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jenny C
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This B&B is fabulous. Very inexpensive! Clean, comfortable and the host is great to talk with. He gave us fantastic advice on where to visit and places to get excellent food. The neighborhood is fabulous, very walkable. The entire experience felt like being a welcomed guest at a friend's house. The room we had (#3, I think) had shared bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bionerd7865
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I used to live in Portland so we haven't had occasion to stay in many hotels here. I was blown away by the cost of various traditional hotels when planning a getaway to PDX recently for a friend's wedding. We elected to go with the low cost option, and wondered why anyone would pay 2-3x as much to stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank faeanna

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 137 in Portland
2,566 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 137 in Portland
680 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 137 in Portland
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#13 of 137 in Portland
1,185 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Portland International Guesthouse

Address: 2185 NW Flanders Street, Portland, OR 97210
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Price Range: €61 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portland International Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Portland International Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was Number 6. We have only compliments to it.”
 of 5 bubbles JMangSP, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you have heavy cases you may want to consider rooms on 2nd floor rather than the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lightingjohn, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room seems to be both convenient and quiet. Room 3 is off the kitchen, though, and some might not like to be this close to other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles OscarLind, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Corner suites are large and sunny”
 of 5 bubbles 3578roses, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Book early to get to choose room”
 of 5 bubbles hoddynoddy, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5