We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Westcliff Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Westcliff Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Westcliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 603: English reviews
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We stayed a couple of nights and enjoyed our stay.We had a river view. It was large, clean and outside the bed being a little lumpy-overall a good value with a great view.The gotchas? a heater that sounded like a 747 taking off. It also had a hard time keeping the room warm, hot it can do. The other was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrjke
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and letting us know about that heater! We'll check out the heater thermostat to make sure it's working correctly, and replace it if it's not cooperating. Glad you enjoyed hanging your hat with us, thanks again!

North Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This hotel is not in downtown Hood River, as I had expected, but it was easy to get to/from with our rental car. The Lodge is surprisingly big, with lots of different buildings. We had a King Bed with a balcony overlooking the River. The view was AWESOME! The room was nice and big, even had a dining table and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blueyeris
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We're always glad guests choose to visit us visit after visit; it's a privilege we always have to earn. We'll keep making improvements throughout the property as well. Thanks again!

san leandro
Reviewed 31 October 2015

When we first drove up our initial response was "another old-outdated motel" to our surprise the room we booked was right on the river, the room was fairly large, and the beds were firm, it also had a small balcony. The property sits right on the Columbia river . This place is Pet Friendly and charges a fee(i think $10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregglaker77
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad we could pleasantly surprise you! We'll continue updating and adding new features for guests to enjoy as well, so there's always going to be something new to check out. Thanks again!

Reviewed 29 October 2015

The Lodge property is beautiful but the rooms and building need some upgrading The rooms were spacious and clean, although you can hear your neighbors quite well, ours apparently needed several showers morning and night. The view makes up for it. Only downside was the coffee maker in our room did not work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, we are remodeling and updating our River View rooms right now with some new furniture and nice pieces we hope guests will enjoy. If you could give me a call here at the office and let me know which room you were in, we'll have that little coffee maker replaced (we're checking them all now...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

We were in Hood River for the Coubia Gorge Marathon and stayed at this place. It was very clean, the staff was friendly and the views were spectacular. We were grateful that we were allowed to come back after checking out to shower after the marathon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, that was a nice run! After that marathon, a nice warm shower is always good. Glad you had a great weekend with us, thanks again!

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We booked the riverside suite at the Vagabond and were not disappointed. The lodge doesn't seem like much when you drive up, there is a motel section by the office, and the river view rooms are in a separate, more secluded building back away from the noise of I-84. Our room was on the top floor and we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nobodysmama
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your very detailed review! We're taking care of those extras you mentioned. Glad you enjoyed the views and the work we're doing with and around the property. Yes, only our original building is visible from the front, which helps create the quiet relaxing atmosphere out back overlooking the river. Thanks again!

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We had a room with a balcony and a great river view. The Lodge property is beautiful but the rooms and building need some upgrading (carpets and bathrooms), not a lot to be done in order to upgrade my rating from very god to excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and we're working on those very things now! We're remodeling rooms this winter, and hope you enjoy your stay with us even more next time you visit. Thanks again!

Etna, Wyoming
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Old hotel, very basic room, truly one the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in! Delightful staff, well maintained grounds. Fantastic White Buffalo restaurant in the parking lot. Partial view room #19 had straight on view of the river and gorgeous huge walnut trees.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BishopsFromWyoming
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, we have a number of buildings/rooms to choose from; we built and opened our newest one a little over a year ago. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us, we'll continue to make improvements throughout the grounds. Thanks again!

Barnes, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Excellent remodeled rooms with new comfortable beds and superb view of the Columbia River minutes from downtown Hood River. Beautiful grounds with trees and flowers. The outside of the buildings need paint but inside the rooms are great. The desk and maid staff were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank North01
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review; glad you like the work we're doing in the rooms! We'll keep it up plus build a few more nice surprises, and yes painting buildings is in the schedule. Thanks again!

Keizer, Oregon
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the Vagabond. We had a third story river view room. Even though it wasn't a suite, the room was still very spacious. The bed was on the soft side and very comfortable. There was a mini-refrigerator and those are always handy to have. Best of all was the view ... just an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark L
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit with us! You are right, we don't go for the over-the-top lux because we philosophically believe that all our guests should be able to enjoy time with us without breaking the bank. It's one of those things that my grandparents believed when they started the hotel, having grown up during the...

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (35)
Viewed
Kitchen Suite with Jacuzzi (55)
Viewed
Partial View Room (26)
Viewed
River View Room (38)
Viewed
River View Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.3 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
630 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.3 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
186 reviews
27.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Price Range: €90 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You definitely want to be looking at the Columbia River.”
 of 5 bubbles 470PaulP, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful view with small balcony on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles DEG16, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closest to the freeway are cheapest. In back are the river view rooms, cabins with fireplaces. A new group of rooms on the east side.”
 of 5 bubbles mgguy2016, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We like ADA-accessible rooms because the shower has a seat. This hotel is right off I-84 so rooms closer to the river might be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles peggym631, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1 room suites with river view have large stone fireplaces, I think they are in the last building, so it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 219joanneg, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5