We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Westcliff Lodge

Expedia.comUS$99*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Westcliff Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 643: English reviews
Start your review of Westcliff Lodge
 Click to rate
Troy, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in Room 50, a one bedroom "suite" having a queen in the bedroom as well as a queen bed in the "living room." This was the last stop on our vacation and could not have asked for a more comfortable room. FRIENDLY staff at check in, the room was waiting for us with the heat on. Room 50...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D L
Fernley, Nevada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was an absolutely bargin for this Hidden Gem. I got the river vier and it was so beautiful to wake up and see the green and the river in the background. The rooms are actually very spacious and the staff is so Nice. The only drawback is a small bathroom. Trust me this is the place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The property is good no smells and room clean bed restfull I would come back but miss swimming pool and hot tub. My feeling is it is probuly the best I have stayed at for a while and would not stop anyone from stayinh there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank allenl757
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Positives: Great Location, Clean rooms, great view, Negatives: The property has huge potential, but grounds were in need of some of repair and refreshing. The lawn was full of weeds, the paint was peeling and the grounds in general need some upkeep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5423YQchrisc
Seattle
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

grounds of the hotel are stunning. we enjoyed walking the property with our dogs. unfortunately, we couldn't take a hot shower (likely due to a problem with the mixing valve), we got plain warm water. rather disappointing after a long drive in the car. when i mentioned the problem at checkout, I didn't even receive an apology and the implication...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erin0805
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sorry you felt like there were unspoken implications! We'll take a look at that mixing valve. We are limited in our water temperature 120 degrees due to anti-scald laws, and we'll check the tanks as well. The room you were in, #28, is a suite, so it is one of our more expensive rooms. Please do...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

A cost effective way to enjoy Hood River with river views from your room. The wine glasses on the table by the window were much appreciated. When it got too cold to sit on the balcony we could move to the table and still look on the river. They also gave us very good recommendations for food and a map...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljhsquared
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review! The days are starting to get longer and warmer, so we'll have more chance to be outside on the balconies with a local wine. Thanks again!

Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night and very good for the price. Clean room and comfortable beds and great location along the river. We were in a courtyard room which meant we heard traffic most of the night but the river view rooms would be quieter and at $30 extra, I would say would be well worth the additional cost. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisawhistler
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, our Riverview rooms are set farther away from the road, on our cliff overlooking the Columbia River. Please do give us a call next time you visit Hood River and we can reserve a very quiet Riverview room for you. Thanks again!

Gibsons, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here 3 times, and have never been disappointed. Will continue to stay here when passing through. Always nice to walk around the grounds in the morning to see the morning sun on the Columbia River.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenm527
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us each time you pass through Hood River! We've got some more plans for the grounds, so your morning walk will keep getting better and better. Thanks again!

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay here. The view of the river was great, our room was comfortable and we really appreciated the balcony. Two amenities we liked were the nice table and chairs in the room, as well as a refrigerator that was bigger than the tiny one we usually find in hotel rooms. The grounds were nice, and it was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank experiencebuff
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you had a great time visiting us! We're going to build a few more viewpoints to enjoy the view as well, thanks again!

Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely property located on the river with beautiful grounds and views. We were there in April so there was a bit of rain but not enough to stop us exploring. I can imagine it would be even better in Summer. Friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable. Just a short drive into Hood River.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yep, there are some mixed April weather here, but it usually becomes sunny quickly. The nice thing about a little warm rain in April is that everything blooms in May when it's typically sunny and 70 degrees (a great time to go hiking and my personal favorite month in Hood River). Thanks again!

481 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (35)
Viewed
Kitchen Suite with Jacuzzi (55)
Viewed
Partial View Room (26)
Viewed
River View Room (38)
Viewed
River View Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.3 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.3 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
3.5 km away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
320 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Price Range: €88 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view rooms, suites.”
566DL566, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top Foor of the Riverview Rooms”
  • Room View
  • Best Showerhead Ever!
  • Well-lit Bathroom
  • T V, Frig and Microwave
  • Blue Bird
RushCubFan, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room on the second or third floor.”
HappityTravely, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for a river view on the top floor so you don't have to listen to the upstairs neighbor stomping on the ceiling”
lowlander46, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You definitely want to be looking at the Columbia River.”
470PaulP, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$99* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$99
Booking.comUS$99
PricelineUS$99
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates