We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (593)
Pool & Beach (80)
Room & Suite (40)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 05/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Surfsand Resort
Updated 05/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Cannon Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is just steps from Haystack Rock and has sweeping coastline views to the north and south. These views include not only Haystack Rock but also Tillamook Head Lighthouse. The full-service Surfsand Resort features stylish, contemporary guest rooms and suites with a serene, tranquil vibe and a lot of fun extras that will make your stay memorable and your return visit a good bet. Wi-fi, lux bath amenities, deep soaking tubs and seasonal beachfront Cabana service are just a few of the touches that will make your stay laid back and fun. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Beach
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
3939Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3,047
  • 651
  • 168
  • 53
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Frenz5iron wrote a review 26 Sep
Dallas, Texas9 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed for 4 nights with a family of 5 in a 2-BR unit. This place was wonderful. Room was fantastic with plenty of room, mini fridge, microwave, jacuzzi tub, very nice shower. Right on the beach. Beautiful views of haystack rock from our porch. Free bike rentals (kids loved riding on the beach). Free nightly community bonfires on the beach with s’mores, including an option to have your own private fire (we did 1 night). Free coffee, tea, cider, hot coca, and cookies. Great pool, hot tub, and gym. 10 minute walk to “town” with restaurants, ice cream, stores. A huge shout out to “Zack” the bonfire man. He was fantastic. Can’t wait to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Surfsand Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Making sure you felt at home with us here at Surfsand Resort was our goal and we loved reading we succeeded. Thank you! It was a treat being able to share all of amazing amenities and activities with you, and we are thrilled Zack left a lasting impression! The bonfires are my favorite too! We are just as eager to have you back so don't wait too long!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mbernst106 wrote a review 20 Sep
Pompano Beach, Florida46 contributions20 helpful votes
We just spent a night at the Surfsand resort and were so pleasantly surprised! We were warmly welcomed and provided maps and recommendations for the area. It was my husband's birthday and Jeanne and team went out of their way to make him feel special. They offered us a bottle of wine and a personal bonfire setup for us that evening on the beach to watch sunset over Haystack Rock and make s'mores. It was perfect! The room was very spacious, well equipped, clean and comfortable with great views of Haystack and the entire coast. Could not have asked for a more wonderful night in Cannon Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If your budget allows, the King Patio room on the top floor overlooking the beach and Haystack...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Surfsand Resort
Responded 6 days ago
We are so happy you chose Surfsand Resort for your husband's special day! We loved making it memorable with our personal touches and attention to detail. I will be sure to let Jeanne and everyone know how much you appreciated it all. The bonfires on the beach are one of my favorites too! I hope you can return to Cannon Beach soon to enjoy us further!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveller08Florida wrote a review 18 Sep
Florida17 contributions28 helpful votes
It was clear something was off when we checked in. The friendly, attentive greetings we’ve grown accustomed to over the years were gone — replaced with abrupt, perfunctory responses. Then we learned the Surfsand had been sold to new owners effective July 1. Under the new ownership, hospitality is lacking significantly. It was very disappointing given our previous stellar experiences. Hopefully, the new corporate ownership will invest in an experienced management team and turn it around. For now, the Surfsand has lost its special feel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Surfsand Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Surfsand Resort surely is a special property. Our goal is to continue its' legacy and provide the five-star service guests are accustomed to. Your feedback is extremely helpful and we will discuss this internally so we can better serve you in the future. As we make a few adjustments, I am positive we can regain your trust. we hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff N wrote a review 16 Sep
Las Vegas, Nevada42 contributions33 helpful votes
Stayed here for four nights as a reward after all the teenagers were back at school. It was great. The room was well appointed, with a soaking tub and a nice shower. The bed was comfortable and had lot of pillows. A Keurig coffee maker, mini fridge, and some dishes and cutlery were available. Dog owners will appreciate the dog bowls and extra towels for your pet. An in-room tablet gives you access to restaurant reservations, room service, service requests, and more. A very nice feature to have. Service at Surfsand was impeccable. The first night we thought that the TV remote wasn't working. I sent in a service request via the tablet expecting that it would be fixed the next day. A service person arrived at our door about 10 minutes later to assist. Turned out there were two remotes and we were using the wrong one. But the point is that they were super prompt. The hotel is right on the beach, so if your windows are open you'll hear ocean waves crashing all night. It's about a two minute walk to the Haystack Rocks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Reserve well in advance and get one of the Beachfront Suites
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Surfsand Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Jeff, nothing beats a beautiful getaway to celebrate back to school! We are so glad you chose Surfsand Resort as we love pampering our guests with our prompt and personal service! I am thrilled to hear we were able to assist with that remote right away and ensure a flawless experience. Our goal is to provide all the comforts of home in our spacious guest rooms. We are pleased to hear we succeeded for you. Hopefully, you can return to enjoy our picturesque waterfront location again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I had the opportunity to stay at the SurfSand in Cannon Beach this past May with my husband for a week to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. Our stay was fantastic. The location of the resort, the views from the room and the amenities cannot be beat. Quiet, private, and romantic. The staff was always friendly, gracious, and helpful. I added on some goodies to our room like flowers, beer and chocolates and it went off without a hitch, everything within the resort was perfect! That being said, I also added on/booked (attempted to) the photo shoot with the local photographer, Sarah McCallister 4 months in advance. Her services are not worth your time. She is unprofessional and completely flaked on us for a week with one excuse after another as to why she could not perform the photo shoot with us every day. The weather, no childcare and finally she was ill. Yes, we encountered rain, but it cleared out every day by midday, so it was possible every day. Bottom line, she did not want to fulfill or perform her obligation. Fortunately, I was not out any money upfront, but it was a special occasion and my husband and me had not had professional photos done in 19 years and thought it would be great to share this wonderful trip in family pics. Would not recommend the Wayfarer Restaurant. Service was a complete debacle. Saw our waiter once, steak was raw (asked for medium), and waited almost an hour for a check. I had to go up to the hostess desk and ask for my check.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Surfsand Resort
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Janet, it was our pleasure to welcome you and your husband for your very special getaway. We are pleased you enjoyed our team's warm, friendly service and the ambiance of our resort. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with that local photographer to help out our future guests. Your feedback regarding our on-site restaurant will be reviewed by our team and we do apologize for any disappointments you had. From all of us here at Surfsand Resort, we wish you both a very Happy 24th Anniversary and look forward to celebrating more special occasions with you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ritz46 wrote a review Aug 2022
San Francisco, California74 contributions31 helpful votes
Hotel has no signage so finding office to register is an issue. Whole facility is a mob scene, noise and pets everywhere. Lots of walking to get to restaurant. Not sure what the attraction is here but rooms are just ok, nothing extraordinary and not inexpensive. Typical mid level resort and office help acts like doing you a favor by answering concerns. Guess they can get the price because is a big tourist town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you are happy looking at a big rock ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Surfsand Resort
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Thank you for the time you took to share your impressions of our resort. While our team was happy to have been able to address any concerns you had during your visit, we regret if you were not fully impressed by our accommodations or if you did not find them to be of good value. We hope you will one day return to Surfsand Resort so we can treat you to your ideal accommodations and the top-tier hospitality you deserve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter F wrote a review Aug 2022
Augusta, Georgia10 contributions4 helpful votes
We spent a summer weekend at the Surfsand Resort. It was awesome. The location is wonderful...steps from the beach and the Haystack Rock. The room was very comfortable and clean. We used room service thru their affiliated restaurant, The Wayfarer. The hotel provides some added perks, such as free bicycle usage and evening smores on the beach at sunset. The village of Cannon Beach is very cool and just a short walk downtown from the resort. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Surfsand Resort
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Thanks for sharing your five-stars, Peter! It brings us great joy to know that stunning views of Haystack Rock and our proximity to downtown Cannon Beach were highlights of your visit. We're thrilled to hear you took the opportunity to unwind with our complimentary bicycle rentals and evening s'mores, and can't wait to welcome you for another incredible stay at Surfsand Resort!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lovin beaches wrote a review Jul 2022
Kansas50 contributions18 helpful votes
Wonderful views, clean rooms, comfy beds, and pet-free room. Our room was a corner view ocean front. We had west view n north views from our bed! Amazing! Def recommend! Sweet staff too! Had s’mores n fire on beach included n free cookies! We’ve stayed on coast several times n this by far was best ever!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephanie C wrote a review Jul 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
We had an ocean view room here overlooking the beach and loved it. The view of Haystack rock from the beach at this resort is beautiful. Our kids loved the nightly campfire s’mores on the beach. We loved people watching and seeing the sunset from our hotel. The employees were attentive and seemed happy to be there. The town of Cannon Beach has a great vibe. So glad we visited!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
delapNorthwest wrote a review Jul 2022
Bellingham, Washington115 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
We had reservations at another hotel which turned out to not be as advertised. After calling Surfsand they did have a room available. The staff were extremely helpful. We initially had tried to get reservations there, but they were booked. Surfsand has been our place to stay in Cannon Beach and we were so glad it worked out! Stayed in corner room on 2nd floor of office building. Had view if Haystack Rock and beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$199 - US$433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
surfsand resort cannon beach, surfsand hotel cannon beach
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastCannon Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Surfsand Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Surfsand Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cannon Beach (0.1 km), Icefire Glassworks (0.1 km), and Tillamook Rock Lighthouse (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Surfsand Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Surfsand Resort?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Surfsand Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Surfsand Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surfsand Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sleepy Monk Coffee Roasters, Insomnia Coffee Co., and Castaways.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Surfsand Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Surfsand Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Cannon Beach.
Are pets allowed at Surfsand Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Surfsand Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Surfsand Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.