We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3339 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3075
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer! Book Direct for Reservations!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (249)
Room & Suite (295)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 14 hotels in Cannon Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
A wonderful ocean-view hotel at the South end of Cannon Beach near Tolovana Park. Enjoy ocean view rooms and suites, gas fireplaces, small kitchens, flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and decks. After a day at the beach take a swim in the heated indoor pool, or a soak in the hot tub. Many dog friendly rooms available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate: Book Direct for Reservations!
1005Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 705
  • 256
  • 31
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Owen D wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Incredibly friendly staff, exceeded our expectations for a great place - location,service. The room was perfect with a full kitchen! We really enjoyed our time there. The beach was close and was perfect for some long, relaxing walked together.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Two-Touring-The-US wrote a review Aug 2022
Kentucky106 contributions99 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We celebrated our wedding anniversary in July, and chose to tour the Oregon Coast this year. We knew nothing about the area, but based on reviews we chose Cannon Beach & Wayside Inn. Win-Win!! We arrived at check-in and were welcomed right in. Questions were answered and area info was shared. *Note: We had no idea the Oregon Coast was cooler in temp. than East Coast beach vacations!* We were offered a complimentary bottle of wine and found a delightful basket of snacks in our suite since we were there to celebrate. So kind. We stayed in suite 201 which offered an ocean view from the balcony. The suite offered a very large kitchen/living room area with fireplace (!) and a good size bedroom w/King bed that was oh so comfortable! There was a traditional bath with 2 doors so you could enter from living or sleeping areas. The kitchen had a sink, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, compact range, and microwave oven. A coffee pot & toaster were also provided as were dishes, pans, glasses & utensils. Everything you could need was provided. Including a beach wagon, chairs, towels, and blankets(!) from the front desk. Wayside Inn covers everything you would possibly need, which is great when you fly in & are unable to bring your own beach things. Now let me say “back home” the temperature was 96* with heavy humidity…and we were surprised that on Cannon Beach the high was 60* not counting the winds! Once we understood we were not swimming or laying out in the sun (LOL), we really enjoyed ourselves. We ventured into town to shop & eat at a recommended restaurant. This was a very unique and nice little town we enjoyed. We spent one cool evening in front of the gas fireplace, which was so nice. It’s about a 1 mile walk to Haystack Rock, which it would be from most accommodations. It’s a must do when the tide is going out to hopefully view some of the unique marine life. There is a very nice grocery store across the street that provided both necessities and more. There are a few dining options within walking distance. We would highly recommend staying here if you enjoy not being in the middle of everything and enjoy having your own space to enjoy your surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Casey K wrote a review Sep 2022
Vancouver, Washington8 contributions1 helpful vote
I love staying at the Wayside. Such a lovely location for a weekend getaway to Cannon Beach. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable but what I really love about the Wayside are all the little touches that add up to an incredible stay. They have dog friendly rooms and the fee for a dog friendly room is really reasonable. They provide dog bowls, dog towels and sheets, they have a great little indoor heated pool and jazucci, and have movies to borrow, as well as sand toys, carts all at no charge! Free coffee downstairs and salt water taffy. It really is the little things that add up. Every room has a little balcony or porch and it's right next to a great little market and just across the road from beach access. All in all, its just perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LisaMNUSA wrote a review Sep 2022
Minnesota760 contributions204 helpful votes
We stayed on the third floor, we could see the ocean over a street then a parking lot. The night was quiet, I didn’t hear our neighbors or the street traffic . I had a good night sleep! The location of the motel is great, there is a grocery store across from the street, we bought some fruit and cookies for breakfast. MO’s restaurant is just across the street. We walked to there and had dinner there. Afterwards , we walked to see the haystack which you can see from MO’s. We saw some elks on the way back to the hotel and some rabbits near MO’s area. The room looked clean and nice. The bathroom was very small. Overall it’s a great place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
alora d wrote a review Aug 2022
Seattle, Washington3 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff is amazing. The hotel is wonderfully located right across from Haystack. The amenities are awesome, we were able to cook and the full size fridge was great! My entire family’s favorite place to stay in Cannon Beach! Including our fur babies(they loved the treat basket waiting for them in the room They always go above and beyond.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brenda V wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We had three rooms at the Wayside Inn for a family gathering of our three adult children and one infant grandson. The rooms were clean and equipped with a refrigerator, coffee maker and all we needed. One room had a small kitchenette and stove in it, which was great! The location is right across the street from the beach, short walk through a parking lot. While the road traffic could be loud during the day, in the evenings it was very quiet. The best part was that the Inn had beach towels, toys, and a wagon we could borrow to load everything up for the beach, at not cost to us! We were even treated to an arrival gift of delicious salt water taffy. I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Large rooms; all amenities; small fan in the room; window and sliding door open to large balcony...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chris p wrote a review Aug 2022
Portland, Oregon49 contributions8 helpful votes
Views are good but not excel. This is not a luxury hotel, it is a solid middle class choice with cleaner rooms than many chains and it has a great staff. It is our favorite choice for cannon area. There is a parking lot for the beach park at tolovana that is between it and the ocean but not a problem. The views are over the parking lot, not excellent but very nice to have. 5 stars because of all the factors put together.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Judy d wrote a review Aug 2022
Eugene, Oregon24 contributions5 helpful votes
My experience at the Wayside Inn in Cannon Beach was the complete opposite of most other reviewers on this site. My daughter and I stayed in room 104 on the ground floor. The view was of noisy busy traffic on a main road and a large public parking lot across the street. The living space/kitchen area was crowded. The coffee pot didn't work. The bathroom was so tiny that it was almost impossible to close the door when inside it. The two lamps in the bedroom had dim 20 watt bulbs. A third light in the ceiling fan was broken. We requested a working light bulb several times and were rudely informed that they didn't have access to one. On the second day of darkness they replaced it with another 20 watt bulb. We still had to use flashlights. There was no housekeeping service. When I asked to have trash removed, the front desk person handed me a plastic bag and told me if I wanted it removed to do it myself. We were paying $299 per night for the privilege of taking out the trash. Originally I wanted to book a less expensive standard room, but was told that a $299 per night suite was all they had. The "suite" was worth half the price. The management offered us a $55.00 discount for the darkness of the bedroom, but it did little to remove our dissatisfaction with the sub-par accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 104 - situated on noisy main road across from large public parking lot.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Zink, Owner at The Wayside Inn
Responded 9 Aug 2022
We are so sorry your room wasn't what you expected. We were hopeful the $50 off your stay would make up for the issue with the light bulb. The ceiling fan light is on a dimmer so it's possible the light was on its lowest setting. We are always willing to take out trash and provide fresh towels at any time. We sincerely apologize if we made you feel like we were expecting you to do it. When visiting Cannon Beach in the future you may like our sister property, Schooner's Cove Inn, because it's right on the ocean in the heart of downtown.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vici B wrote a review Jul 2022
Walnut Creek, California12 contributions18 helpful votes
This is our second stay; same wonderful room. View of the Ocean, balcony to sit outside, verey clean room with comfortable bed and room. Note, there is no elevator so 3 flights of stairs. Friendly welcoming staff. We particularly like being South of Haystack and the congested downtown area. There is a very nice grocery store across the street from the Hotel, restaurants within walking distance and best of all- beach access a parking lot walk away across the street. Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephanie Z wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
We cannot say enough good things about our recent stay. The room was spacious and clean, with a small balcony and view of the ocean. Not oceanfront, but close enough to enjoy the sound of the waves. The kitchen was stocked with all the basics needed, and there is a great grocery store right across the street. Although we did not cook much, we definitely enjoyed having the option readily available. The location is great, slightly removed from the crowds of Cannon Beach/Haystack, but an easy walk to the beach where you could walk and enjoy the sights. We spent both evenings walking the beach at sunset...it was so beautiful! Then, we cozied up in the room with the fireplace and some clam chowder from Moe's. It's one of my new favorite places to stay for a weekend getaway. Enjoyed the hot tub as well!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Zink, Owner at The Wayside Inn
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastCannon Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wayside Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Wayside Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hug Point State Park (4.7 km), Haystack Rock (4.7 km), and Ecola State Park (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wayside Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Wayside Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at The Wayside Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wayside Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sleepy Monk Coffee Roasters, Insomnia Coffee Co., and Castaways.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Wayside Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Wayside Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Wayside Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wayside Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arch Cape Carronade Replica (4.7 km).
Does The Wayside Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Wayside Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.