We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
America\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
See the most recent reviews
Showing 157: English reviews
Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Checked into first room and it was dirty,window sill had cig ashes on it (non-smoking room) mold on bathroom wall and cieling,dirty towels,not vaccumed.Second room was no better. Not even sure if the doors around the back where we parked locked at all during the night we just walked in. Kids swam in pool and found empty medicine bottles laying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Canuck147
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I am extremely disappointed to hear of your recent encounter with our hotel. As a seasonal property, we have to work very hard with our seasonal staff to ensure that they understand the quality standards that we want to impart to all of our guests. Although this is a continual process, we believe that our standards have improved (as evidenced...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here after a long, long day at Cedar Point. Rates and location from Cedar Point and the highway are very convenient. I was so bummed to get into our room (2 doubles) and find Trent tiny, very hard beds. After a day where your body is sore and exhausted, you hope to relax in a little softness. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alligrrrrl
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry that you did not find the beds to your liking. Unfortunately, this is an area that we get some complaints but, by-and-large, we get a lot of compliments as well. The firmness or softness of a bed is definitely a personal preference--and I'm sorry that it didn't meet...

Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Let me start out by saying this; in life you always get what you pay for. American Best Value isn't cheap for normal Hotel standards but in Sandusksy it is one of the more cheaper options but I feel like they could improve in many areas. My room smelled like mildew mixed with axe body spray. My room was never...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dustin R
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our ABVI in Sandusky, Ohio. I'm sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations--although I'm confused about your comments about the front desk not being staffed and the lobby not being "proper." Our hotel is staffed 24 hours a day. Perhaps you encountered the front desk while the...

Reviewed 12 August 2012

First room we checked into wasnt clean, and smelled like it as well. 2nd room we checked into smelled better, as far as clean dont think anyone here understands the consept, staff ? Kids with no clue that brings up a question who really owns this place ,,,,my next step is to corp. Office this place needs to be closed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rolen69
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I am sorry that your recent experience at our hotel didn't meet (or exceed) your expectations. We have been working diligently with our houskeeping staff to address issues such as the one you brought up in your review. Rest assured that your comments have been heard and are being addressed. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The room was clean, the service was good, the place was quiet. What else do you need? After reading some of the bad reviews this place received, I was prepared for an unfavorable experience. I had the opposite -- I'll definitley stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thanks for your frank, to-the-point account of your recent stay at our hotel property. We're glad that you found your stay enjoyable and satisfying--and very happy to hear that you'll return on your next visit to our area! Until then, safe travels!

Illinois
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Seeing others comment on the cleanliness...I see we weren't alone in our assessment. The janitorial staff needs to be retrained...towels on floor means to replace such...NOT give unfilled so only one hand and one bath towel remain. DEF did not vacuum floor. Pool is outdoor and when we went out there at 10PM...pool and surrounding areas was dark...pool was filled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantD63
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent stay with us at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that the staff was attentive to your needs and friendly. We are actively working to better train our housekeeping staff and to improve their productivity and outcomes. Also, please undestand that the small continental breakfast that we offer is a...

Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My family and I Stayed here this past weekend looking at the lobby it looks to be a very nice hotel but after you leave the lobby the rest was awful, we could not wait to leave if hadn't been getting charged a fee we would have. The room was very nasty and looked to have not been cleaned ever....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kimberly B
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. I am dishearrtened that your stay didn't meet (or exceed) your expectations. Although this property is aimed toward the budget-conscience consumer, we DO provide a clean, safe environment for all of our guests. Also, for those of you reading this review, we do NOT make it...

Shenandoah, Virginia
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I find that a lot of the reviews on here are a little bit too ridiculous. Are you really expecting a five-star hotel? I read all the reviews before I got here and I still disregarded them and gave this place a shot. Damn, people can be so picky. The lobby is pretty, the service was very friendly, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeppermintEgo
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review of our hotel property. I'm glad that you found the majority of the amenities up to standards and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back during a future visit to our area. Thank you SO much for your recommendation!

Lake Linden, Michigan
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have travelled to Sandusky from Northern Michigan 6 times in the last two summers as my daughter has been working at Cedar Point. This last time, I needed to get her and bring her back, so I came by myself. It was going to be a quick trip, arriving late Sunday and returning on Monday, so I checked for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CrSun
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We hope you choose to stay with us again if your travels bring you to our area in the future! Safe travels!

Bear, Delaware
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I arrived 1am ish (after and 8.5 hour drive) The attendant was away from the desk and I waited approximately 5-9 minutes for him to return. He was very upbeat for the time of night and he made me feel welcome. I wasn't sure I was even at the right hotel being from out of town the only sign stating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue B
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for relating your experiences during your recent stay at our hotel. What you experienced is NOT what we would expect or want for any of our guests. As we continue to train our staff to provide outstanding customer service, your comments will aide in that process. Please consider this an isolated incident as customer service really is our...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
301 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
302 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
3.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your vacation dollar goes farther here where our 100 beautifully appointed guestrooms feature everything you need for a fun-filled vacation including complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, complimentary HBO and premium channels, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck, in-room coffee maker, and more. There’s also an onsite restaurant and lounge. The famous RoadHouse Restaurant & Saloon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Address: 5608 Milan Road, Intersection Route 2 and 250, Sandusky, OH 44870
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: €61 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Americas Best Value Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Americas Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from America's Best Value Inn Sandusky staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here , we were scared to death”
 of 5 bubbles Sunny22209, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The clerk put me a ways down the hall away from the ice maker as she stated it could be a little loud. I thought that was a nice suggestion.”
 of 5 bubbles barber9544, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“i am not sure besides hopefully you get a room they may clean.”
 of 5 bubbles kimberlyb830, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
“stay away!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 695charlesj, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“There is no elevator so if you need a ground room floor, request it if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles ratrod478, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5